Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Jenny and Magic Lamps

by Alsatian Studio - Jam Entry

To view the gameplay, please visit:
https://youtu.be/ersyZlsAaV0
---

GameJolt: http://gamejolt.com/games/platformer/jenny-and-magic-lamps/62217/

---

Jenny is traveling around the world to collect Magic Lamps, but some filthy men don't allow her to do so!
Jenny can only run and jump. She can out run those men quite easily, but she also can destroy them by jump on their head.
Can Jenny finish her mission?

---

Control:
Arrow to run
Space to Jump. Jump on head of men to destroy them
Collect Magic Lamps to Win. They are at random places, but you can spot them from pretty far.
Don't let men touch you ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#658Humor(Jam)2.56
#836Fun(Jam)2.58
#837Mood(Jam)2.57
#868Overall(Jam)2.78
#993Innovation(Jam)2.06
#1028Theme(Jam)2.06

Comments

ldds says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:30am

Ignoring the minor UI problems, this game seems fun. I ended up enjoying how it looks, despite its plastic feel.

Shivur says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:36am

Very beautiful graphics!

2Bit says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:03am

Oh Jenny you'll never meet a man if you keep jumping on their heads. Overall the game needs some more fun (more game play), what is there in terms of controls and graphics at the moment is solid though.

Iak says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:08am

bit strange to control, but funny concept to apply platformer logic to a realistic-ish environment

RoryD says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:20am

Very surreal. I feel like it would be a bit easier with the camera pulled back a bit so that you can see the guys coming. Also, air control would be nice. I liked the setting.

bpleonvong says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:23am

Looks great, hard to get lamps, men come out of no where.

UltraRat says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:31am

The follow cam feels too snappy, but I do love a game over that ends in a 2 person kamikaze explosion.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:36am

It's been fun playing this game, but when Jenny runs into a man, nothing happens, she's just removed from the world. Is there any control that I'm missing to restart the world?

Kovalsky says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:49am

Nice graphic!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:04pm

Hi guys, thanks for playing :D
I have fixed the UI error, now everything work fine :D

Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:10pm

Well this was interesting. The assets and the gameplay don't fit together in my opinion.

OddballDave says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:23pm

"Don't let men touch you ;)" - Words we could all do to live by. Good stuff.

Jeasonfire says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:02pm

The graphics were very good, jumping was hilariously overpowered and I had fun.

Mouch says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:10pm

Somehow, better gameplay needs to be implemented. Running away is too easy. It is also very strange to run in water for the most time, only seeing the peoples shoulders and head.

I'd really like to hear some sounds, especially from the filthy men.

Benjamin says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:13pm

Men stop without moving when they meet you position. To kill them you just have to jump without moving when they reach you. Apart fo that the game is fun to play. The fact that you chance lamp positions make each game interesting.

DeadFragment says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:18pm

Graphics and animations are really nice! and nice water effects, Also the character's look great!

-Neith

greytram says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 8:53pm

Simple but fun! Controls are sometimes a bit tricky. Adding some music would be great.

Frosnite says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 10:35pm

LMFAO at the creepiness :P!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]