Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Mein Sheep

by Detocroix - Jam Entry

The evil sheep are plotting against you, but with your target pointer and the trusty guards, they won't know what hit them! Well they definitely will, because what hit them is their wooly companions!

Use LMB to shoot RELAX darts (or blue, whatever you want to call them!) and RMB to shoot RAGE darts (reeeed!) at sheep and make sure your targets are terminated... or we might just have to terminate all of them.

Super awesome and pretty 1280x720 builds behind the standalone links.

Code by https://twitter.com/RootLlama
Art by https://twitter.com/Detocroix

Music "Spazzmatica Polka"
Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com)
Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0
http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/

p.s. The "gold sheep" is actually called as Nugget, but we agreed to disagree with RootLlama

Small update: Bug in darts not hitting colliders fixed.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#78Graphics(Jam)4.32
#150Humor(Jam)3.61
#159Theme(Jam)3.85
#181Innovation(Jam)3.65
#253Fun(Jam)3.41
#337Overall(Jam)3.42
#369Mood(Jam)3.28
#467Audio(Jam)2.88

Comments

rootllama says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:04am

Aiming ahead and at a point about half a sheep's height above the ground helps a lot!

XtremePrime says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:04am

Pretty cool game :3 I quite dig the concept of the game :3

Ed1982 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:17am

Hit detection was a bit tight (could be more forgiving, maybe until later levels), awesome sheep and env!, awesome concept!

raisedmedia says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:46am

Very cool.

DeadFragment says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:48am

I feel it should be easier to relax sheep, also the sheep in this game are really hard to shoot with the darts. The graphics are amazing, love the style to this game. The music is catchy also. A funny concept but could be a bit more fun if the sheep were easier to hit.

-Neith

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:04pm

Love the mechanics by this one! You really made great use of the theme.

The graphics are just right.

Forgive me if I just overlooked it, but the game could really have done with volume options.

My biggest complaint is hit detection. I couldn't get past level 3 because landing a dart was so damn hard! Shame, 'cause I'd have liked to see the later levels.

On a smaller note, I found the long text on the buttons quite confusing for navigation. Maybe it was added for humourous effect, but I just found it a little distracting and less intuitive. The font wasn't impossible to read, but it wasn't the clearest either.

The only other thing is: I don't understand the title. :P

GG!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:25pm

I like the concept but it was really hard to hit any sheep!

Elit3dGaming says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:53pm

Font was really hard to read but loved the music and loved the gameplay. Aiming was off point a bit I hit them but at times didn't register.

rplnt says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:58pm

Nice game, a bit frustrating, but I guess it takes skill :) Very nice graphics. Just the font is really unreadable. Coupled with the size I was redirected to a twitter two times before I figured out what to do.

kipelovets says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:04pm

The sheep are really cute and the concept is great. I couldn't get past level 3 too

paulfysh says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:05pm

I also think the hitboxing was a little too unforgiving. Otherwise, its good fun. The sheep look great.

SteveSalmond says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:05am

Took me a little while to catch on to the idea of the game, but gave me a nice 'aha' moment when I understood what to do. It's pretty tough! Graphics are great - the heavy depth of field works awesome, and I really dig the sheep models :) Great work guys.

SpringCabal says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:09pm

Fun game, controls work nicely, gfx are good. Music is irritating.

MFEP says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:46pm

it took some time to figure out how to play this. anyway, well done, I really liked the blocky sheep design. Yep, it wasn't easy to hit them, maybe a resolution increase in the web player would help?

mildmojo says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:59am

This looks really nice. The little sheep are cute and original, and I really like how they're branded with the credits on the main menu. The DOF effect is really nice. The font was pretty hard to read at small sizes, especially in the webplayer version.

I'm not sure I quite figured out how to play. The different darts will cancel each other out, the blue darts just slow sheep down (?) and the red darts make them eat whoever's nearby? I only made it past the first level; it's pretty hard to right-click on a touchpad. =P

Cool idea. The gold sheep level might've been better with fewer black sheep so you had less chance of them going all cannibal on you. =)

nonetheless says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:41pm

Haha, thats nice. And it's graphically stunning. Great job :)

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:42am

Great mechanic implemented well! A really great jam game - multiplayer would be an awesome next step

runvs says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:49pm

Nice game. The graphics were really nice but the music was a bit annoying though.

Psyho says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:51pm

Great sheep animation and overall nice graphics. Well, except for that font. That thing was horrible and looks like tribal tattoos. It took me some time to actually see that there are instructions in each level.

Also, the gameplay is essentially just "wait for the right moment and click", which may be fine for mobile games, but on desktop it gets tedious after 5 minutes. It doesn't really feel rewarding when you correctly hit the sheep, but it's very irritating when you don't, and thus you have to restart the level.

cgmorton says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:52pm

Possibly the best use of the theme I've seen yet.

Hambone says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:24am

Good lord this was beautiful!

Huo-cuo says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:53am

Perfect fun. I laughed a lot.

Chaoseed says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:57pm

I'm not...really sure what's going on? I guess I have to make some sheep enraged to kill the target sheep? Then what are the relax darts for? It's all kind of confusing. Not to mention, I THINK I passed the first level, but it said the same "Try to do it better" message.

The graphics are awesome, though!

CliffracerX says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:01pm

This is really ridiculous, and really awesome because of it.

Pretty funny take on the theme! Couldn't get past level 2 though, the white sheep kept destroying eachother and not the black sheep.
Really nice work with the graphics, they're incredibly pretty :)

oparisy says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:06pm

Very nice rendering and animation! I'm not sure I understood how to win the levels, though.

Demy says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:20pm

I LOVE IT, it's super fun! The graphics are really cute, music fits perfectly! 10/10 would dart sheep again!
My only complain is about font, i found it hard to read.

dos says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:49pm

Cool concept, gets pretty challenging.

idoadler says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 8:53pm

Sweet and funny

Jasonsumm says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 11:15pm

Haha! really nailing the theme there :P fun game! Nicely executed!

Detocroix says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 6:25pm

Jasonsumm: Love the pun! :D

recursor says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 4:41pm

The graphics are lovely.

MrShoestore says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 1:40pm

i like the concept. music is hella annoying, and I like polka. it would have been nice to have other sfx going on. a sheep game without sheep noises feels, well like it's missing something.

Crowbeak says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 4:27am

I like how you had the one injection mechanic that could be used on any of the sheep and that the objectives changed on each level. Your choice of font was really hard to read, though, so much so that it took several levels before I realized there words there rather than decoration.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]