Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Android Runner by @JohnNWFS

by johnnwfs - Jam Entry

Android Runner by @JohnNWFS is a simple runner game with music by @michaelhoffer. Run your android across a sky bridge, jumping obstacle walls that appear as the sky bridge takes you up and down its hill like make-up. You are connected to a battle satellite which can zap in front of you and behind you, helping to take out the obstacles.

Left or Right click anywhere above the buttons to fire. Space Jumps (if you are on PC/Mac/Browser). You can also use the buttons which help with phone devices using the URL. I didn't get a chance to test an Android version but will attempt to post as well. (update: Android device APK here: http://johnnwfs.net/LudumDare32/LudumDare32-4-APK-1.0.1.zip

Created with GameMaker Studio for the code and a bit of Garage Band for the audio, this was a fun game to make in the only 12 hours or so I had available this weekend.

I really like the music my brother created!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#503Audio(Jam)2.79
#820Humor(Jam)2.22
#896Mood(Jam)2.41
#921Innovation(Jam)2.29
#921Graphics(Jam)2.17
#926Fun(Jam)2.40
#989Theme(Jam)2.29
#1047Overall(Jam)2.35

Comments

Lynx says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:17am

Interesting game, I like how your the spaceship but you're helping the guy escape instead of destroying/hunting him. The jumping feels really slow and hard for someone to use quickly, which is a problem if the blockade is past your laser fire angle. Good job, neat concept. Keep improving!

benjamck says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:25am

It's a bit like Lode-Runner meets Endless Runner. Took me a bit to get the controls sorted in the browser (The space bar jumped me to the bottom of the page). Seems like a good start for what could be an interesting little game. Just throw in a little variation early on and maybe some baddies for the ship to shoot.

johnnwfs says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:08pm

Thanks Lynx and benjamck. If interested I've been tweaking the final version and have it here http://johnnwfs.net...

Halleflux says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:54am

Black flickering screen obscures everything.

Halleflux says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:00am

Black flickering screen obscures everything on web version.
Apart from that, the controls are hard to handle, and the tutorial is hard to read.
Although it [the ship] is an interesting twist on the general runner idea.

Logicon says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:00am

http://imgur.com/VQ365Xt

Galan says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:05am

After checking out the updated version, I'd say the game could use a bit of variety, and some extra visual flash wouldn't hurt. And it may just be because I'm tired, but the busy-ness of the backkground was a bit eye-straining. That said, it's headed in a good direction.

johnnwfs says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:40am

if you get a black flickering screen can you let me know your OS and browser? Thanks! I'll reduce the background "stars" by a lot... and good job getting onto the "satellite"! I'll be adding variety as well. Thanks for the feedback

Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:46pm

First endless runner I've played on LD32. Good job. Would love to see an increase in difficulty over time.

Kate Kligman says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:43pm

Like the mood, audio, and jumping mechanic. Would love to see a post-comp version of this.

PushmePullyu says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:52pm

At first I thought the UFO was just trying to scare me by zapping behind me but then I realized it was the battle satellite :D

Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:55pm

Jumping felt a bit awkward, the flat upward speed but then accelerated downfall feels weird. Typically you set a variable upward speed and move the player at that speed, then then decrement the speed value on updates, so that it ramps downwards to feel like a jump.

But other than that - great sfx, great music, graphics all felt in line with one another.

peecestudios says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 11:45pm

Nice game, would have been better if i hadn't figured out i could hold jump the whole time and flew over every wall.

gnx says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 1:15am

A bit simplistic when it comes to gameplay, but I like the music and the basic concept :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]