Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Souls of the Fallen

by Bsevers18 - Jam Entry

***Controls (Gamepad Suggested)***
-WASD (Left Thumbstick): Move the Character
-J (A Button): Jump, again to teleport
-K (X Button): Aim + Direction to shoot
-L (B Button): Channel to acquire pink soul.
-SPACE (Select) to SKIP TUTORIAL

Story:

An order of Cleansers have found and drafted your aid in purifying tainted souls. However, before giving aid you must become a Follower and trained in their fighting style.

As such The Sensible Sensei has taken you as apprentice and constructed a training regime for you to follow and today is the final day of training.

In a ruined shrine long since forgotten you approach the completion of your training.
_____________

First-time Ludum Dare Jam entry! :D

Code- @ThatAndrewMan
Art- @Bsevers18
Sounds- @Fat_Bard

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#37Graphics(Jam)4.52
#47Audio(Jam)3.98
#64Mood(Jam)3.94
#108Overall(Jam)3.80
#139Fun(Jam)3.65
#567Innovation(Jam)3.02
#806Theme(Jam)2.90

Comments

Mark T says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:31am

This game has a lot of potential, but it keeps crashing on me after a while. When I hit the boss ( which took a while ). The controls are really good, but the 1 shot death and long re-spawn is annoying. It would be nice to have at least a few hearts =) Also fullscreen would be awesome to really show off the art style. Good start.

ohsqueezy says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:32am

It took me way too long to get that last shot in! I enjoyed the challenge and the way you brought together a shmup and platformer. I could hardly use the wall jumping and teleporting to my advantage, though teleporting is an interesting mechanic for avoiding projectiles. Fun and challenging entry!

Pawige says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:36am

Awesome!! Loved it all. Great sound, art, music, gameplay. My only complaint is that the hit box on the player feels a little too unforgiving.

spreadtheflow says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:30am

An awesome game. Everything is good : graphics, animation, music, challenge ... The teleport mechanism is excellent.
My only complaints are the screen size ( your art are gorgeous! ) and the fact that you have to play the "tutorial" sequence again everytime you die.

Awesome job! There is potential for a full game.

ChronoDK says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:31am

Lovely graphics! I really like the teleport mechanic.

pi_pi3 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:37am

I like it. I lost pretty quickly though. But it is fun to play.

siryakko says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:43am

I loved it, just a bit too frustrating some time by it's mechanics. Really hardcore. Thanks for the game

pi_pi3 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:47am

Oops. Don't mind that one ^. I meant to comment that on another game. So here's my comment for this game. This game is too hard. It should have some sort of health bar, or a couple of hearts.

FractalFox says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:53am

Very addicting and challenging! Good controls, although an optional button layout could be handy! Both the music and the artwork blend nicely with the slick game-play. 1-shot death feels too harsh, maybe explore a life system? I can imagine a strong title emerging from this, well done!

Bitterdeath says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:57am

Love the art style and the double teleport is fun.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:39am

Amazing graphics and sound! LOVE the music so much! For these and fun you now have 5 stars - felt so satisfying finally killing that thing and seeing it's skull fall off haha

Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:57pm

Love the presentation, graphics and music are all great. As for gameplay, you have a good basic idea but its a bit frustrating to play. Deaths happen too quickly, and it takes too long to get back into the game when you do die. Being able to aim the souls in a non-orthogonal direction would have been good too. I really like the teleport though. Good stuff overall.

SaintHeiser says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:36pm

Good visuals but game to difficult and I can't understand how to play. Can't figure out the purpouse.

elefantopia says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:40pm

Love the art, sucks I'm too lazy to download it from my windows VM ;)

Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:50pm

Hm. I like the core mechanic here-- very Kirbyish, but a bit more fun. Being able to aim upwards made the fight a bit too easy (and I was a little upset I couldn't make a diagonal).

Also, minor beef: how come you can't press space twice to just skip to the boss?

phi6 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:31pm

Took me a good ten or so tries before I could beat the boss - but really enjoyed it. The controls are a little tricky at first as you can't dash before jumping but didn't take long to get used to. Been looking for good platformers to play since I made one myself, glad I stumbled onto this one. Good job!

commodoreKid says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:08pm

Great mechanics. Quite hard to get used to. Wish it was longer :)

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:54pm

Wow! great game, is has a super nice art, maybe it is too difficult or I am not to good playing :D

Great job.

Ludonaut says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:04pm

The movement and teleporting mechanic feel really good. Graphics and sound are great. You should work on a post-jam version!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:34pm

Nice entry. Fun, and graphics are all in a very consistent style which is so important, but the actual scene is also very interesting. Great job, guys.

acro says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:48pm

It takes a while to understand this and the 'tutorial' structure is easily missable (I somehow skipped it by accident the first time just trying to get past the title screen.
But the art is gorgeous - the animation is really beautiful, the cape, teleport, shoot etc, boss appearing. The music fits it so well.

I wonder if the non-apparentness of 'what to do' is deliberate? It does need the text explanations, but they're somehow not prominent enough as you don't naturally look at the top/bottom edges. But - having to figure out what to do by trial and error gives a lot of mileage on playing the game, while it sits there looking and sounding gorgeous.

HapaxStudios says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:21pm

good game, had fun, but as unconventional weapons go.. could seem like the weapon isn't unconventional to killing ghosts. otherwise its an awesome game and keep going with it!! :D

NoWandStudios says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:17am

Awesome game! Very nice graphics and sound. The dash mechanics are so cool and the boss reminds me of the old arcade games. Very nice work!

OadT says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:31am

Awesome! Great Graphics, Audio, Mood. The Controls feels good. It took me some time to beat it, but it was quite fun

rnlf says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:24pm

The art in this game is just amazing, visuals and audio! But it is so hard that after half an hour I was still unable to hit the enemy even once. Good game, just way to hard for me.

BIZM says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:21pm

Awesome game! Loved the art and the audio, and the mechanics were solid. 5 stars! But man, this game is hard! D:

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]