Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Claper Rover

by Kazura - Compo Entry

Izer, a strange rover goes on earth to save it from the control of the robots.
You will play his unique friend called the "Claper" : go find their base, destroy them to the end and break their dangerous weapon!

Be careful : you can lose life by beeing attacked or by not managing your jauge of energy well

Notes: Faster you beat your enemis, better your score will be.

CONTROLS:
-Left & Right Arrow to kill enemis depends to their side
-ESCAPE to return in the menu, R to restart a level
-Arrow keys for the main menu

CREDITS:
@Kazura23

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#37Audio3.98
#226Mood3.36
#284Theme3.67
#296Overall3.46
#443Fun3.17
#503Graphics3.13
#518Innovation3.15
#581Humor2.66

Comments

madjackmcmad says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:01am

Excellent sound, cool atmosphere. Neat idea!

tomdeal says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:02am

Really nice game! Easy to understand and very good music, too.

ManicMiner says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:05am

For such a simple game, I was suprised how much I enjoyed this - mostly I think because of the awesome music - really cool to hear some real musicianship after so many bleeps and bloops :)

fluidvolt says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:05am

Nice! I really liked the music -- definitely got some Morricone vibes in the first level. Interesting take on the theme too.

Jeasonfire says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:56am

Reminded me a lot of One Finger Death Punch. Very good audio and overall enjoyable.

anokta says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:11pm

haha interesting idea, and cool background music indeed! it'd be awesome if the gameplay was synced to the music with claps and everything! :)

Lyxilion says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:29pm

OMG best game ever ! The music is absolutly amazing ! the graphic are nice the idea is great the game play is awsome ! My god too much great adjectives !

Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:31pm

A little to easy, but other than that very well done. Great sound, loved the style and atmosphere.

texdata says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:31pm

great simple idea !!

Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:36pm

The best sound until now!

jhell says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:36pm

Awesome sound overall, game well-made, if a bit simple =).

Borkleby says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:44pm

I didn't really get it, but I loved the visuals and music. The huge screen is a big plus, too.

Joystikman says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:15pm

Really cool music and gameplay.

Zeriver says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:34pm

Really fun game to play, from mechanic standpoint it's not too amazing but i like the idea. I enjoyed the soundtrack and art style. I can't wait to play full version.

BTW: It's a pleasure meet fellow ONI fan :)

Kazura says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:45am

Thanks you all for the comments ! I'm motivated to continue the game for a full version, I think I will port it for mobiles.

@Zeriver oh that's cool, finally there are still some others ONI fans :)

rodobodolfo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:43am

A very simple idea but really polished makes a great game. Loved the art, sound and music, the gameplay works, I couldnt stop playing until beating it. Good work!!

alpha_rat says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:46am

Nice entry, I think it lacks a bit of scaling in difficulty.
Also, I finished it without finding myself once lacking energy, so there wasn't really any challenge

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:57am

Cool music, though I wish the clapping had more of an effect, like a rhythm game sort of thing

jk5000 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:59am

Simple, fun and graet music. Well done.

Bardikus says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:00am

Liked the clapping mechanic and the music

Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:04am

Great entry ! Love the game feel concerning the clapping mecanic, it's really fun and addictive, I managed to reach a score of 14098 the second time I beat the game. The music is especially awesome and graphics are ok. With some improvments and new features, the game would be great for smartphones. Good job dude !

Prowler says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:35pm

Simple but efficient! Clap your hands for this game :D

bossmojoman says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:55pm

Nice sound, fun gameplay, great job!

Kazura says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 7:46am

Thanks you all again, I take everything you say in consideration I'm working for a post work : clap synchronization, new levels, better graphics and new effects :)

Apr 30, 2015 @ 8:47am

That was fun actually! I like the clapping sound. But it's far too easy.

Music sounds great too.

zwartraider says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 9:57am

Very fun game! Got me hooked really quickly! The audio is the best by far though!

careless says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 10:35am

Great idea and easily addictive. I didn't understand what to do for about 3 seconds without reading the how to, so nice and easy to work out control.

I liked the music and the feeling of the guy going on a journey.

I scored 14128 and made it through to the end. Lots of stars for this one!

ranmaru90 says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 10:56am

What an excellent game! Simple, but enjoyable!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]