Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

The Goo Sword

by DiegoEscalante - Jam Entry

You hold the Goo Sword in your hands. It doesn't deal damage... but it is sticky! Use it to survive as long as you can.

Controls:
WASD to move.
Arrow keys to slash.
Spacebar to splash.

The Goo Sword deteriorates with each swing. Get to a goo geyser to keep it in *goo* condition.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#370Innovation(Jam)3.31
#409Theme(Jam)3.50
#438Fun(Jam)3.17
#474Overall(Jam)3.27
#531Graphics(Jam)3.27
#569Humor(Jam)2.74
#741Mood(Jam)2.73

Comments

steboots says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:45am

I was getting points, but was I killing the rocks or were they going underground. I ran out of goo and didn't get any more, would've liked to have kept going to see how hard it got and how well I could've done. Good foundation.

uvwar says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:45am

I was pretty confused when I ran out of goo but then I saw another geyser, still pretty hard though! I got to 109 or so. Really cool game!

DaGamesta says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:59am

Simple but effective

Pitzik4 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:19am

I hit an unlucky streak after a while and didn't get any geysers for what might have been a full minute. 371 points.

The simplicity is very nice, though I would have liked to see some variation in gameplay. It gets repetitive after a while. Still, there's an elegance to this game that some people, such as myself, just can't seem to muster. No levels. Minimal text. Only one type of enemy, randomly spawned until the player dies. In the end, a game doesn't need to be more complicated than that.

BoyWithStick says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:03am

When I downloaded the windows version, I only got a fast moving character and nothing else. Not sure what was going on there, but I switch to the WebGL version and everything was great.

I like the idea of only temporarily stalling your enemies and how that works with avoidance and scoring points. Once you run out of *goo*, it was challenging avoiding all the enemies to get to a geyser. I got 255 points. It was fun to play! Nice job!

MGhareeb32 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:49am

Awesome concept! Goo geyser castles (which are made of goo) are the best! :D

Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:09pm

A very GOO entry!! 5 Stars!

ProjectX593 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:46pm

The hit detection on the sword felt a little wonky, but pretty good aside from that.

TeslaCoil says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:03am

I felt this game was a little disappointing. I didn't find it particularly satisfying to attack enemies only to have them freeze in place or disappear at random. I would have thought with a sword, I'd be able to actually kill them. Especially since it seemed like the enemies still hurt you while they were frozen! The Goo Sword is a fantastic idea, and I'd like to see this sort of thing as a Zelda-esque adventure game where you harness the powers of goo to defeat evil. As a survival game, I just wasn't feeling it, sorry to say.

lucidsheep says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:04am

nice animations!

Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:59pm

Fun little game. I think it might be a little more fun if the player started with less health - taking damage didn't seem like a big deal, so I wasn't as careful as I could have been.

solarexplorer says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:12am

Good start, it didnt seem i could kill rocks, just slow them, which might be what you intended.

Sammuurraaaii says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 10:47am

Had a bug with the graphics setting controlling the actual speed of the little sad sack but was fun, props to the creativity overall.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]