Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Deadly rain

by Sublustris - Compo Entry

Game about a girl which stuck in the city in war.
----------------------

WSAD or Arrows to move.
Your goal is to find a safe place.

HINT: if you cant reach next place, just wait while copter destroys the obstacle:)

----------------------
Tools used:

Code: AS3+Starling (FB)
GFX: Photoshop;
SFX: sfxr - sounds, Casio CTK-3200 - music;

short drawing timelapse
https://youtu.be/bVumq9HCWII
----------------------
Android (and maybe iOS) port will be available in couple of days.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#84Graphics4.08
#93Mood3.68
#202Audio3.36
#441Overall3.29
#647Innovation2.95
#829Fun2.72
#880Humor2.03
#945Theme2.72

Comments

Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:45am

I love how the army is actively TRYING to hit the little girl XD

Good job!

MrDave says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:00am

This game looks and feels good, but im not sure how it relates to the topic An Unconventional Weapon.

I wish there was a key to restart rather than having to use the mouse but that is a minor complaint.

Xgor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:02am

Really good looking game, The concept for the idea is very good but the level design and randomness of the fire makes it so that you have no control if you can beat it or not.

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:02am

Those bombers are really annoying :p Great visuals and nice depressing audio. Game's fairly tricky though, they *really* don't like this little girl :p

Olias says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:04am

Wow, this is hard, but still it's one of the best entry I've played so far.

Aik says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:10am

Graphics and audio are great, but progression being dependent on whether or not the helicopter randomly hits the blocks you need it to doesn't work well. I guess it fits the mood that your fate is completely up to someone else, but I wasn't able to progress very far and when I did it wasn't anything I did that made it happen.

Sublustris says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:13am

An Unconventional Weapon - is napalm, which kills soldiers and innocent girls indiscriminately. That's the main idea.

Wusakko says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:14am

One of the best

hunttis says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:18am

Whoa, that was depressing! You got so many things right. The music, the falling ashes. Nice work!

Prowler says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:47am

Man! This is difficult! I love it, 'though I didn't made it to end by now. Your pixel graphics are very professional. (Amazing helicopter and background!). Sound fits and I give it full fun points 'cause I can't stop trying to beat that game.

Good work!

I hope to see more of you in august!

Pat

JokerDen says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:52am

Nice work, comrade. Posted more detailed review on fgd forum.

Sublustris says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:59am

Thanks guys, now i'm porting it to mobiles as a postCompo version. Mobile version will be more complicated :)

Mizipzor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:42am

This was awesome, especially the graphics. I like how the game is super hard, I didn't get far at all but this is something I will most likely return to and try to beat. And that says a lot. Though all the weapons in here look really conventional so I'm not sure how the theme applies. Great job overall! :)

10FingerArmy says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:30pm

That is an awesome 48h achievement. One of the highlights so far. I do not see an immediate relation to the topic though.

I was not able to get very far because this is sooooo hard and seems a bit random but that on the other hand fits nicely together with the game theme of unpredictable war.

TD5 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:30pm

It's pretty difficult and the helicopter can get infuriating after a while, but the game looks absolutely fantastic and has a great mood. Good game :)

benmcnelly says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:34pm

I like the take on the theme, what really matters is you took inspiration from it and owned it.

rallebauz says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:35pm

Simply awesome. Graphics, sound and gameplay are 10/10 and I would definitely want to see a story mode based on this.

Ilseroth says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:36pm

Overall it is a platformer that feels all right but having progress be random in a platformer that likes to murder you is not fun, it is frustrating (and for the record, "frustrating" is only good in platformers with set patterns. You want to be frustrated with yourself for messing up, not just waiting for the game to let you keep going.). Graphics and audio are good.

stevenlr says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:37pm

Really nice and sad mood and interpretation of the theme.
It's definitely hard trying not to get hit by the fire particles from the missile.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:09pm

Very nice game, really challenging.

devilright says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:19pm

I like the gfx style. Man, this is a tough game!

Split82 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:11pm

Very nice! Awesome entry.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:49am

Loved the graphics and overall atmosphere in this game. I thing the only small thing I would change is the need to click the mouse to restart, but that is very minor. This entry is great, well done!

mcburrobit says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:51am

Very interesting idea.

