Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Potion Quest

by juxipolo - Jam Entry

Potions are your only weapon in a quest for immortality through alchemy in a procedurally generate world.

Collect ingredients, brew potions, put them to good use.

Click on surrounding hexes to move one hex, right click to move to a hex (you'll stop moving when you see a monster)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#253Fun(Jam)3.41
#291Overall(Jam)3.48
#451Innovation(Jam)3.19
#453Mood(Jam)3.16
#495Theme(Jam)3.38
#653Graphics(Jam)3.00
#654Humor(Jam)2.57

Comments

drakekin says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:03pm

The inability to click on a hex not next to me was frustrating. Some more guidance would have been nice. Also potions seem to me to be a fairly conventional fantasy weapon.

jesterswilde says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:50am

This game is best played with your Morgan Freeman accent. I, Morgan Freeman, also very much appreciate the usage of Quaff in this game. I am also only to assume that I am after the eye of Ira Glass.

Docjekyll says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:00am

Great work!

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:16am

Interesting concept. I like the procedurally generated world and how there's stuff to pick up all over the place. It might be cool if the potion recipes had random modifiers as well.

As said above, control scheme could use some tweaks. Camera panning with WASD and the ability to path find at far away tiles would help immensely.

Skulls says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:54am

I had fun playing this game. I enjoyed the progression from throwing slime at enemies and running away to killing hordes of them with toxic clouds.

Some things that would have been nice would be some indication of what spells do before you select them and craft them. A way to find the bosses more easily. As well as a way to know how much of the crafting materials you have. Still great jam game especially considering the time constraints.

cdrch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:38am

Keyboard shortcuts for the clicked buttons and a little more in-game explanation for what you are doing would be nice. Ultimately, though, I think this is a pretty fun little game that I certainly ended up spending a lot of time on. I appreciate the use of hexes and the word "quaff". :) And assuming that the Immortality Potion is the end-game goal, that's a very nice use of telling a story through in-game items (recipes, in this case).

ironleonem says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:42am

Solid title :) I had a lot of fun playing it. I don't think potions as weapons are terribly unconventional, but I suppose that's up to interpretation. Over all, I liked it a lot, and I hope you expand upon it

Somnium says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:59am

Impressive game, really enjoyable! The progression of capabilities through new potions was interesting.

I used the right click movement almost exclusively, since the left click movement does not react to clicking on non-adjacent hexes.

UrbanHelsing says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:38am

I got a big error message from mscorlib, anyone that could fix this?

MJaawa says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:55am

This is great, sure the controls could use some work, but the gameplay functionality you've put into this is amazing, I really had fun playing your game!

Ranmara says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:20am

Really enjoyed playing this. Found the difficulty curve just right for me...I staggered home with few potions and a sliver of hp left, only to be able to finally claim immortality and laugh at death! :)

abcdef65g says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:57pm

I will be honest, this entry impressed me. While I feel potions and alchemy, while rare, aren't exactly "unusual", this game is very well designed. I had fun with it for as long as I could, things do flow very well here. The goal wasn't clear, and it seemed unreachable as far as I got, but still makes me think this is a game with quite a future, one of the only ones in this Jam I might pick up later to play again.

Treeaza says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 6:09pm

Pretty awesome! I only have two complaints. First, not being able to click on hexes further than one space away, and second, there needs to be a way to know when you can level up.

conniejoern says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 6:28pm

had a good time playing this.
I think there need to be more cauldron spread over the world.

JonathanG says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 9:51am

A nice hex world and some good imagination with enemies and potions, but didn't feel very unconventional as a weapon. I think I got unlucky too as my world seemed to be quite small and I couldn't explore very far before getting stuck.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]