Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Glatto Boy

by hellforge - Jam Entry

Glatto boy is a game about a boy and his alien arm Glatto. Glatto can eat a lot. And he can transform him self into usefull things like a rocket luncher or a flappybird.

Glatto and the boy dont know each other or anything about the world they are stranded on. They can't communicate with each other but its seems they like each other.

So its about you, the player to help them to find out whats out there.


//CONTROLS//

MOVE: W,A,S,D or Arrows UP, Down, Left and Right
LEECH: K
SHOOT after leech: K
JUMP: J
FLAP: J
ROCKETJUMP: S or Arrows Down + Shoot (K)

RESET: R

-----------------------------------------------------------------------

We recommend the latest versions of Firefox and Chrome to play Glatto Boy!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------
///////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
//POST LUDUM VERSION COMING! //
//A much smoother and polished version of Glatto Boy is coming! //
///////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

Find out more about Hellforge and future projects on www.hellforge.co

Tools used:

UNITY3D
Photoshop
Pyxeledit
Sublime3
Visual Studio

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#151Graphics(Jam)4.08
#204Audio(Jam)3.44
#206Theme(Jam)3.79
#313Overall(Jam)3.45
#316Mood(Jam)3.34
#421Fun(Jam)3.19
#561Innovation(Jam)3.03
#838Humor(Jam)2.16

Comments

hellforge says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:49am

We have some problems with our build! stay tuned coming soon!

hellforge says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:08am

Please use the Web and Links Buttons - there is an issue with the iframe :/ - we are working on it.

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:08am

Loved the art, especially the textured feel of the environment - rocks and trees and such. Animation of the character is also top-notch.

The music felt somehow slightly out of place to me - it's a little too techno drum heavy or something -- can't quite put my finger on it, but it doesn't quite match the dreamier feeling of the environments. It's fantastically done for what it is, however.

The main character's power is kind of kirby-ish, but the rocket jump is interesting; would like to see more when you get some of the bugs ironed out. There was a spot where I fell through the map, for instance, right after the part where you do the glide jump the first time.

Supernovadx says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:23am

Unfortunately I'm stuck on the initial loading screen.

pi_pi3 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:23am

At first I thought it's a Kirby rip-off, but than I got to the rocket jumping part. So... Kirby + TF2 = this? Even though it's not very innovational, it's fun to play. Sadly I got stuck after a failed rocket jump (no Fwoks), so I can only rate the game until the first rocket jump. I think you should work further on this game and release it some day.

hellforge says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:24am

Hey wg_phancock thank you very mutch for your feedback and for the bugreport. We will go for that one.

hellforge says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:26am

pi_pi3 - we already know that, its a major bug we want to fix asap so that you can smoothly go through the level!

hellforge says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:28am

Supernovadx please try the latest versions of chrome or firefox! The html5 export of Unity is tricky sometimes. Maybe you should wait a moment or two because of loading times. Thanks for your comment! If there is any problem, let us know!

pixzleone says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:00am

Awesome artstyle and music!

hellforge says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:09am

Thank you for your kind words pixzleone! We appreciate it!

benjamck says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:21am

Kafka meets Kirby? Fun idea, love the art and mood too. The music seemed too upbeat for the setting though. The gameplay was clever, but I ran out of "fuel" mobs, so I couldn't get very far. It sounds like you guys are addressing that for future builds. All in all good work, I wish you guys the best of luck going forward!

hellforge says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:33am

Hey benjamck, thanks for your kind words! Best of luck for you as well! Take care!

lanza says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:38am

Very cool art style and music! The mood is awesome too.

sentendo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:45am

doesn't work for me :(
seems really cool

hellforge says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:48am

Thats not cool sentendo! Have you tried the latest google chrome or firefox browser? We hope you can try the game soon!

Frenchie says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:07am

I'm also stuck at the loading screen (tried Firefox & Chrome). The HTML5 build with Unity sucks right now. I would also add a web player build for those of us who don't mind. I'll check back tomorrow!

