Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Safer in the Dark

by broknecho - Jam Entry

Safer in the Dark

Objective:
========================
Remember when you were a child and you hid from monsters under your blanket? Or easier yet, just closed your eyes? In Safer in the Dark, most harm cannot fall on you while your eyes are closed.

But be aware, you must watch your step.

Try to get to the end of the level as fast as you can while spending as much time with your eyes closed.


Controls:
========================
Space bar: OPEN and CLOSE your eyes
Arrow keys: Move


Interface:
========================
Speaker Icon: Toggle all sounds
Music icon: Toggle Music


Tools Used
===============
- Construct 2
- Paint.net
- Audacity
- Freesound.org
- Art:
credit Scott Matott - http://www.indiedb.com/games/instant-dungeon
http://opengameart.org/content/instant-dungeon-v14-art-pack

- Music:

"Come Play with Me" Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com)
Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0
http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/

"Past the Edge" Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com)
Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0
http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#11Innovation(Jam)4.29
#15Mood(Jam)4.29
#47Overall(Jam)3.98
#72Fun(Jam)3.84
#133Theme(Jam)3.91
#465Humor(Jam)2.97

Comments

VividReality says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:24am

Really nice idea! I've never heard of closing your eyes as a game mechanic! (might be because I don't know any games in the horror genre). Good job!

pixzleone says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:26am

Very cool mechanic! I like it!

j_peeba says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:40am

A very moody game and I like the visuals (the LOS effect in particular) and the audio really enhances the mood! :)

While I have to admit it's cool as a concept, the core mechanic of closing the eyes doesn't really add to the overall fun of the game IMO. When the best tactic is memorizing the level and then wandering around blindly, the experience is more frustrating than it is rewarding.

RoryD says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:43am

I like the mechanic, and the execution is good. The fact that the camera sometimes pans means you can lose your sense of motion. I wonder if it would be more intuitive if the camera were on fixed screens? I definitely started the double-tap space peek. Good job!

Luke Nizik says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:45am

I was a confused by camera movement when my eyes was closed, but the game is a nice job in general. I would like to see something similar in 3d :)

Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:46am

Great game, but in the end it get's a bit boring just searchhing for keys and when you die the monsters just dissapear. But overall a great game.

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:49am

The simple art style really fits the gameplay and the theme interpretation is clever too. The audio track really adds the mood. This game is great!

Kyatric says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:23pm

I have to agree that the despawn/respawn mechanic takes away from the fear/mood.
On the other hand, it feels like some of the monsters are to be "defeated" that way.

Nice idea overall, well executed.

bror_charlie says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:32pm

Dammmmnn Dude that was great! A fresh idea, well implemented! A great atmosphere and intriguing story. Well done buddy!

Adreqi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:17pm

I liked the idea :) Cool game, cool graphics, cool audio, Well the only thing I didn't like so much was the ending x)

S0lll0s says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:10pm

Well-conveyed mood and nice music. Gameplay is rather innovative idea and well executed, a lot of fun to play too!

Frankly, i had a very similar mechanic for my LD#28 game: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-28/?action=preview&uid=28620

AtomicVikings says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:15pm

Really Really nice idea. Had fun to play it. Good job. Can you make a post combo version of that?

Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:17pm

Omg what a game, Has to be my favourite concept so far, Amazingly executed, huge difficulty level, and the audio, God what ride :)

Kep says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:32pm

I kinda stopped caring about dying when I realized that the monsters didn't respawn and I kept my keys, but I enjoyed it. Nice work.

rd127p77 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:51pm

The game is great overall but it is really hard to know where the doors are. Maybe when close your eyes the area where the doors are could be black. But overall Great Job!

guigrillo13 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:38am

I loved the light effect,may I ask what is the math behind it?

broknecho says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:43am

@All Thanks so much for the feedback!

@guigrillo13 I am using the built in lighting features of the Construct 2 engine: https://www.scirra.com/manual/178/shadow-light

guigrillo13 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:46am

Oh okay! Thanks man

RyanNielson says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:49am

Great game! I love the concept, graphics, and the mood. It all just goes really well together. Only thing is I found it too easy since you're completely invincible in the dark, maybe there's some other way to balance that. Nice job!

randoman says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:37pm

Very nice entry! Cool mechanics and the audio lights up the mood really nice.

Andrea says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:12pm

Seriously? Best game I played this Ludum Dare! Game mechanics, music... everything is a hit!
I just wish it was longer!

natalye says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:28pm

Very cool concept, and well executed. I liked how the area of vision is blocked by objects and changes with your position. Really fun!
It wasn't very clear to me which key I needed to get for which door, and I felt a bit like I was just going around collecting all the keys, without planning.

Crefossus says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:23pm

Mood was good (fitting music/sfx) and the mechanic worked very well. Maybe you could show the outline of the level while in eyes closed mode.

I liked how you reset the enemy velocity so you don't get jumped instantly. Maybe you could have different enemy types like ones that charge when they see you.

LukeZaz says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:41am

Very good game, introduces the mechanics excellently and in general very well polished.

Dreyan says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:50am

A truly unique and innovative mechanic executed perfectly. Great game.

popcorn897 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:41am

Super spooky! I love/hate the feeling of not being able to see the baddies. So much fear and suspense in the moment of opening your eyes. Way to capture that! Good Work!

rogueNoodle says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:56pm

Loved the mechanic - very original!

Dorgam says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:27pm

Very creative concept, I would like to see it polished and with more mechanics added. Maybe put some planket gameplay XD

psychonull says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 1:26am

Cool game. The music, sounds, the graphics and the mechanic are great. Good job!!

SpringCabal says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 12:32am

Game is innovative and fun to play.

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 12:35am

Exceptionally solid game mechanic that I really enjoyed. Very cool idea, and clever to boot.

I felt like the pits being real was kind of unfair. I'm like that. I totally like that the camera follows when you close your eyes, making it harder to make out your surroundings.

May 1, 2015 @ 5:09pm

Clever little game. Nice twist on the theme. Movement might be improved if you could slide around corners... but not sure. I definitely enjoyed it.

Xanjos says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 11:13pm

Pretty cool concept plus I loved the mood you've set.

May 6, 2015 @ 11:13am

Very innovative game. I really liked it. However, I was a bit surprised that flames also disappeared when I was closing my eyes. I'd though this was some kind of additional constraint for a room where closing my eyes wouldn't have any effect.

broknecho says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 7:01pm

@Mathieu Muller Yeah I had to decide on a few traps that stayed around and some that didn't. So the Pits stay around and the fire goes away when you close your eyes :)

radmars says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 2:02am

Awesome concept! I wish there was a bit more give and take on the camera movement so you could get your bearings more with your eyes closed, and the level design was a bit wandery later on, but otherwise really fun. Great work.

flummox3d says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 2:52pm

Very cool mechanic! I kept luring all the monsters to the holes and after that it was a bit more calm adventure :D Nice work :)

May 7, 2015 @ 3:49pm

Excellent idea for the theme, very well executed, my only complaint is as others have said, you tend to walk around double tapping space.

tmpxyz says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 10:51am

nice work, well polished

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]