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:14am

The game if quite good, but the weapons felt a bit conventional to me, but anyways great job on a game

Shimmergloom says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:16am

Unfortunately I can't play as the browser window just stays black.

mike1101 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:20am

Very cool. Loved the graphics. Was hard to get past the first guy. If the helicopter bomb didn't explode just right the walls were too high...

jordinuco says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:21am

Great idea and great implementation.

And great hardness haha!

bmfs says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:25am

Felt it was difficult to progress mainly due to the helicopters bombs shrapnels having a tendency to be where I would fall.

BadPaul34 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:25am

Very difficult, I hardly manage to get trough the second enemy :) Maybe you should add a sign to know more accurately where the fire will land ? (ok im noob & I say it's because of the game :D)
But anyway the mood your arts set is amazing, and the concept really original.

Sublustris says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:28am

i'll fix that bug in postCompo version :)

SiENcE says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:29am

Great Idea to change the level and give the player replayability. But it's hard. Very hard, which is good.

Kaijuu says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:30am

Awesome! Hardcore game
I love everything about this game.

Gipzo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:31am

Nice atmothpere. But beggining of the level is too hard because of the need to have chopper preperly explode its bomb, which happens like 1/10 times.

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:57am

Absolutely LOVE the art style, sound, and music, but the level design really needs some work to make it possible to progress without just hoping to get lucky.

Also, the flash file could definitely use a preloader. It takes quite a while to load, and the background is the same color as the page, so it feels like it's broken and not loading.

Sublustris says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:13am

Yes, i've completely forgotten about preloader. Have to fix it in next versions.

notrorschach says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:28am

Visually great! The music is very depressing and adds to the game's atmosphere.

RadStar says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:40am

Poor little girl :(
Really cool game and atmosphere!

Horsed says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:37am

The fire effect is actually well made but unfortunately it also makes it hard to survive. It's too unpredictable for me. The controls could be a litte more responsive and the movement faster, I Think. Liked the graphics though.

Sogomn says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:40am

Really nice graphics!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:04am

It's too hard to be really fun. After restarting a dozen of time I only could get past the first soldier a couple of time. The napalm spread should be a bit more concentrated and less random. I love the graphics and the mood, though.

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:24am

Really tricky and randomly punishing but that totally suits the mood. Great work!

kikijin says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:01pm

I like the idea but I die always

careless says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:07pm

Ahh! I was relaxed doing well made it what felt like quite far then I got hit! Really nice idea.

If your own personal air strike is conventional then what am I missing?

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:28pm

Nice use of Art and Shaders! 5 Stars!

Anikki says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:09pm

On a Mac in Safari & Chrome I only get a black canvas.

Sublustris says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:01pm

I'll finish iOS port soon (as a postcompo version with all planed features), and you will be able to run this game on iPhone/iPad :)

Sublustris says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:03pm

I have not a Mac :( , but i'll see what i can do for Mac users anyway.

maunovaha says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:35pm

I enjoyed the game. The graphics / mood.. brilliant :)

LogGiant says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:23pm

Nice implementation. Graphically it's very nice looking, good ambiance. Sort of difficult though, hard to find a safe place here and there, got stuck on an island of a block.

agirreb says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:34pm

Interesting.

Azurency says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:51pm

Nice game, the art is great. Good job

Hjalte500 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:11pm

I really liked the graphics and mood in this game but because of the somewhat random helicopter fire it became very memory dependant and that was just not all that fun. That being said I really did love the mood of this game.

phi6 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:31pm

I would have liked to see a variable jump height and a few other mechanics, the random element is quite difficult! Nice graphics, mood is great!

Drauthius says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:39pm

I really wished I could reach the end, but the RNG made it too hard. Very well done!

Hatsome says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:08pm

Looks and feels good, but it was a little hard.

Sytech says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:12pm

Beautiful graphics and good idea, but a bit too hard!

Good job!

daltostronic says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:27pm

Nice graphics! :)

fleegle2000 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:30pm

Nice graphics and sound, social commentary. I find the gameplay a bit random. It highlights the randomness of war, I guess, but it feels a bit unfair. Otherwise a great entry!

SadSmile says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:01pm

I didnt make it very far :/ Still a good game but the randomness is to much for me

Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:03pm

It is very difficult to predict enemy movement, do not know it was intentional. The game is very beautiful. Congratulations.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:09pm

Very nice graphics and mood!

