Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Spaced

by Catwheel - Compo Entry

Please Read---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

You have woken up on a strange planet with no memory of how you got there.
All you have is your trusty laser pistol, your protective suit, a rover, and a strange gun. Can you escape this bizarre planet alive?

Spaced is a top-down tower defense shooter where you can turn your enemies into towers. Shoot special enemies with your special fire to make them drop totems. Spend totems to place towers. Defend your rover for the time-limit to escape.
There are 4 levels. Can you beat them all?
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

If you are confused about how totems work(or are just having a hard time), I have made a guide: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1SxHZ9J6kkg9a_mJl2moD_Ww-OQb7vWrP28Qv9pOz-7s/edit?usp=sharing
If you needed to use the guide, please let me know what I could have done in game to convey some of this information. Conveyance is a place I am trying to improve in.

Bug fixes:
some of the ai-pathing got unhooked. This has been fixed.
fire totem cool-down was increased from 5 seconds to 10.
movement stick now has a bigger deadzone for control sticks with a misaligned resting input.
Keyboard+mouse controls were added so that more players could play it.
The pink monster at the end was missing a spawn time. This was fixed.

The source is for the original submission.

Constructive feedback is welcomed with love.

EDIT: I just did a build for Mac and linux. No idea if they worked or not, because I do not have the computers to test them. Please let me know if they work in the comments :3. Remember you can comment without rating.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#539Audio2.72
#670Innovation2.92
#685Fun2.90
#734Mood2.71
#739Overall2.96
#810Graphics2.62
#822Humor2.18
#963Theme2.67

Comments

lion123 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:09am

I think it's okay to add keyboard controls. Not rating for now because I have no controller.

tomdeal says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:16am

Its a very hard game, I could not even get to the totems without dying, maybe I'm simply bad at shooting :) One thing: In a twin stick shooter, its really important for me to have control over my character. Here the character floated around when not moving, making it even harder to hit anything.

jsmars says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:23am

Cool idea and fun game! very hard and I don't really understand how the towers worked

Parserk says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:41am

Addictive. I was so close to winning 4th level!

sbot1101 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:48am

I played it through, and enjoyed it. The aiming is a little off on the right stick, and there is no deadzone set for the left so it makes putting down bullet towers a bit hard. Otherwise good job!

jojocanard says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:30pm

I lost during the 4th level. I found it hard to target the ennemies. Hard also to understand the way the totems work (I had to read your guide about the special attack against them, surprising idea). And I only understood the way the blue works (and maybe the red but not sure).

Park says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:53pm

Yeah, add controls so people can play it. ╰(°ㅂ°)╯

Kihira says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:22am

No controller, so I can't play it. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Pixel Heart says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:34am

It's ok! Nothing special!

muromets says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:57am

Well, really hard, I did managed to get to the last level, but those pink thingies... I felt that the first couple of levels where a lot harder than the 3rd. Also, i felt it got somewhat caothic.

FrederickK says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:30am

Man, I really like the idea of action-tower-defense but I think you made it more complicated than it needed to be.
Why you need to kill special enemies with special bullets?
Also, I think it would be easier, if you just had to aim with the controller instead of having to aim and having to choose which weapon to use.
Because all totems look the same and generally the level is crowded with enemies, you don't have the luxury to choose which totem is the best, maybe if you had an generic totem item to choose one would be better, but this is up to you, I'm only giving ideas.
I liked the ambience, the music is spot on in my opinion.
Don't listen to them, there is a lot of potential, don't give up!

Kardamom says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:18am

The game is hard on mouse + keyboard and totally unplayable on controller. It works, it is somewhat fun, but sadly nothing special or unconventional-weaponish.

UrbanHelsing says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:54am

Really nice, but maybe too many enemies and the core have too much HP. And a bit more graphical difference between the towers and the enemies would help when there is much on the screen.

scorched says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:08am

Looks like Pacman at first sight:-)

Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:50am

I thought this was pretty cool, I tried playing through without reading the guide. Didn't go so well, but after I read the guide your game made much more sense! I think this is a very interesting and smart game, although a bit too hard the overall game idea and enemy ideas were great. Good Work! It may not have fit the theme, but I do believe this game is special despite what others say!

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:09pm

I liked all the totems. And liked how huge the map was.

Apr 26, 2015 @ 6:04am

Really liked the idea, but I felt like it got too difficult too quickly.

Reis Mahnic says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 9:35pm

Fun game! Got very hard, but I did have a good time.
Glad you added Keyboard+mouse.

SimianLogic says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 10:17pm

I thought that I was going to hate this game but by level 4 or so, I was kinda' hooked. Level 4? (the cross level) is where I really started to like the game. I feel like I could actually form a strategy in that level the best. The level/wave design could use some tweaking, if only for the fact that the game is brutal to begin with. I'd love to see some level design progression that starts slower and ramps up into chaos. I also like that I can't be hit or damaged. It's like all of the enemies only care about my land rover, which is interesting. I also really like that the special enemies give you totems that you can place across the map. I found that these totems could be combined in interesting and strategic ways. Great submission. :D

Tatsu Studio says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 3:22am

Good , but I think there are many enemies ... but good job !

rojo says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 5:40am

The mechanic of shooting enemies with the special gun before they can be destroyed by your towers / other bullets is interesting. The UI could be a little bigger so it's clearer how many of each thing I currently have. Some shapes to look at other than circles would have been welcome as well. I think having enemies spawn in more distinct waves would have made things feel less chaotic. Still, it played fairly well. Good job!

Catwheel says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 3:33am

Thank you all for your comments and feedback! <3

tikilittle says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 6:08am

This looks cool! Any thoughts on porting to non-Windows?

Catwheel says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 3:09pm

I could always just try to build it and see if it works.

Catwheel says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 10:12pm

Mac and linux builds are up. We'll see if they worked.

Jokerbomb says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 3:27am

Fun game and very difficult. I felt like I was getting swarmed extremely quickly. Trying to get the totems and placing them defensively is also fairly tough to do. All in all I really liked it.

PaperBlurt says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 9:24am

Cool that you can use xbox controller.
Nice touch...

spindizzyMR says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 6:16pm

I appreciate the effort you put into the mini guide beforehand for the controls.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]