Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Farmer Boy

by FerraWare - Compo Entry

Made with HaxeFlixel for the Compo of LD32.

Move with WASD.
Buy plants, plant them, water them, and level them up to defend against Demons.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#320Theme3.63
#406Graphics3.29
#570Overall3.16
#575Humor2.67
#582Audio2.63
#621Fun2.96
#641Mood2.83
#861Innovation2.63
#1713Coolness39%

Comments

Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:19am

Interesting but a lack of a tutorial made the game a bit confusing at forst. well done with the art style and mood. :)

ZQMony says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:20am

Nice job on the game. Moving the camera with the mouse can be a little tricky though.

OccamsRazor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:49am

Definitely interesting, liked the graphics too! Controls were a little wonky, but I got the hang of it in the end :P

sharpcoder says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:50am

Great idea! It took me a while to understand what was going on, but when the point of the game clicked I quite enjoyed it. Clever use of the theme!

aroymart says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:51am

I absolutely love your art style! and games like these are fun, I'm glad you could make it work well with the theme

Move127 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:51am

The pixel art is nice. The music was a little annoying.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:58am

Fun game, quite hard at first. Music is a litle annoying.

ehtd says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:59am

I like how it is like a plants vs zombies demake

iSamurai says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:59am

Good job, finishing a strategy game in 48 hours is not easy! It reminds me of Plant VS Zombies.

Flygamer101 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:35am

A lot like Plants vs Zombies, a great game, but lacked intructions or tutorials.

Jaloko says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:42am

The menu option animations were cool. I personally liked the game Plant vs Zombies and your game is a great remake of it. I had one very minor issue which was that sometimes I lost track of where the player was. This was because you can move the camera with the cursor as well as the A and D keys. A button or key to instantly move the camera to the player would have helped in these instances. Overall though solid job for a compo entry.

cdgugler says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:00am

Cool idea. It was really difficult until I got the hang of it. I like the erie minimal music.

Pugzarella says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:05am

best game ever, waiting for goty. pug.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:27am

I like the idea, and you've definitely done some good work in 48 hours! Unfortunately, there seems to be a bit of inconsistancy with what hurts what that makes the game a bit of a pain to get started, but I'm sure you could make something great out of this!

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:34am

I was confused for a while since I didn't realize I could walk through the shop on the left, couldn't tell if I needed to water plants more than once, and couldn't tell if the starting spike plant was actually hurting enemies. Sometimes they just seemed to walk through it? Once one of the first enemies seemed to eat the spike plant too.

Feedback when upgrading would be nice too, so you know that you've done it.

I only ever got to wave 5 or so. Having a way to heal plants, or some sort of backup if enemies got through, would be nice. As it is, it's very frustrating, especially since the plants seemed a bit random with whether they damaged.

With the slow player and camera movement speed, having a longer pause (maybe even infinite until the player presses a key) between waves would be really nice so you can spend money.

wademcgillis says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 6:43pm

weird!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]