Dege says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:17pm

I loved the art, great job! It's a bit sad bad its cool!

sbarrio says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:33pm

Love the graphics and atmosphere!

Fanttum says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:38pm

So is that Mac or web or anything else build coming soon?

Mekuri says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:53pm

I great idea for a game. I like how the chopper both works against you and with you sometimes. I loved that the entire level is destructible. It is however very hard, especially due to the (seemingly) randomness of the fire from the missiles- It makes it really hard to anticipate, and thus takes away control from the player. A little polishing on the missile mechanic and you have a very nice difficult (but less frustrating) game. Somehow I really liked this game.

Sublustris says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:55pm

I'm currently working on Android and iOS build

Sublustris says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:01pm

BTW, Hint: if you cant reach next place, just wait while copter destroys the obstacle:)

Nikteddy92 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:06pm

I'm going to cry..

KaiseanGames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:15pm

Nice one, really nice. But it's way too hard.

Raiyumi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:23pm

Oh man! That was hard. I don't know why everyone is out to kill me. But anyways, nice job!

There's quite a bit of RNG involved, so I couldn't get far, but I'm interested in seeing what the ending would be like.

terpin says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:29pm

I normally don't like platformers, but I like this one. The bombers are a real terror though!

CraftMuch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:33pm

An interesting game, I do like the art style. The game itself is really difficult, though I get the feeling that its intended.

Awpteamoose says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:54pm

So hard! Look is nice, though.

chanko08 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:41pm

Interesting idea, but it was a little frustrating how random the placement was for the helicopter's missile. Ambience was very enjoyable though, it had a "heavy" feel to it.

bitdecaygames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:09pm

This was pretty good. I liked the idea of you being in the middle of some conflict and trying to get out alive. I didn't interpret this that the soldiers are shooting at the girl. I saw it as the soldiers are shooting at the helicopter and the helicopter is shooting at the soldiers. The girl just happens to be a citizen in this place where people are fighting each other. Neat idea.

esayitch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:12pm

Took me a while to realize that the helicopter is actually the unconventional weapon. Great game... the helicopter shoots based on your position right? If yes then it's my fault I got into situations where I couldn't continue because the jumps were too high xD. If it is completely random, then it can create unpassable terrain. Great concept, great graphics, great sound.

Only suggestion I have is to make the player able to restart by pressing keyboard after they die... having to press the LMB while the game is keyboard controlled is counter-intuitive.

Great entry aside from that :D Good luck!

fabriciopfs says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:12pm

Loved the game, very nice idea. I didnt like the music, but loved the art.

Reis Mahnic says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:58am

Somber and interesting.
A little frustrating sometimes to actually navigate, but thematically powerful.

iSamurai says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:40am

Very nice game! The setting is deep. The mechanics is creative. I know it may sound weird under the setting, but it's fun to play.

Sean Noonan says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:24am

Yeah... that was hard. I liked it though. Cute/creepy.

flwns says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:07am

Like a lot of other people have said, it's quite difficult. I think with some adjustments to the start of the game it could be more enjoyable.

Tortoise says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:47am

Great gameplay, graphics, and audio. I didn't really see the tie-in with the theme though.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:12am

fabulous game - nothing too unconventional about the weapons being used - great job

guoboism says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:52am

Love those pixel animations! But the randomness make it a game of luck (for me at least)
Also the theme...

igorfelga says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:19am

Very nice game. Beautiful graphics.

Hammer Games says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:20am

One of the best graphics, but the gameplay is bad. For a game jam... it's a great game! Congratulations!

Bemmu says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:55am

Super hard, but maybe that's the point. I'd like to see pewdiepie rage over this game. After ~10 tries I got past the second guard once. Five stars mood, really nice art (I like the parallax background and the old film reel feel) and audio.

Vidsneeze says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:38am

Nice art and Good Game! Super Hard! And i mean SUPER HARD!

johanw123 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:00am

Kinda cool but very hard and a bit too random imo. i had to to wait for 10 missiles before i could go forward sometimes because the flames just didnt bring down the correct tiles

goblin says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:50am

What a hard game still great game
Check ours too http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44367

Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:04am

Lovely atmosphere and graphics and I love a difficult game! This really rewards patience. I like the underlying message too (at least, what I thought the underlying message was)

fixitteam says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:26am

Whoa. There are some 8-bit games out there, but this is awesome. It's really retro and the music is making it whole.

