Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Shaman War

by k8n - Jam Entry

Get to the top of the mountain and touch the powerful totem. Be the first and be the greatest. Fight opponents with your deadly shaman dance moves.

Controls:
W - jump
A - go left
D - go right
Arrow left - dance move
Arrow right - dance move

After three moves there will be a powerful lightning from the sky striking your closest opponent. But be careful, you can be stricken too. To avoid this unpleasant event, repeat the combination of the opponent and you will be safe.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#39Innovation(Jam)4.05
#168Mood(Jam)3.57
#215Overall(Jam)3.59
#229Fun(Jam)3.45
#258Humor(Jam)3.39
#268Graphics(Jam)3.78
#318Theme(Jam)3.65
#1713Coolness39%

Comments

Horsed says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:43am

I was pretty hard for me to watch the actions of nearby opponents. But that's just my bad multitasking. Nice background music.

Bastienre4 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:01am

Nice graphics and music. was a bit difficult at the beginning but loved it. keep it up :)

Lukbebalduke says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:09pm

Hhahahah, NICE GAME! One of the bests I've played so far!

F. Wiktora says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:11pm

Nice SFX and background music! Mood 4/5, Humor 5/5

BMacIntosh says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:16pm

Great music choice! My one gameplay gripe would be that it was pretty much impossible to catch up to an enemy once they got away from you. I think the level could have been shorter, since once this happens the winner is pretty much decided.

Tanser says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:32pm

Amazing game, I just cant wrap my head around the lightning which always gets me (salt). :D Good job!!

2R says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:36pm

Great idea!!

Dixbit says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:57pm

Nice concept, everything in your game matches well together

lochmann-apps says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:01pm

It's a funny game and makes fun to be challenged by the other enemies. Cool work. But the blizzard comes down too frequently and you never get higher than the fifth step.
But looks to me like the unconventional weapon in this game is missing.

dcRfj15 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:16pm

It was a fun game. I really enjoyed playing it, and I think that the concept is really unique and entertaining to play.

I couldn't figure out what the rules were for who gets struck by lightning. I got hit by lightning a lot more than my opponent did, but I couldn't tell what I was doing wrong.

goblin says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:19pm

Great game, nice music but hard to play
Check ours too http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44367

Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:40am

Quirky entry with clever concept and nice use of the theme but I did have trouble coordinating the lighting and opponents dance moves but that's probably just my bad.

Tselmek says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:37pm

Great concept, as well as graphics and sounds. The controls were not quite responsive and it made the game a step closer to frustrating and further from fair difficult. Was fun to play nonetheless!

davidB says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:55pm

With a zoom in-out or a minimap, it will be better. Nice entry.

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 3:51pm

The combat mechanic is suprisingly novel and challening, but at the same time it's somewhat frustrating.

When an opponent is targeting you it should be apparent. Right now there is no indication of this which means a lightning bolt might just appears out of nowhere or there is such a cluster of shamans on the screen that making sense of the situation is just hopeless.

I advocate adding a few GUI elements:

1. An aura around the opponent who is currenly targeting you and/or a small arrow that points to them.
2. Their dance moves should be of different color and bigger and maybe even duplicated on top of your dance moves so that responding to them is more easier.
3. An indicator on who you are targeting. This might clash with the prior points so it's not absolutely necessary.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 8:28pm

haha very nice game, art and sound is good, gameplay is nice too, good job.

ChronusZ says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 2:18am

The dancing mechanics felt a little too slow for such a fast paced game. I feel as though 5 moves per lightning with each move twice as fast would have been much better.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]