Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Tic-Tac-Blow

by Bardikus - Compo Entry

Hello,

This is my second Ludum Dare. I didn't dedicate as much time as with my first entry a few months ago so I don't expect to be higher in Overall.

Engine: GameMaker
Art: GameMaker sprite editor + free version of PyxelEdit

Controls:
-left/right arrow keys = movement
-Z = jump
-X = place X or O
-R = restart

Goal:
Survive as long as possible by removing the bombs.
You remove the bombs by getting straight-3 lines of either X or O.
The little guy you play with places X and O in alternation on the square he is on.

Edit: I added .exe file. I am terribly sorry for putting people through the horrendous installer for the game. I had no idea GameMaker can also make standalone .exe files. I guess you learn something new everyday

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#244Innovation3.57
#728Theme3.14
#739Overall2.96
#832Fun2.71
#1305Coolness49%

Comments

ianburnette says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:31pm

Cool. Took me a bit to figure it out, but it's a clever design, and well implemented. :)

HolyBlackCat says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:00pm

A version without installer would be nice.

metalfist213 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:05pm

Nice game. It took me a while to get, but it's clever. Well done!

Mak says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:09pm

The game is quite fun and very clever, but some jumps are too small and difficult to execute, i would say level design is the main concern here.

ohai1 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:11pm

Didn't like the way character is moving - I think it should be oriented on finding the best way to make the lines, not trying to deal with terrain. Jump should be higher at least. The Concept is nice and I liked it overall though!

Asado says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:33pm

Callling the link "Web" is a bit misleading, but great game still.

ruerob says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:01am

It's a little difficult to get to the top squares, because sometimes I can't reach higher platforms. But I like the idea! a post compo version would be great!

asobi tech says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:51am

Nice variation on Tic Tac Toe, good job.

asobi tech says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:02am

I originally didn't think my graphics and audio was up to much so didn't turn them on for rating, but I've had good feedback so I've edited and turned them back on :D Thank you.

maunovaha says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:06am

This was pretty unique and entertaining entry. good job :)

simon.parzer says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:16am

Please no installer!
It's an innovative idea. I don't like the way the platforming is implemented. It is way too hard to get from bottom to top. By the time you reach the tile you need, the bombs are already exploding.
A first step would be to replace the double jump by a single high jump and make one way platforms.

Diventurer says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:31pm

Could be a bit more polished, but I really like the concept here!

elpaulo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:16pm

Great concept, totally in the theme. Improvements :
- Sound ! (obviously :-))
- Make jumps higher or change you level design a little bit. Some jumps are really hard, or impossible.
Great submission anyway !

sirikan says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:00am

Nice game :).

Psyho says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:17pm

There's a bug where if you put yourself on the edge of several squares, you'll put the same sign on all of them simultaneously.

The more important issue is that you can replace a sign in the same square. So the winning strategy is to only put X or O in all squares. You would just take a single path that goes through all 9 squares and put the X in each of them. If you can make the whole cycle faster than the timer for the bomb, it's impossible to loose.

syncxzoz says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:51pm

that was so cool...good idea!!

but a little hard to win...lol...

Tselmek says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 6:34pm

I would have prefered Up to jump, the controls would have been a bit more comfortable. The concept is really great, it has a lot of potential. With some feedbacks, sounds, stressful soundtrack and a big timer, it could be a very fun hardcore game. The sive of the window was a bit uncomfortable as I couldn't see a part of the bottom.

I really hope that you will develop the idea postcompo. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]