It feels like playing a video game on an old console.
Everything's great, only that there it'sn really an unconventional weapon in this game.

You did a good job!

peterkirk says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:25pm

I love the aesthetic of this game. The visuals and audio set the tone for the subject matter perfectly. The game itself is very difficult and I had trouble making far into the game.

Bensonance says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:39pm

A moody game for sure, excellent in its execution. However The lack of any weapon whatsoever does make it a bit of a rogue entry. That said excellent work on the graphics and sound which bring to the fore the tone of the game very well. Good work.

Fabraz says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:11pm

I dig this quite a bit!

jhrrsn says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:35pm

Impressive sound and graphics, really set a nice tone for the experience. Found myself stood waiting a lot, but a good use of timing puzzle with the sporadic gunshots!

mildmojo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:26pm

Okay, I give up, I get it: there's no safe place in war. =P I assumed there wasn't an end, though comments seem to say otherwise.

Random number generator from hell. There were a bunch of times when a missile would explode and leave you with no place to stand. Or you'd have to wait forever in one spot because you were in a Tetris pit you couldn't jump out of or there was a gap too wide.

The visuals were excellent, sound was great, mood was good. I'm not sure where I stand on holding the jump button to bounce; it led to a lot of unintentional deaths as I finished a jump and bounced right into gunfire. Nice work overall, but more frustrating than I like.

DKoding says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:53pm

Hard as hell.

Sublustris says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:00pm

strange :( I can pass whole lvl without any cheats..

Stechas says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:12pm

Indeed test of my skills, well I have found out I am not so skillful, still great game.

BIZM says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:48pm

Very intense and dark atmosphere. We actually felt like we were always in danger. The music really set the tone. Good job!

kyyrma says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:00pm

Damn, why didn't my game have nice scanlines like this. I've rated tons of titles this jam with scanlines, and the all look fantastic.

Sublustris says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:17pm

tweet me tommorow, and i'll tell you how :)

lochmann-apps says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:09pm

Great timelapse video and nice graphics! ;-) For me its a bit too hard, maybe I am simply bad at gaming ;-)

nov1kk says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:32pm

the idea is nice, but i need to wait to much to advance on the level becouse the copter dont want to help me :D, anyway is a nice game, and u do it alone for the compo!

Ellian says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:56pm

Too bad the RNG messed me up so badly (waited a few minutes in front of the first screen because I had a wall I couldn't get over), but the art is good and the overall execution is nice~ Good job!

shrapx says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:05pm

Really tough game, but beautiful! I love the pixel art and effects. I like how it shows with care the horror of soldiers.

F. Wiktora says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:44am

Huh, it really is a bit depressing, but that doesn't make it bad. It's actually a motivation to get through it (but it's hard). Good entry!

pikmin4000 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:29am

I want to play but the link just shows a black screen. D;

felipeberquo says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:33am

Nice game! Liked most the graphics and the sound! Good job

jprogman says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:12am

Very compelling story.
Only griping issue is how the solders weren't killed in a friendly fire. One solder shoots another... nothing.
Overall, the game is purely on luck and coincidence, which gets cumbersome.

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:51am

The fire! It buuurns! Seriously though, great job.

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:32am

I liked the graphics - it would've been cool if there was a bedrock tile to show that you could always walk on the bottom of screen

Sublustris says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:46am

First idea was -that girl will die when she is not staying on tiles. But is becomes REALLY HARD to play, and i removed that feature.

rnlf says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:23am

Wow, frustratingly hard, just like my game :-p

The art is very well made, I cannot believe the chopper has been made during the compo! Very cool!

Also a very depressing setting. Good work!

Frozen Stick says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:21am

Really great concept.Nice game play.Well done.

SpringCabal says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:47am

How do i rate humour on a game optimized for max depressiveness? Max rate, of course.

I liked the aesthetics and overall design and that your "weapon" is actually the thing that actively seeks to kill you.

I've done over a dozen runs, but failed to win, even after discovering a lot of gotchas like that touching soldiers doesn't kill you, napalm only kills you on ground, and bottom of screen is walkable.

The game design is the part that lacks most. Fire is random and things kill you instantly, but sometimes you have to wait for minutes before the path becomes clear, which conspires to make you wait for a long time just to find frustrating instadeath next second. The game is actually fun to play until you realise that exact thing.

