Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Sword in a mirror

by GameQuester - Compo Entry

Sword in a mirror is a game where you use a conventional weapon. But you have to think in a different way. Your sword will not work like you would expect it...

Controls Keyboard

Move: Arrow keys
Jump: Space
Use your sword: Shift
Restart level: Return
Quit Game: Escape



Controls (XBOX) Controller

Move: Analogue Stick or D-Pad
Jump: A
Use your sword: B
Restart level: Start
Quit Game: Select

#############################################################

Post Compo Version

What is new?

2 extra challenging new levels
Controls are less floaty and more precise
Sword mechanics feel better and are less buggy
Minor changes on the old levels for more fun
Improoved background graphics and particles
More sound effects and a new music track
Less bugs :)


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#165Fun3.62
#175Overall3.64
#214Graphics3.68
#240Innovation3.58
#321Mood3.21
#392Audio3.01
#412Theme3.51
#744Humor2.36

Comments

zeejfps says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:32am

I like it. Very smooth controls, using your sword as a help to navigate the level is a pretty cool concept. The graphics are also pretty neat looking. Good job!

PS. I only made it to like lvl 5. The one with two buttons.

nurabsal says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:34am

brutal

Somnium says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:39am

Versatile mechanic, with some nice twists :-)

Zayron says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:32pm

I like the concept and it is hard. I died a lot. :)

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:35pm

Interesting twist to a tricky little platformer.

Psyho says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:44pm

Nice twist with the sword and in general nice mechanics. Very consistent visual theme. Good gameplay, although the top part of last level was a little bit frustrating (playing on XBOX pad wasn't that easy). I like that you didn't do any filler levels and the game itself has a good length for LD.

My complaints goes to repetitive music (the quality is ok and again works well with your game). Also, when you're grabbing sword, you shouldn't stop movement - this slightly reduces dynamic.

Iak says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:58pm

Cool platformer. Very fun mechanic for the sword! Overall pretty solid, I like the rate at which it gets more complicated.

Sim00n says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:38pm

Very cool use of the theme. I liked the graphics and smooth movement but the music was a little bit annoying. Great job overall!

hercludes says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:40pm

Pretty good game, very nice graphics and the mechanics were very well done and tied in well with the sword. Made it to the end of the game and was content with everything, though if I had to give criticism I would say is the movement when picking up and dropping the sword is pretty stiff and I think limited the creativity you could have done with the levels.

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:32pm

Fun platformer

johanw123 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:30pm

Wow this is really cool. Nice puzzles and pacing on the level design. i liked it man

Ryumaru says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:35pm

Cool mechanic, I was a little annoyed by the lack of the up arrow key as a jump button as it seems much more natural to me; maybe that went to another mechanic later on, didn't get very far because of it. overall interesting idea presented well.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:40pm

The music is a little repetitive. The sword just disappears, if you press shift in front of a wall of while standing on an edge. The graphics are good. The platforming is okay. All in all a very good entry.

GameQuester says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:48pm

@Ryumaru Personal I think its more natuaral to jump with the other hand, like it is on a controller. But everybody has different preferences. I will add this option to the game.

@rectangular Tim Yeah, it dosen't disappear but you can't place it in this situations. I will make a different sound effect, that makes clear you can not stick the sword when you are in front of a wall/edge.

Pixel_Reaper says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:40pm

I'm terrible at this :P but well done!

Junber says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:43pm

Really cool use of the sword. Especially in the last level. Very fun. Sometimes your sword just wasnt shown though.

Deal With It says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:54pm

NICE GRAPHICS! I LOVE IT

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:03pm

Great controls, great challenge, great graphics, great level design. Great!

Robber says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:38pm

really nice mechanic with the sword!

block97 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:42pm

Cool game, like the concept of using the sword more defensively to progress through the levels.

FireCamp says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:44pm

Solid entry. Good use of the theme.

plams says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:32pm

Nice game! Good puzzles and level design!

Drauthius says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:37pm

Wow! Am I glad I stumbled upon this entry. Well done, twisting the theme to see if it would break. :)

novadream says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:46pm

Nice idea for a game mechanic. :)
Sometimes the sword would just disappear, but I could get it back by pressing shift a bunch.

Xanjos says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:27am

The platforming physics are probably a bit too unforgiving but I absolutely loved the concept (especially the recall mechanic) and the puzzle design was well thought out.

leddkire says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:33am

Other than the interesting mechanics and nice graphics, I felt like there was some good game design thrown in there. I liked it.

phi6 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:02am

Thank you for making this game! I really enjoyed the "sword" mechanic, didn't think it was going to add so much depth to the gameplay as it did! Platforming physics are pretty good too, variable height jumping, good input buffering, air control all there. I wish the horizontal moving platforms didn't make you bounce, although I suspect that was a technical limitation? Anyway, having made a platformer/Metroidvania type thing myself, I was on the lookout for other similar games so I could compare and study - and I'm really glad I found yours as I really love the clever mechanic! Top marks :) (And of course I played til the end)

Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:37am

Pretty cool platformer

StefanDJagers says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:13pm

1 word: epic!
I truly love the background texture btw! Definitely a great compo entry!! ;)

norwalnate13 says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:02pm

Very novel! I love using the sword as a puzzle element. I did find the platforming controls to be a little floaty, but that's just my preference. Great game.

Highsight says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 2:39am

Cool idea, but platforming was a bit too loose for my tastes. The least enjoyable level for me was the final level with the crushers, it was based too much around waiting.

I like your uses of the sword very much, you brought alot over versitility to a simple concept, well done.

Jasonsumm says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 11:09pm

awesome fun! Pretty clever :)

May 3, 2015 @ 3:08pm

Awesome mechanics and fun game

siryakko says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 8:38am

Hardcore and fun :)

Omiya Games says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 11:51pm

Very solid puzzle game, with tight controls and an engaging use of the companion cu- I mean the magical sword. The only polish I see necessary are those of presentation: more varied graphics, better feedback, better music, etc. Overall, I really enjoyed it. Very fun puzzle-platformer!

May 5, 2015 @ 5:09pm

Cool mechanic ;)

It works really well as a way to get around and solve the puzzles!

freaknarf says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 9:48am

Nice game ! I liked the gamefeel and juice as well as the gameplay ! It's original and smart :]
Visuals are well done too !! i was stuck somewhere,did'nt beat it for now but i may try again :)

pstudio says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 5:22pm

Interesting use of the sword and some good puzzle mechanics.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]