Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

AgentQR

by jayson - Jam Entry

Injured and limping AgentQR has to reach the bomb at the end of the Unconventional Convenience Store and scan his secret code into the BombCode Scanner to disarm it.

Controller support - Well my XBOX controller anyway.
Bindings:
Move - Left Analog Stick / Directional Keys
Jump - A
Exit - B

Basic platformer keybindings:
Left - A / Left Arrow
Right - D / Right Arrow
Jump - W / Space / Up Arrow
Exit - Escape



Programmer - Jayson - https://twitter.com/JaysonWerner
Graphics - Rudi - https://twitter.com/rgtechnologies

Music - www.nosoapradio.us - DST-2ndBallad
Audio - Universal Sound FX (Unity Asset Store) - https://www.assetstore.unity3d.com/en/#!/content/17256

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#327Humor(Jam)3.25
#546Innovation(Jam)3.05
#605Theme(Jam)3.24
#700Graphics(Jam)2.91
#762Mood(Jam)2.70
#810Overall(Jam)2.86
#845Fun(Jam)2.57
#1856Coolness35%

Comments

sentendo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:55am

nice theme! :D

jayson says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:19am

Thanks sentendo!

MaesK says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:45am

Never thought I would ever play as a QR and be shoot down by pencils and lasers. Quite weird and funny, nice one.

Blobo says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:16pm

Well done! very creative and a pretty funny idea. the enemies were quite difficult to get around but i managed to beat the game after a few tries.

jayson says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 7:09am

ahhh nice Blobo, glad you liked it :D

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 5:09am

Great variety of game over sound effects, and very unique idea. I wanted to like it!

Unfortunately the super slippery physics (walking on ice effect when you try to stop), slow acceleration, and camera angle makes the game very difficult and frustrating. A pure side view would make things a lot more clear, as would (I think) making the player character a lot more responsive.

FrozenCow says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 7:43pm

Haha! Nice idea and nicely polished!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]