Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

ld-rainballz

by Victor RENE - Jam Entry

ld-rainballz
___________________

This is a mouse control challenge. Can you hit and dodge while controlling two balls at the same time?

For the people saying the game is too easy. My high-score: 384725 (screenshot)

Theme
___________________

The theme is control of the elements "fire", "ice", "lightning".

Lightning: you are so fast, the maxiball can blink anywhere, saving you from death or catching the next powerup.

Fire: the miniball gets add-ons that increase the hitbox. Can be good to clear boxes, but can also destroy powerups.

Ice: Freeze the boxes before they get out of screen. Can also be a lifesaver, lasts 3 seconds.

How to win
___________________

Right click: Move Maxiball to grab powerups (combo points)
Left click: Move Miniball to grab boxes (hit points)

How to lose
___________________

If the Maxiball gets hit by a box, you lose powerup and combo points multiplier.
If a powerup gets hit by the Miniball, you lose powerup and hit points multiplier.

Ideas
___________________

I wanted to have a lightning bolt between the two balls.
I wanted to have a fire trail behind the miniball.
I wanted to have a slow force field around the maxiball.
I would also add control of light / darkness, and possibly gravity effects.

If you like the concept, follow me on twitter @VictorRENE_net, and I will make full version of the game at http://logiqub.com. Thanks for playing.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#666Innovation(Jam)2.84
#801Fun(Jam)2.63
#896Mood(Jam)2.41
#912Graphics(Jam)2.24
#957Overall(Jam)2.63
#1045Theme(Jam)1.84
#1769Coolness37%

Comments

gatinmnsok says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:00pm

It's a fun little game although not very challenging.
Also, I don't really see the relation to the theme.

P.S. What's with that filesize :o

Victor RENE says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:25pm

@gatinmnsok Yeah I know, the tool I use is not the best for packaging. In any case, if you didn't find it challenging, you probably didn't get very far. =)

Since the controls can be confusing for a non-expert mouse user, it was best to give it an easy level at first.

haveric says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:51pm

The game window shows up slightly off screen (running dual 1600x900 monitors) and I couldn't get the left side to be in view, but I was still able to play for a bit.

It's an interesting concept, which could be turned into something more, but it needs some polish. I'm also not connecting the theme to this game at all. Perhaps you could explain your take on the theme in the game description?

Victor RENE says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:00pm

@haveric Okay I'll update the theme description. Thanks for feedback.

AinoraZ says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:19pm

A fun game indeed. Really love the idea of it. And the music was pretty good as well! Giving a good rating.

Kasmilus says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:21pm

I couldn't see whole screen and it was hard to understand what gives you points and what makes you lose at the beginning but later it was nice to play. With some improvements it could be really addictive game but now it is really easy. Also you can ignore that large ball and just collect points with LMB, it's even easier then.

PS. and what's the weapon here? :P

Victor RENE says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:51pm

@Kasmilus Okay, I get it... People really think I made the game too easy. But if you ignore the maxiball you get no combo points, therefore your score will be low. Thanks for feedback though.

Foxarya says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:02pm

It's difficult but funny. Is out of my screen, so it dos even more difficult to play

Victor RENE says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:19pm

@Foxarya and everyone. Sorry for the display problems, I hope I fixed the screen size problems. It's considered porting so I guess, it's okay.

ProjectX593 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:23pm

Really fun little game, though it gets a bit stale after a minute or two when you realize the difficulty isn't ramping up.

Psyho says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:55pm

Ok, I don't know what is supposed to be difficult in that game. After understanding the rules, I got pretty bored after getting to 500K without having any kind of challenge. I also didn't saw any increase of difficulty. Even with more things spawning you can just leave your maxiball in one place, and use your miniball to "guard" the maxiball from the boxes.

Still, I find the concept for mouse-avoider games with 2 objects very original. I just think that balance is completely off and there's no real fun. The point of mouse avoiders is to be constantly in tension that you can die, but you somehow manage to survive. Here however it's opposite, there's no pressure at all - only a small chance for a very unlucky spawns of blocks and then you're screwed.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]