Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Antalis

by Damdoshi - Jam Entry

Antalis is a top-down action game.
We incarnate a robot prisoner wich suffered experiences from some mad doctors.
They cut off his arm in order to see how he will react, and something happened.
We do not know, but the two doors are now open, somebody destroyed them.
The prisoner took this opportunity to get away with his own arm as mace.

We have a complete backstory and a few cartoon, but we obviously run out of time before puting it inside the game, so it is pointless to talk more about it. xD

Stairs does not work yet... So you cannot win. You can still kick some blue ass.


Control is:
Arrow key to move
Right control to run
Escape to exit

Use your cursor with left mouse button
Change cursor with right mouse button
The red one is attack (kills but also stun doors)
The green one is analysis (useless because only 2-3 objets reacts)
The grey one is activate (open and close door with panels)

If a door close on you, you are dead. Same things for blue dudes. That was our first idead for unconventional weapon, but it was too hard to play!
There a few issue with the music too.

Team is:
Jason Brillante "Damdoshi" - Lead dev & graphics & music
Vadim Couteux Vitadello "Dinelo" - Level design
Fabrice Boissier "Metalman" - Additional dev and portability

Technology:
C++ with SFML

Update:
11 Mai:
Raytraced shadows
Introduction
Some Sound effects
*soon* a demo video


23 April:
"Victory", "GameOver" and space to restart added.
Music issue fixed
Next updates will be distributed using a link in the commentary instead of the links below in order to keep the original game unchanged.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#620Audio(Jam)2.21
#733Graphics(Jam)2.84
#869Mood(Jam)2.48
#894Humor(Jam)1.96
#919Overall(Jam)2.70
#962Innovation(Jam)2.17
#970Fun(Jam)2.32
#983Theme(Jam)2.32

Comments

metalman says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:58am

Finalement... on a réussi ! :)

ChaosCult says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:06am

Looks really really unfinished, which is a shame. Might be a good game if you had more time.

poohshoes says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:09am

I really liked the idea of the gun but I found that push and pull were never useful and I would always just cycle until I got a bullet.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:17am

I don't like how music just stops after some time, and I don't really know what's happening here, but it's enjoyable

Damdoshi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:19am

@pooshoes wrong window => http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=46136

AnEvilEmpire says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:19am

Pretty cool. Wish it had just a screen that said win and a way to reset when you die thrown in. I like your splash screen btw.

WebFreak001 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:57am

The graphics were amazing. I didnt seem to find anything. I went through each romm and killed everybody but then there was nothing left to do. But it was pretty nice

Junber says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:54pm

Good game. The music was nice too but stopped quite soon.

Sevauk says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:18pm

Nice work ! It would have been nice to have a better framerate though.

tummyache says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:49am

I thought it was good, I had a lot of trouble getting through it because the enemies would hit me nearly every time. There's not much of a window to get in and hit them. I could sneak up on them sometimes, which was really cool, but I ended up getting stuck of the terrain mostly and messing it up.

rudra says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:25am

Really liked the idea and the music, Good one !

Tanser says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:52pm

Nice one. The collision needs a bit of work though.

eemmbbeerr says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 3:10pm

I can't run it.

/home/zarandy/Downloads/antalis_linux/antalis: Symbol `_ZN2sf12RenderStates7DefaultE' has different size in shared object, consider re-linking
Segmentation fault (core dumped)

bace1000 says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 3:59pm

The player moved a bit slow but it was very unique :)

jakub.gemrot says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 7:24am

I like this one, got my adrenaline running on high, the music fits the game's theme.

Saker Games says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 8:26am

This game is nice, but a little bit hard. The enemies are so strong for me. Good mood.

L0N3 W0LF says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 12:47pm

Nice story, fun game here, great work :D

srakowski says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 11:07pm

Good start to a top down game :) Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]