Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

The Trials Of Chronos

by pk - Jam Entry

A drunken chance encounter with Chronos, Lord of Creation. Leaves you stranded in his abstract realm of trials that demands that you live up to your drunken boasting to restore reality as we know it.

Collect Stars or you're stuck in this beerless hell forever.
Maybe you're stuck anyway because you spilled wine on an ancient diety.

Made in Unity, Mac/Linux/webGL builds availible soon.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#206Mood(Jam)3.50
#489Innovation(Jam)3.13
#624Overall(Jam)3.09
#640Theme(Jam)3.18
#861Fun(Jam)2.55
#866Humor(Jam)2.06
#1667Coolness40%

Comments

gaugepunk says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:20pm

pretty nice honestly. lags like crazy though

pk says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:13am

It works fine on my by now rather outdated computer so I didn't expect lag to be a problem.

What are your computer specs? anything particular that lags more or less?

Kaijuu says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:19pm

Cool concept!. Love the atmosphere

LuckyCassette says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:53pm

Nice atmosphere.
Crazy hard to control though.
Not entirely sure what to do to get the other two stars in room 3.

nassi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:07pm

Took me a lot of time to grasp the game mechanics and I only did so because I finally managed to link the terms used inside the game to programming terms (physical character controller vs. non-physical).

Took a while, but I got all of the stars except the one on the level with a rising cube. Seems like there was some kind of a forcefield that prevented me from getting to the platform that had the star...

Atmosphere works, but way too confusing at the start. I'm glad I stuck with it though.

pk says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:19pm

The grasp gun can hold on to moving objects and you use that to get the other stars in room 3.

I'm uploading a version with toggle-able bloom/dof and some addition level tips to clarify this.
WebGL edition will be availible as soon as it stops crashing midbuild.

Awpteamoose says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:26pm

I couldn't get past the controls, sorry.

shatley123 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:31pm

Really cool game. Mechanics were a little confusing but that's really my only criticism.

yuigoto says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:37pm

Really liked the overall mood of the game, though I find it a little bit difficult to control.

Right in the first level I had some problems falling down the platform (windows version) or flying way above it (webgl/windows).

Nice entry. :)

The4thCircle says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:00pm

I liked this bu couldn't get back to the hubworld after getting my first star. Still, I like the concept and love the particle effects.

pk says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:42pm

Hold Y to return to the hubworld, it says so on the giant keybinding plaque in the hubworld and also on the ESC-menu.

I guess I made a design error by swapping the first two tutorial levels so you get the text instructions for teleporting back on the second level when you already know it...

6x13 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:27am

Gameplay is fun but it is really confusing in the beginning. Actually my favourite part is the game description.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:08am

Jump distance very different from other fps games. It's very hard to predict point where you will land. And shooting to platforms not freeze them every time. I can't reach even the first star. Sorry. You have good potential, but more playtesting and polish to make game more responsible and user-friendly.

epiplon says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 5:07am

I really liked the concept, but it was too hard to play. It was easy to miss the platforms while jumping or trying to hit them with the arrows. And then I fell a lot of times.

You could try next time to make something smaller but with a gamplay that works good.

joe40001 says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 5:17am

It's an ambitious game, laggy for me too (I think unity lags on intel laptops). I felt like it took on maybe too many ideas without nailing any of them.

Your ambition is good and general sense is good, but I'd say moving forward try to make your game more user friendly, and spend more time doing little tweaks so it all feels right.

Still I really liked where you were going with this, is the start of something really cool.

DesignerNap says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 1:43pm

Tricky to control and frames out a bit but strong visuals. Good work.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]