Sublustris says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:50pm

Really glad to read such comments. Thank you guys. I'll improve game design in post compo version.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:54pm

A little hard to get anywhere in the start, but once passed that I becomes more fun!

panurge says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:16pm

Excellent moody visuals and audio. The gameplay has the desired effect of making you feel really vulnerable and panicked. Good work!

Hectigo says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:05pm

I really like the graphics, audio and overall mood of the game, but the unforgiving and random mechanics kill the game. It's easy to get stuck, and then it's back to square one again.

The collision handling also seems a bit jittery - it might be better if you implemented movement so that it first evaluates velocity in the y direction, checks for collisions, then evaluates velocity in the x direction, and checks for collisions again. This is usually the best way to make the movement feel solid in a traditional tile-based 2D platformer like this.

Sublustris says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:12pm

@Hectigo, thank you for advice, i'll try to improve my collision detection code.

nassi says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:14pm

All of this has been said before, but I'll just say it again, since it's how feel about the game.

The atmosphere is great thanks to the art and the audio and even the game mechanic adds to it. Unfortunately the very same mechanic also makes the game really frustrating to actually play. I must've spent over half an hour on this with my record being the big cube "box" if you know what I mean? The part after the one with lots of platforms, pretty early on. Maybe part of the problem is that the missiles actually explode when they reach your x-coordinate, instead of actually seeking the enemies. Nevertheless, when I didn't get killed by napalm falling into a hole where I couldn't get out from I got killed by a soldier's laser trying to dodge said napalm. I think it could've been fixed if the map was larger vertically, since that would offer you more possible routes and thus reduce the RNG element.

I really wanted to like this, but the gameplay got too frustrating. I like the idea of a threat and/or randomly changing map though, so with some tweaking the gameplay too could've been a hit. At the moment I can only congratulate you for the atmosphere you manage to create.

Vantaug says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:24pm

Really like the game, good feel and the pacifistic way of just trying to get away from the war was pretty cool. I did die a lot and I didn't like going to a game over screen and having to click in order to get back into the game, instant spawn, like in super meat boy, would've been nice.

hbocao says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:05am

Beautiful art style! Good work on sound too, the controls felt very nice, but clicking to restart was annoying. Specially because I was dying a lot hehe

shadow64 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:11am

The game has a nice mood and it's definitely an unconventional weapon. I thought about doing something similar, so it's interesting to see where you went with it. The background tiles were really well done.

I did feel like it was a little bit random and because of that I died more times just because of that than because of being able to predict anything. Sometimes I had to die, but obviously that would be fixed in future iterations.

Good work! Thanks for sharing and congrats on completing! :)

Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:04am

I liked this a lot. I tried to play it many times but never got more than maybe 3 screens in. Terrific idea and setting for the game. The hardest part was the fire raining down. It was too hard to dodge most of the time. Fix that and you'd have a really killer game I think. Well done!

longshorts says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:16am

Really struggled to progress with this. The fallout from the missiles seemed to be random and would often result in halting any progress even if I didn't die. Non-random fallout would mean it would be easier to almost aim with the chopper. Still, great idea and graphicly fantastic.

safran says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:43am

Really good looking game

mantis says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:13am

Fantastic graphics, good audio, but not much more. The gameplay is too random. You can't predict where the fire will fall, so you've got SOME chance of being able to pass further.

Frosnite says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:41pm

Wow, really hard beginning! Loved the art, but maybe tone down the difficulty? I like the interractivity between ingredients, but the bomb-exploding-fire really make its hard, sometimes impossible to advance. Loved the mood though!

PinkIndian says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:18pm

Excellent game, but the randomness makes it too difficult (for me). The graphics, the music and the theme are all great, and the fact that you made this in 48 hours is amazing. But what is the unconventional weapon?

xhunterko says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:35pm

I get the point of the "game". But I really couldn't finish it due to it's blatant randomness.

filipe.silva says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:46pm

difficult to play due to the fact that the main character does not have any weapons to defend themselves. I really liked the graphics. I just think that the player could have a weapon or tool to help complete the mission

AinoraZ says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:31pm

Interesting game to say the least! Love it!

Blobo says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:25pm

Really well done! i love the graphics.

