Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Atled

by Wow - Compo Entry

Atled is a television with the ability to speed up time.

Just a game exploring a simple mechanic, the player character can shoot a ball out of his face that speeds up any object it touches.

Graphics done in Grafx2, music and sound effects in Reason, a few sounds were processed from samples originally by BoyInABand. Engine is love2d using the AnAl library by Bartbes for animations.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#295Audio3.18
#442Mood3.06
#564Theme3.32
#647Innovation2.95
#844Graphics2.55
#943Overall2.70
#1076Fun2.11
#1856Coolness35%

Comments

Os_Reboot says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:49am

Interesting concept

LTPATS says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:49am

This is a really cool concept, even though there wasn't a lot of other gameplay it was still pretty fun just to mess around. The music and art did a good job at setting the atmosphere. I'd love to see more levels added to this, great work!

Wow says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:20pm

LTPATS, did you make it to the end? I wasnt sure if I made it obvious enough that there was an end but there is. I'm thinking about mentioning it in the description, but I like for people to go in blind and see how the game stands on its own.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:23pm

[SOLUTION SPOILERS] It was not very clear what the objective was, since the robots (?) never demonstrated that they can move things. I only guessed the globe had something to do with it because there were a lack of other things to interact with. Also, the platforms that could be sped up were moving so slow initially that deciphering what I can and can't manipulate was a matter of trial and error, which given how slowly your shot recharged (for no apparent reason?) was very frustrating. The fact I needed to shoot the enemy to defeat it didn't make a lot of sense, since the shot was described as speeding up an object, and the robot was already fast approaching and killed me on touch. I could jump, but I didn't see a reason to do so, since there wasn't anything to jump over. The ending transition was so slow I thought the game bugged out.

Wow says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:09am

Thanks constrictor! I'll be doing something more clear next time and I still need a lot of practice, so thanks very much for giving me such a detailed description of your experience!

Garris says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:17am

The idea was a good one. There is a pretty significant problem with clarity though. Music was nice though.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:48pm

Nice concept. A bit confusing at first, but all in all fun and interesting.

josefnpat says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:41am

Nice start! I was able to kill the tripods, but I'm not sure what to do with the planets, or the moving bars.

KaiseanGames says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:34am

Did I just make the Earth spin too fast? :)

Nice job!

jprogman says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 10:01pm

I like how you can interact with some things and get them going. Making the globe spin insanely fast made me chuckle a bit.

The game's idea is neat, but the window size is too huuuge for my screen to handle. :/

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]