Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Pen Pals

by Pietdagamer - Compo Entry

http://gfycat.com/EducatedBadCranefly

Pen pals is an action fighting game, where your name matters.
Enter the name of your fighter and you'll see their random weapon. Use it to defeat your opponent in an epic fight!

1,134,000,000 different fighters available!

Found a good fighter? Remember their name, because the next time you enter their name they'll have the exact same stats and weapon.

Controls:
* Walking: A, D
* Crouch: S
* Jump: Space
* Neutral Attack: Enter
* Down Attack: Enter while crouching
* Up Attack: Enter + W

There is controller support. However I have only tested it on an Xbox 360 Controller, so it might not work for other controllers.

Installation:
Windows:
* Run PenPals.exe
Linux:
* Install SFML: 'sudo apt-get install libsfml-dev'
* Run the 'make' command, then enter'./penPals'

Tools used:
* Code::Blocks
* Paint.NET
* Lots of paper and a few pens.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness93%
#177Graphics3.76
#313Overall3.44
#349Humor3.12
#371Fun3.28
#411Innovation3.31
#450Mood3.05
#470Theme3.44

Comments

mrmadsenmalmo says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 8:35pm

Wow, that was amazing.

ForSpareParts says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:07am

Very cool! The fighting mechanics seem like they could be a bit more fluid, though. If you were going to keep developing this, I'd love to see different movesets. Might I attack differently with a keyboard than with a pencil, for instance?

Bitterdeath says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:08am

The name / stat generator is cool

sirikan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:11am

Really like the style of graphics you went with.

resty says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:12am

It's interesting. I like your art style so much.
It seems not check for a draw game (* o *)

Junber says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:14am

Really fun game. A little bit too easy in my opinion but the art style is awesome.

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:30am

Fun little game here,
The art really sells it well,
Wish that there was more!

rtmrn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:18pm

Great game. Awesome graphics and fun fighting system. I even found a perfect fighter :o.

conno1234 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:09pm

Pretty cool! Nice work

Clavus says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:15pm

Very nice art style. The fighting gameplay needs a lot more work before it's really interesting, but great work nonetheless.

Jungle says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:23pm

I really enjoyed the graphics! The idea of the drawnings of our youth being used as fighters was really nice.

I don't tknow if it was a problem with only my screen, but it didn't fit, that was a little bad. But congrats anyway!

Mano says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:57pm

Really kool how it things change based on the name you put in. Also good on you making a fighting game! Would have like unique attack for each weapon, but I understand you had only so much time, but good job!

CodeNMore says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:58pm

I love the art style of this, but the mechanics were a bit strange, well done though!

Hamsternator says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:58pm

I did not expect to see a fighting game from a LD Compo. Really impressive work =)

10FingerArmy says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:59pm

that was really refreshing! loved the idea of going for paper art. that makes it unique and memorable. I am not so sure about the game itself but the whole package is very cool!

Freebios says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:59pm

I love graphics, but AI is a bit stupid ^^

plams says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:00pm

I love the pencil graphics :)

ObscenelyTrue says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:01pm

Fun and the stat generator is interesting.

Saymon says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:01pm

Really nice !

Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:02pm

Great game - really fun to play - like the generator concept and the drawn stick man concept - brilliant.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:04pm

First of all: Bonus points for using C++. ;-P
The art style is nice. The weapons are unconventional. I'm no expert on fighting games, but it seems like there's some room for improvement there. All in all very well done.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:05pm

Nice art style and I love the idea of generating different fighters based on name.

LorenaIpsum says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:05pm

Cool! I'm suposed to win fighting with a motherboard!!! :D

CiderPunk says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:24pm

Great idea and graphics but the combat was a bit lacking, very ambitious concept for a compo entry!

cgmorton says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:24pm

The art is the best thing about this game, it looks amazing. I also think the character generation is a great concept, and well executed.

I'd definitely like to see more progression. Right now it's just repeatedly fighting some random guy.

Of course I'd also like to see more interesting fighting, but that's sort of to be expected for a 48 hour game. However, I think you could have gotten rid of things like jumping and crouching and instead focused on a more interesting mechanic, blocking for instance. I guess you can jump over low attacks(?), but there's no good way to pull it off since there's no warning that an attack will happen.

I suspect a lot of the dev time for this game went into the art - time well spent, to be sure. But the gameplay just isn't that fun yet.

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:21am

Haha by far the best fighter I made was "yo momma dawg". Great take on the theme, fantastic artwork (I've never really seen a paper and pencil style pulled off as well as this!), and great work overall :)

Vytheros says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:44pm

It doesn't really focus on the theme too much, the weapons are kinda just there, they're not really the main focus, which I'm not sure is good or bad. The number of stat combinations is ridiculous and I tried like 5 names to get the best character.

Really love the art style and the gameplay is really hard to master.

May 2, 2015 @ 2:54pm

Cool Art Style

May 2, 2015 @ 2:57pm

Liked the art style and thought the way you used the name to generate the player was a clever touch.

JonathanG says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 10:05pm

I like your fighter generation and some weapon ideas. It might have been easier if you'd done it multiplayer instead of vs AI - the AI doesn't cope too well, but hitting my friends with a train/keyboard is one of my favourite pastimes. :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]