TyrusPeace says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:14am

Great mood and music :).

I unfortunately got stuck (as you noted in the description!) by failing a rocket jump and not having another enemy to launch afterward.

I squealed with glee when I did the first "flap your arms to glide" j j j j jump, though. Nicely done! This game is gorgeous and the green fella hanging off your shoulder is pretty strange and cool.

dix says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:16am

I love the art and the music! They're awesome! I get stuck at second level at the JJJ, can't jump over :c

hellforge says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:17am

Thanks for your kind words and feedback! Its almost done!

Madball says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:42pm

I completed the game, and some things weren't smooth enough. Controls, for example. You could easily find your boots inside a moving platform. Also, by the very end, I glided too far and found myself on a rock that didn't count as a walkable platform.

I couldn't play from the WebGL link, it said "uncaught exception: out of memory"

Overall, I liked the game a lot, but it needs more polishing. Also, which arm is Glatto? Left or right?

hellforge says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:58pm

Hi Madball! Thanks for your honest feedback, you are totally right! That are the points we also not so happy with and we work on an improved and polished post-ludum version!

guigrillo13 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:35pm

I really like the game and the graphics :P
nice job man

SadSmile says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:42pm

Awsome! Yet another LD-Entry that i would buy if it would be expanded :)

TeamCalcium says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:44pm

I really like the idea with the "weapon"-hand.
The combinations to use it are fantastic!

eddynardo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:44pm

Nice game, maybe add some delay on the enemy spawners and a an animation 1 second before they spawn

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:50pm

Couldn't get passed to the third checkpoint after the cliff! But cool graphics and music!

Jared Sartin says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:55pm

Awesome work!!

Taldius says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:56pm

Nice game, it reminds me of Klonoa, the graphics and the music are good. It get pretty difficult after a certain point because of the lack of checkpoint.
Anyway, great job overall!

Tuism says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:01pm

Great graphics, decent concept (a bit derivative of Kirby but hey what's really original?), but I don't know whether it's the Unity player build that's terrible or something else.

There's a constant stutter which I tried to ignore.

Then the main mechanic of "eating" an enemy is confusing - I'm not sure when I ate something, and not sure when I haven't. When I throw something out, sometimes it appears behind me... or in front of me, whatever. Is it respawning? Surely it needs to do that when it's off screen?

Level design wise, the first backtrack from the purple wall is terrible.

It's a really pretty game, but I suspect you have suffered the same problem I did - too many "necessary" systems in concept leading to none of them being properly tweaked and finished and tested, which is a shame.

Oh and shouldn't it be "Glutto" instead of "Glatto"?

BubuIIC says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:07pm

Very nice work. The design is very cool. Sadly I don't get how to get past the J-Button-Tower. Probably the double jump does not work.

hellforge says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:11pm

Thanks for the feedback! Yea we talked a lot about to name but its a little alien person that stands for it self so we went for Glatto instead of Glutto :D

hellforge says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:13pm

You have to press J more often to Flap around :) @BubuIIC

RyanNielson says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:38pm

Pretty solid game with some nice graphics. I really like the idea of consuming enemies to do different attacks. You should add an indicator to show whether or not you have consumed an enemy, so you can easily tell if you can shoot or not. I had a few glitches falling through the ground and platforms, but nothing game breaking.

Good work!

broknecho says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:59pm

Really nice style here. Mood is fantastic too. Great start here.

Park says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:13pm

Very interesting, I agree that some systems need to be smoothed out. The enemies spawning immediately without a warning animation or an identifiable "spawn point" sprite causes many inconveniences (the number of times I died by an enemy spawning on my head after I sucked one up is a little embarrassing).

