Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Liquidmedia

by liquidmedia - Compo Entry

My compo game is a port of game with almost the same name but it’s not portal.

The game is short all 5 levels are passable, use the P key to view the menu at any time, and to restart any level from the menu.

I made the game using. Unity 5, Blender, Gimp, and Audiosauna

I have tested the game and it’s running on windows 7 and Mac OS Yosemite 10.10.1 fine.

I did a web version test on my computer it’s running, I still need to test on other web browsers and I have not tested it on any other operating systems.

The Web GL build will come later

This is my second Ludum Dare for me it’s about learning new programming skills,
I hope you enjoy the game.

Thanks to all.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2341Coolness14%

Comments

dyfer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:49am

lol

bentglasstube says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:42am

The mouse look didn't seem to work for me so I couldn't get very far.

fauge says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:51am

Maybe broaden your programming skills to other languages and engines like libgdx (java) or Duality (c#)

poland3 says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:45pm

it was quite glitchy props for going 3d on this

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 4:41am

It's a good example about a previous tutorial which is available on YT so as to create some portals. Don't give up and try to do something different. Not bad, but it could be better with more features. Thumbs up ++

rishal says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 1:20pm

I got confused while playing but it was enjoyable. Nice work with 3D!

FrozenCow says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 8:34pm

I liked that the bullets were physical objects. I was a bit confused by the doors that seemed to be flickering. Still fun to figure things out though! Thanks.

liquidmedia says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 2:11pm

The bullets are physical, I have found the problem with the door, it is the trigger with the player and the box conflicting, both go in and one comes out it starts flickering, I need to add code (check if) to fix it.

liquidmedia says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 2:20pm

The project was for me to learn how to do (something) I spent many hours on the Unity Docs web pages looking at function I had never used before. I am glad some people like it.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]