Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Dr. U and the bottomless PIT

by farwyler - Jam Entry

We humbly present our LD32 jam entry:

"Dr. U and the bottomless pit"
a game about a bottomless pit
and bats and a deadly umbrella

Try to fall as long as you can.
Use your umbrella to float and smack some bats.
Avoid the walls and traps.
Whistle along.

good night and we'll see you at the bottom....

------------- Controls -------------
W / Up = Pick up phone / Open umbrella
S / Down = Close umbrella
A / Left = Steer left
D / Right = Steer right
Space = Attack

------------- News -------------
2015.4.21 added web and osx builds.
2015.4.22 clarified instructions, so people get that they can use the space key. increased volume of tutorial voice. fixed spawning issues.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#38Audio(Jam)4.05
#54Graphics(Jam)4.43
#61Overall(Jam)3.94
#67Mood(Jam)3.93
#272Theme(Jam)3.70

Comments

Uruca Games says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:40pm

Great art. I Like very much! Congratulations

Drauthius says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:41pm

I really like your art, it's very nice! The game is fun too. ^^

MikkelLevisen says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:45am

Ha, that was awesome! Really nice art style

Squidtank says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:51am

Nice game! I like how simple it is. Some of the sounds were a bit loud but overall not bad. I love the music and art. The one thing I couldn't figure out was how to smack bats?

esayitch says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:51am

Very stylish entry and a good take on the theme... Is there a reason to not always stay with the umbrella activated though?

Great graphics, great audio, and great concept. Good luck!

Horsed says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:51am

Wow, that looks pretty polished and visually unique! The zoom effect is nice. You could add some screen shaking and blood or some other particles for smacking those bats. Solid mini game. Good job!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:53am

Loved the music :D Nice use of theme too :D

louis.denizet says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:57am

Really funny, great art and that would definitively make a good mobile game ^^ Becomes really hard quite fast btw :p

Diventurer says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:58am

Good job, mate! I really love the graphics. :D

zimmy87 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:58am

nice graphics and polish. simple, yet satisfying

Reis Mahnic says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:01am

Super fun and BEAUTIFUL

Saker Games says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:02am

Nice little challenging game. I like the art style and a the music. Good job!

Kardamom says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:06am

The game looks pretty and the audio is awesome and really helps the mood. The problem I saw was that very quickly, the speed of fall gets so high that I felt I am loosing control and my progress depends merely on luck and not on the actions I do. I also didn' figure out how to hurt the bats - your description implies that it is possible. Maybe improve the instructions?

Embalaje says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:18am

Nice graphs and music!
And an interesting gameplay, I like that you can controll the umbrella, you can have then your own strategy: Fast! sloooow, hit, slooow, fast!just falling
SCORE: 227M!

Bardikus says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:28am

I would rate the pixel art graphics 6/5 if I could. Really cool game with awesome mood :) 5/5 Overall from me

SteveSalmond says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:12am

Super cool, I really enjoyed this - the music, sfx and graphics are all excellent, as is the control feel. The phone call was a very nice touch. :D

ajopart says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:24pm

One of my favorite games

jhell says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:29pm

Loved the art and music (very very nice), not too fan of the gameplay, but it was well-executed. Very nice entry.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:59pm

Very simple game mechanics but very fun! Graphics and music are pretty and I love the little joke when you pick the phone. A charming little game =)

mike1101 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:31am

I love the intro ! So funny ...

A little bit fast ... Couldn't really see what was happening. And the swinging felt ... It felt like I didn't have control, really. I would just swing and swing and a couple of times the bats would get hit but then I would just die. Couldn't really get into the gameplay.

Love the music. Great mood - I love how silly it feels - It matches the fact the phone call intro and art !

Not a fan of your voice-over : such a great bit, him answering the phone on the branch. But the voice itself needs to be ... It just didn't fit, somehow. Like maybe instead of giving instructions it should be his boss or wife yelling at him ? In like a silly, unrecognisable voice ?

Really good stuff though :) Thanks. Made me laugh.

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:33am

It's cool to see you know your games strengths, nice art, a cool little background track - everything you need really!

Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:40am

I really like the art style and the gameplay itself is simple but fun

Chris Olsen says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:42am

Excellent little game this. Only critique would be to have a tiny bit of feedback on the hit of bats and possibly a more obvious indicator of the umbrella range. Nice work!

Split82 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:46am

Awesome art and audio. A little too hard to control, but a lot of fun anyway :)

lebrokholic says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:23am

So, cute graphics! You have a talent, frankly speaking. And a taste, ofc ;D

BroCade says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:42pm

Gorgeous art, awesome music and i love the tutorial "phone". Great job guys!

kaa says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:45pm

Very nice! Best graphics and good sound

local minimum says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:19pm

Most things great about this one. It was a bit hard to play with one hand (my cat had claimed the other). Music was extremely well made and most details of the game taken very nice care of. The phone intro to mechanics was a nice touch too. I wonder if the game could have been restricted to three buttons though (might have been my one-handed playing thinking), but to just have left and right and action and that action would cycle between umbrella fold out and smash-collaps to free fall. It could be worth a try at least. Great game. Hope you had as fun making it as I had playing.

Miltage says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:46pm

How does a doctor even end up in such a predicament? Nice entry, everything works together quite well.

Robber says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:19pm

hello..thank you for this cute game

Jasonsumm says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:27pm

Great mood and feel, awesome art! Love it ^_^

Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:28pm

Great art/mood. I like that you can fall slow or attack, but you can't have both at the same time.

Also the phone ring instructions were a nice touch.

markusfisch says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:47pm

Wow! What a lovely game! Great graphics, great music and it's really fun to play too! Got to play this again now.

daredevildave says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:12pm

Great audio, great looking. Nicely polished. Great overall. Very nice work. Really love the phone intro!

PixelMind says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:28pm

Lovely game. Great job :)

Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:51pm

My best score was 113, I thought the game was pretty polished and was a pretty clever concept... but I didn't stay interested in it very long after feeling like it was endless.

The umbrella mechanic seemed pretty unique. I liked that you sometimes have to balance the choice between an aggressive attack at the cost of your safety. Quick little note though, it took me a second to realize I could press up to open the umbrella back up. I'm not sure if that instruction was on the phone, but for some reason I missed it the first time around. Thankfully, it was intuitive enough to figure out and it wasn't frustrating or anything.

The art was really very well done, it has a great style to it. The music and sound generally compliments it.

A couple of things could have improved it I think. Having a proper death animation would have been nice. When he dies you just lose control over him and it feels kind of disconnected. Being able to see that he's "dead" would be a good visual indicator for that loss of control, and connect the two together a bit easier.

Also I noticed that when you first fall off the tree, if you just move in the right direction instantly it sort of appears like he should be able to safely land of the side. That could have been a neat kind of easter egg to have been able to actually land over there safely haha.

I grew tired of it fairly quickly after playing for a bit, but what you have in is solid. The endless pit impression turned me off from it a bit, as I really don't care much about getting high scores. And I got a grasp of the mechanics quickly so the pure reward of learning the game was over fast.

Overall pretty good. It's a nice little game that has an interesting mechanic, but the overall gameplay ends up feeling a bit "by the book"... because the same structure has been seen before in many many other games. So while good, it doesn't feel like it's doing anything terribly new.

BIZM says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:55pm

This made me realize how much I don't actually want to fall down a cave full of bats. Good work!

benmcnelly says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:38am

This is like the personification of what a game jam can be, nothing to say but awesome game!

Lynx says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:44am

Very whimsical game! It's great to see a whimsical game for once in all the super action stuff. I love the intro being the telephone call too! Great work, very polished!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:02am

clever game - nice graphics and great idea for the theme

phi6 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:47am

I love the intro, the music, voiceovers, graphics everything! Such a charming little game!

rnlf says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:28pm

Such a funny idea! I like the way you did the tutorial! The game itself looks good and is fun to play. Good job!

sararyCow says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:28pm

Very nice idea and good gameplay! Everything is so well put in place! Love your game

SledKnight says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:04am

Wonderful art. Responsive controls. Simple but fun gameplay. Excellent audio. Solid. Nice job!