Sublustris says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:42pm

http://youtu.be/QSCD3PJlQq4
gameplay video

randoman says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:50pm

Oh, good use of the theme! Very nice concept, graphics and audio

abcdef65g says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:25pm

I like the game, I like the idea, it makes me feel while makes me wonder if they are really in a war or there is just an army using me as target practice... I just feel it doesn't match the unconventional weapon, I mean, it is an unconventional gameplay for sure, just there is no form of weapon available for me to use, nor any unconventional weapon is being used on me. Still a good game to feel something.

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:27pm

Really beautiful work, and an interesting concept. The randomness wasn't ideal, since it made it seem like I didn't have control over how I did, but with some handcrafted levels, this could be really cool.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:43am

I think that this game lacks the use of an unconventional weapon... It is pretty much weirdly themed platformer with the odd mechanic of a helicopter paving the way for you. I don't particularly like the fact I have no control over anything besides movement.

Pomb says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:29am

doesn't load for me

lucien says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:25pm

Funny Game
Great Job

NightShadow0 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:44pm

Interesting mechanic, i appreciate how it matches the theme of the game, but the fact that the blast feels random results in many frustrating shrapnel deaths and completely kills the pacing.

Sublustris says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:30pm

Working on postcompo version:
https://twitter.com/Sub_lustris/status/592000978347532289

sekaru says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:21pm

Really clever concept and use of the theme. The graphics were wonderful too.

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:43pm

Hauntingly beautiful

GarethIW says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:45pm

Nice, plays well although I died lots.

ViliX64 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:19pm

5/5 for lovely graphics :)

xplicitone says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:59pm

Excellent game! The music and mood fit the atmosphere very well. Can't believe this was done in 48 hours but it was fairly challenging and enjoyable

nameoftheuser says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:59am

WOW

6DownStudios says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:11am

Really great pixelart (background is great, very bleak) and design, with the terrain destruction and whatnot. Fun to boot, with excellent audio as well. Excellent all around, keep it up!

iceburg7 says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 7:06am

Pretty cool game. I like that taking no action leads to actively destroying the enemies. I does seem a little too random though whether you are hit by the rain of fire.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:20pm

Good graphics, but this game doesn't seem to relate to the theme. It is also incredibly anti-player-friendly with what seems to be complete randomness from the bomb distribution.

It's possible for the bomb to kill 2+ blocks in a single column, meaning even if you manage to shelter under several blocks, it's half pointless compared to just trying to run around and dodge.

At one point I spent maybe 3 minutes running back and forth, with nothing else on the screen but a 2-block column with a gunner on top. Even though I would run up to the column so the bomb exploded in that area, it took that long for the random distribution to happen to hit that one column.

It's kind of funny that the bomb can directly explode on top of the girl without hurting her, but the fire (or touching an enemy even if they don't shoot) instantly kills her.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:21pm

One more comment since I just saw the napalm reply: Napalm seems a fairly conventional weapon to me, and probably has a less random explosion / spread distribution than this. :P

Sublustris says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:33pm

This is an unconventional type of napalm :)

Sublustris says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:37pm

I'm working on game balance now. Full PostCompo version will be more "playable", i hope.

Apr 27, 2015 @ 6:18am

really cool! its was really hard, but still very fun. ironically, the best strategy is to just run past the soldiers. amazing graphics too! one thing is since you die a lot, having to move your hand to the mouse to restart gets tiresome. having a keyboard restart would be better.

Apr 27, 2015 @ 2:12pm

Interesting use of the theme, thought it was well thought at and the game looked great with the music really helping to set the somber mood. Did have issues though of not being able to keep going at time even when I waited for blocks to be destroyed cause I wouldn't be able to move as I was the one hit. But guess that just helps further the stories message.

Nomys_Tempar says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 2:32pm

Hard but awsome !

jk5000 says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 6:42am

A fun idea, that just missing some polishing.

jukimv1986 says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 4:57pm

Nice mechanic, avoiding the conventional weapon to advance in an unconventional way. Neat graphics and soothing music combine to create a somber mood. Well done!

Apr 28, 2015 @ 8:02pm

That's great fun, but SO HARD. I kept getting killed by the raining fire.

bentglasstube says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 3:02am

I kept getting stuck so that I couldn't jump out of a pit. The sound and graphics were stellar but the gameplay seemed too difficult.

John Vanis says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 3:10pm

Five stars for graphics, but three stars for game.

Anshul Goyal says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 3:33am

Nice game! Love the atmosphere.