Controls for gliding are a bit awkward since it seems impossible to do on flat ground, not sure if that might be a frames related thing, but I could only glide by jumping from a decent height and mashing J. The input key graphics were nice hints, some visual to represent the desired action would also be helpful polish (I wasn't sure at first what JJJJ would equate to when I didn't do it successfully; a charged jump, a double jump?).

Well, those things aside, I still spent a good time in the game, the art, music, and mood are all quite pleasing, and Glatto is a very cute companion. The world engaged my curiosity. With more polish and user-experience design I think many people would enjoy this game! Good work! ヾ(^∇^

dyfer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:23pm

super impressive game. Art and music are greats but I got some problems to flap ...

hellforge says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:49pm

Thank you very mutch for your honest Feedback guys! We are aware of the isusses and we are working on a much more polished and smooth post ludum version right now! Take care!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:31pm

Looks absolutely bloody lovely! The mood and atmosphere with the music is top notch and very well done. The gameplay is pretty solid too, even those it's not overly innovative it's still great! One of my favourite games on 'ere!

generic_ghost says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:36pm

Wow! Great job. Reminds me of Kirby a little bit.

pikmin4000 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:48pm

made me feel relaxed and cool with blue tones in the color scheme. You should work on making certain sections easier in the platforming, it felt frustrating at times which doesn't go well with the mood

gruhn says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:03pm

Great art. I saw the posting of the character during the Ludum Dare, somewhere, and thought "that's a fun idea."

scorched says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:09pm

Another Kirby-like game) Good graphics

Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:23pm

Great art and sound!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:05pm

Nice entry, but there is some problems which can be solved very easily. One - I didn't understand that these letters which have been written on first screen was here as a tutorial. It's not clear. Two (but not the least) when the player changes its direction, the weapon disappears. It's really annoying. You can do something so as to allow a keep active way. Though it's a good entry with an interesting mood, it can be improved. I loved ++

AlexDJones says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:41pm

Platforming was a little frustrating, but apart from that it was an interesting and fun game. Really loved the visuals as well.

GarethIW says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:57pm

Really enjoyed the art, mood and the interesting weapon idea. Got stuck at the second gate and frustrated with a checkpoint that was a fair way back.

Azurency says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:57pm

Impressive graphics and mood! It's a nice game, good job

MrShoestore says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 1:14am

a little frustrating with platforming,but it is a beautiful looking game. I do keep thinking it says "Gelato Boy". which makes me want gelato...

Apr 27, 2015 @ 2:14pm

Nice game. Liked the way the character is standing behind the wall at the title screen, thought that was pretty clever. The instructional letter blocks were also useful and nicely designed so they weren't in your face. The rocket jump was a nice move. Did feel like the music was a bit disattached from the game though.

jmborden says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 2:42am

Really nice world, I especially like the checkpoints. The weapon was "Kirbyesque". I had a problem where sometimes when I would land on the platforms, I would get stuck in the middle of one. I had to jump to get back on the surface. This really screwed the timing for moving platform jumps and made the platforms near the Saturn more frustrating than they should have been. Simple music went well with the game. I really wanted to give this game higher ratings but just couldn't give 5/5's due to the poor controls.

May 3, 2015 @ 11:59am

I really like the art style and music, all in all it's a pretty polished game! My character disappeared after I failed to do the rocket jump tutorial, though.

When I read your game description, I first thought that you worked on this game (or at least the concept) before since it says "Ludum Dare edition".

Saker Games says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 6:09am

Beautiful art and good music. Very good game. One thing I could barely get used to is the controls. Otherwise it's one of the best games out here. :D

May 4, 2015 @ 12:20pm

The character sprite disappeared after a rocket jump. Anyway, the art is really good and the chosen music fits very well, too. Nice work!

chabuduo says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 2:19pm

Wow amazing work!It would be nice to have to sound effects on the leeching and shooting, hitting stuff.
Hope you guys polish it further!

KaiseanGames says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 12:13pm

Very good game. Jumping on platforms needs to be tweaked a little, but it's great anyway!

Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]