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:41pm

Really cool game ! The art style is nice, the music is very enjoyable and the controls are pretty good although the hitboxes can be pretty bitchy :x But definitely one of my favorite games for this Ludum Dare !

marinalucio says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 7:34am

Oh...this is such a cute little game. The graphics are really cool looking. I love the dangling legs in the beginning of the game. I think the only complaint i have (not really a complaint though) is that the music doesn't fit the game in my opinion. Really nice entry. Keep up the good work! :)

sebasRez says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 5:54pm

Pretty cool, the art is fantastic. The game is very quick and may become quite unfair at points because it is either too fast or too slow so a middle ground would be good. I liked the phone call.

coderitual says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 6:58pm

This is just crazy man! The idea with phone calling is tremendous. Game itself is also very fun. You definitely made good use of time.

DKoding says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 10:06pm

Good stuff! A good fit for the deeper and deeper theme... oh wait...

grillaface says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 1:43am

This is great! I wish there was a score modifier for how many bats you kill - it's so satisfying to smash them! The swoosh mechanic feels really good... A bit more polish and I think this'd do very well on mobile. Bravo!

jushii says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 5:21am

Graphics are lovely and the difficulty level feels just right for me! :)

Apr 28, 2015 @ 9:37pm

Mood. Fantastic game. Would have rated high on humour, too, if it were an option. :)

Apr 29, 2015 @ 8:54am

Great game. Nice art style. I like the umbrella mechanic.

GarethIW says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 9:57am

Lovely, lovely art and sound. The intro was funny :D I wondered what I was doing wrong until I figured out that up re-opened the umbrella. All made sense after that and made for an interesting gameplay dynamic.

jk5000 says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 5:12pm

The music in this game is amazing. Well done.

The-Force says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 9:11pm

Nice overall. The start screen kinda reminds me of Monkey Island 2.

hbocao says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 10:08pm

Beautiful art and awesome music. The gameplay is simple but very engaging. Overall, you did a great work!

MrShoestore says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 1:22am

the art!!! love this, and all the little touches.

TheCams says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 9:26am

Love the art and the concept is cool. A bit hard tho

May 3, 2015 @ 3:46pm

I tryed and I loved it. The art makes the difference!

May 3, 2015 @ 7:47pm

Yes! Very polished, would make a great mobile game. My favorite feature was pressing up to pick up the phone for the instructions.

The music surprised me, as it contrasted with the art style.

The controls are nice, and the umbrella functioning as both attack and defense is brilliant.

Add in some progression (more enemies, obstacles, etc.) and a bit more polish, and you'd have a marketable mobile game.

lochmann-apps says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 9:47am

Wow, this is a full game. Seems like it is really finished. Enjoyed playing it! Excellent work!

Krunoslav says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 10:40pm

Nice design and music. Fun and hard game.

puppetmaster says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 11:08pm

Very cool mood. Love the graphics style and the funny animations.
Very, well done!! congraz!!

May 5, 2015 @ 3:11am

Super fun. Not a whole lot of depth (pun not intended), but a really cool idea and implemented really well. Love the music and the graphics and the intro phone call. I'll definitely be recommending this one.

filipe.silva says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 3:22am

a lot of fun. I just think it could have some animation showing that the character loses life. Other than that the game was very good. Fun, well designed and well developed. Great work. Congratulations

Fabraz says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 1:52pm

Very good take on the endless runner. A endless faller! Endearing art too.

May 6, 2015 @ 10:56am

Great game and really cool graphics! It would be a perfect fit for a mobile game.

Ideas to improve the game:
- Power ups (lives, bigger umbrella?)
- Ascending / Descending winds

greytram says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 3:44pm

One of the best games I've seen so far! Simple but fantastic! Art is great. Well done!

elefantopia says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 3:08am

Very fun game! Nice clean graphics and smooth controls. thanks!

KaiseanGames says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 12:20pm

Well done! The gameplay is really nice.

CliffracerX says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 3:41pm

10/10 would fall for eternity again.

In all seriousness though, this is really fun. The graphics are brilliant, although the anti-aliasing on the umbrella looked a bit odd.

Where'd you find the awesome wind and thunder sounds, out of curiosity?

sputnik says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 5:32pm

You could have added humour in the rating! I would have added a couple of stars there too! Good work, everything works perfectly together!