I wish I had some control over as to where to hit so I just don't end up waiting too long.

thaaks says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 4:15pm

Nice pixel art - really loved that.
Game play wise it's pretty random where the fire falls down and destroys something. Can also lead to dead end situations.
Weapons are pretty conventional I'd say. But the overall mood of the game (war theme, music, helplessness of the kid) is pretty good.

May 1, 2015 @ 3:01am

I have been trying since 5:15pm and its now 7:50pm.
It's time I give up. I'm just not skilled enough to get to the ending.
It is very very very hard.
This game is nothing short of brilliant but it is so god damned difficult I can't do it anymore.
After the point where there are five soldiers on the screen, the moment I lose the high ground I am hopelessly doomed.
And I can't count how many times I died at the first napalm because the fire fell on me instead of hitting the block obstructing my jump. (The problem is the fire doesn't seem to want to collide horizontally with blocks, only vertically)
If the game wasn't so interesting I wouldn't have tried for so long, but for the life of me I can't get any further than a bit after the 5 soldiers where the soldiers line up one after another near the top.

I guess I'll try again when it's on android.
Deserves a 5/5 for sure but it's just killing me not being able to beat it...

Sublustris says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 7:30am

Thank you dude for such a detailed comment. I'm still working on android version, and it will be MUCH more polished in gameplay :) BTW, gameplay will be divided in 2 separate ways for more fun: without any weapon and WITH MINIGUN !!! :)

renatopp says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 9:17pm

Cool graphics and I like the game idea. The gameplay is hard, I think you could design the level by hand and spread more the bomb fire (avoiding the impossible holes). Anyway, congratulations for you game, it is pretty cool.

SamH says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 11:40pm

Graphics and idea are great, but it’s really too punishing! I keep dying when stuck waiting for the helicopter to open a way for me and there’s no place to hide. Remove some randomness and it’ll be a lot more enjoyable! Or if you insist on randomness, you could make it slightly easier to predict, for instance with markers on the ground signaling what the airstrike will destroy.

May 2, 2015 @ 11:51am

Play as little girl with bag. Survived a direct hit from a missile.

Aside from that, a nice idea, well implemented. Can flow very well in places, although the large wall near the start feels discouraging -- took a few goes to get past it.

ajopart says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 10:47am

Challenging entry !

tomhunt says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 3:20pm

game wouldn't load for me. page just sat there displaying ads.

KunoNoOni says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 4:58pm

Really great game. Found the fire rain a little too random at times. Made it hard to continue. Other than that. I really enjoyed playing this game.

MrShoestore says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 10:43pm

the game is a little frustrating, but looks good and well put together

IL_yoshioka says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 2:42am

It's too difficult for me.

Arche-san says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 1:35pm

Good game !!! Fine graphics, impressive fx, nice sounds and destructible environnements work well together. A little bit too much random on level design though. I kept dying because my character was stuck. If you are going for a post-prod version, maybe you should focus on that. I really appreciated your work and wish you the best for the following :)

May 5, 2015 @ 3:06am

Very difficult. Cool idea, but could use a bit of tweaking to not be quite as punishingly discouraging. Still, I returned to it for longer than most games. Nice job.

grywhttl says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 2:23am

Looks great!

sputnik says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 12:37am

Nice graphics and use of the theme

Druid says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 10:51am

I really hate that random fire. But game is still awesome with great graphics and mood!

23 says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 3:43pm

Interesting idea but since you basically just wait for the chopper to do it's job (and sometimes die because the random placement of fire can't be dodged because it's all around you or you're in a hole) it's more frustrating than horrifying.

It'd be nice to be able to restart with the keyboard, since that's where the other controls are.

I assume the surprise ending is the little girl is a deadline weapon the helicopter is escorting into the enemy base? :D

Alistesios says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 9:54pm

Graphics & Audio are perfect. Controls are great. Fun idea.
Well done !

strega says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 10:58am

Nice animations and graphics. The gameplay is really difficult for me. I liked the tone also.

SonnyBone says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 4:16pm

Great atmosphere, especially with the ash particles and the solemn music. I see a lot of people questioning your use of the theme, but I totally understand what you were going for. The gameplay randomness can be unforgiving, but this is war after all. I appreciate your unique approach to the theme.

Sublustris says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 5:15pm

Thank you.

Menesetsu says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 2:43pm

Great atmosphere and visuals!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]