Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Charge Negative

by Leaghorn - Compo Entry

Unconventional weapon, huh?

So if weapons are for killing/hurting the enemy, an unconventional weapon might HEAL him.

HOW TO PLAY:

- Orange Orb shoots Orange bullets, and they hurt him, but they HEAL the enemy
- Same goes for Blue Orb

- Orange Orb has to catch blue bullets to survive and avoid orange (his) bullets
- Same goes for Blue Orb

- if the Orbs get to close to each other they'll get sucked into another by forcefield
- escape forcefield ASAP, as it is killing all bulets (good or bad) in sight and kills Orbs faster


Whoever survives the longest, wins!

Enjoy!


CONTROLS:

[F] - Full Screen

Player vs Player
> 1st player - WSAD
> 2nd player - Arrows

Player vs CPU
> 1st player - WSAD or Arrows


Software used:
Unity, PSP, Gimp, Blender


worktime - ~25 hours



//The title is inspired by the title of the movie from Seinfield - Prognosis Negative :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#64Graphics4.16
#160Innovation3.73
#305Overall3.45
#389Theme3.53
#442Mood3.06
#560Fun3.04
#863Humor2.07

Comments

mtanton says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:05am

Very nice concept. Looks really nice and was fun to play. Good job!

Lynx says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:12am

The graphics are gorgeous! Little much to take in at first, kept getting confused on which are projectiles and why I'm getting tethered to everything, but great work regardless of my ignorance!

ChronoDK says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:01am

Great idea, and very pretty graphics!

Leaghorn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:08pm

@Lynx I edited the description a little so maybe it's more clear what is going on and what to do ;)

PapyPilgrim says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:46pm

Super cool idea, and great packaging, but I feel like there is no real way to 'attack' the other player: It's just a surviving contest, and it's hard to avoid your own bullets because they sometime spawn just under your nose...

Leaghorn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:58pm

@PapyPilgrim yeah. It's a game of defense rather than offense. The bullets dont hurt you right away. There is a time gap when you release them so you can escape. Ofcourse sometimes you will got hit but so does the enemy ;)

Bastienre4 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:04pm

Awesome ! Graphics and the mood are both really good.

Madball says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:21pm

The game looks amazing! And the music fits well! The gameplay, however, seems to be straightforward and lacking strategy.
I enjoyed this game a lot, but mainly because of graphics.
I wish there was another way to tell how much health do you have, like orbs becoming smaller or dimmer.

Pawige says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:44pm

Nice work on the art! The gameplay is a little dull, but I like the concept anyway.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:27am

Very nice game, visuals are really cool, great job.

mortus says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:19pm

It looks great and it seems to be very fun but for some reason I just can't figure out how to play this effectively. I lose every single time. :D

Great work on the visuals!

Leaghorn says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:36pm

@mortus focus on catching blue particles. Bigger particles heals more so if there is a choice chose bigger. Dont worry about orange particles. I mean try to avoid bigger groups of them, but just focus on catching as many blue ones ;)

Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:42pm

Really pretty entry, well done. :)

JoshuaBurr says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:08pm

Very nice concept. Looks great too!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:53pm

A bit confuse in the begging, but really cool game! The graphics and mood are gorgeous. More power ups would be awesome :) Good job!

Drauthius says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:19pm

Nice entry, but I couldn't break the forcefield though! My friend and I tested a few times, but we both ended on 0 (or 0.01) points.

goblin says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:27pm

Interesting concept and idea. Good job!
Check ours too http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44367

Leaghorn says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:27pm

@Drauthius if there is no enough momentum to break out of the forcefield, move the oposite side to build the momentum and you will breake free ;)

musasabi333 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:18pm

Great job dude! Really enjoyed it.

Tselmek says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:33pm

Neat concept, very hard to master. Gorgeous graphics and kickass music and sounds. Good job!

coderitual says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:55pm

Hi! I like the concept too. As I said fantastic graphics style but a little boring gameplay. Still excellent work!

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:15pm

Great graphics and solid audio. It says on the game that the audio is by @qrchack? if that isn't you then this should really be a Jam instead of a Compo entry. Nice concept though.

Leaghorn says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:24pm

@DesignerNap there is no sounds and audio track is by @qrchack, thats why no rating in Audio category ;)

Apr 28, 2015 @ 1:15pm

Wow this is a very nice use of the theme! Looks great too, nice job. Unsure how I would expand the idea though.

lamogui says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 5:46pm

Amazing visual effects !

IDidGame says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 6:19pm

the visuals are nice and the concept is original, good job!
i would have like some way to release the bullets myself as to make it a little more tactical

KaiseanGames says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 6:25pm

Nice one. A bit too random. Not sure what's happening most of the time. And I had difficulties separating from the other orb. But all in all, it's a very nice game.

thaaks says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 6:52pm

Wonderful visuals! The game is fun to play but it's not sooo obvious why you win or lose at the end. Catching the bullets isn't this easy and given the "floating style" of movement it's tricky to get the bullets you need.

Overall a well done game!

eskivor says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 7:23pm

Really great FX !

elefantopia says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 7:36pm

Beautiful but the best way to play is to do nothing ...

oparisy says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 7:43pm

Once I read the nxtructions, this was definitely a very fun game to play! Some strange initial "dance" avoiding the other orb, always moving, and then a final "kill"... very original. Perhaps the screen is a little bit too shaky at times, and I would have liked to play fullscreen. The graphics and VFX are gorgeous! Nice music too, gives quite an atmosphere.

MonoS says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 7:59pm

Very cool graphics and effects, liked the gameplay but find it a bit chaotic, probably it's my fault.

Biliogadafr says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 8:33pm

Interesting. So the winner is the one who collects orbs more efficiently.:) Effects looks great. Also music fits visuals very well.

grillaface says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 9:08pm

Excellent presentation, wish I had someone to play against. Nice job.

SledKnight says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 10:22pm

Excellent entry! I played the CPU and barley won. lol Beautiful effects.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]