May 7, 2015 @ 5:36pm

Wow, I think this is the most finished game I have seen this LD! I'm in love with the theme, art style, animation and soundtrack! Everything is perfect, congratulations!
I'd only make the initial velocity when the player opens the umbrella a little faster, it's a bit tedious waiting to gain momentum to continue the game. Aside that, I have nothing to criticize! For me, you "won" this LD! :D

strong99 says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 8:37am

I adore the art style

23 says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 4:00pm

Cool! What you've got is very polished and nice. Maybe add some pickups for a little more variety and you've got a really solid game!

Mechamew says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 7:03pm

YOU GET ALL THE STARS!

Honestly the most solid LD32 game I have played so far. Perfectly scoped, such a simple design, but wonderfully executed and polished.

Great job! I hope to see this being one of the top rated entries of this jam!

dunin says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 7:08pm

simple, fun and beautiful game!

leffe108 says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 8:54pm

Interesting game that took a few tries to figure out how new tactics in how to deal with the bats and spikes. Should one fall quick or go slow. etc. Great with some exploration to figure things out.

pikkpoiss says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 10:49pm

The core gameplay mechanic is simple, but really satisfying. The graphics and music make a great experience.

yuigoto says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 4:33am

Hahahaha whoa! This is fun, loved the art! And the music it's perfect!

"Hello there" XD

Interface says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 2:44pm

Overall a well made game. Nice gfx, great music. Simple put nice gameplay, fits the theme well. Great job.

jcsirron says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 3:46pm

...Wow, this game is basically done. Great work!

May 9, 2015 @ 9:47pm

Very cool game, very slick. Excellent art and sound. Game is simple but well executed. I like the risk/reward aspect where you can attack but you fall faster until you put your umbrella back up. Seems like it would be a candidate for a good mobile game. Cool stuff!

mathmadlen says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 1:11am

Fun, very fluid, great art and music, this game really makes an impression!

CptDustmite says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 2:21am

Pretty fun, awesome graphics, good audio although the phone call at the start explaining the controls broke the immersion a little bit. Great job!

thaaks says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 1:11pm

Wonderful game! I love the graphics and the background music! The sound effects (wind, bats) are also very good.
Nice interpretation of a well known mechanic and fun to play!
Very well done!

uber says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 1:30pm

Very well done, one of the best entries I have seen.

chromebookbob says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 5:06pm

Best graphics so far, really nice animations.

vortex says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 6:04pm

I can see this game doing well on mobile...
Great work, love the art style

wademcgillis says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 7:19pm

this is so good

sorlok says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 2:12am

Love it --perfect! Wish there was a *little* more "fwoosh" when you open the umbrella, but that's my only tiny grievance. Love the audio, love the unique mechanic, love the implied back-story. Great job!

duck says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 10:39am

Great art and sound, and fun to play. I like it :)

OddballDave says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 11:46am

Great entry. Fun to play. Good stuff.

pixzleone says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 12:15pm

Neat game, awesome art! Keep it up!

ilikescifi says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 12:17pm

OMG. The art style is fantastic!

01101101 says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 12:23pm

Yay ! One of my favourite game of ld32 in terms of feelings !

taviandir says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 12:40pm

I liked the phone call, really made it sound like one! Good job on both audio and graphics.

Menesetsu says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 3:16pm

Good mix of sounds and visuals!

PaulJs says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 4:57pm

Amazing, good job !

May 11, 2015 @ 6:40pm

<3 THANK YOU ALL for your awesome comments <3

longshorts says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 6:47pm

Gorgeous, and love the music. A real gem of a game.

Plustech says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 6:54pm

haha really nice entry, loved the color palette. Simple mechanic, fun game, you can totally port this for smartphones. Kudos.

Mossy Frog says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 10:34pm

Absalutley flawless entry. I loved everything about it. Dr. U for 1st place!

Modoc73 says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 11:24pm

Love the art style. Good job!

jackrugile says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 12:57am

Man, this is SO good! I got 157m, I need some practice, heh. It's super satisfying when you get in the groove and get the timing right when kill bats. The whole mood of the game is super polished as well.

My only complaint is the dead/invulnerable duration. I wish it lasted a little longer. I kept on getting hit by spike, then regaining mortality, then dying on the same spike again.

This is exactly the kind of thing I love to see out of an LD game. Keep it up!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]