Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

GLOV3.1

by flummox3d - Compo Entry

My entry for Ludum Dare 32. My first entry ever. It's not going to change the world I'm certain. But I'm proud I managed to make it in time. :)

My unconventional weapon is a magic glove that turns blocks into targets.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#144Overall3.68
#182Innovation3.70
#201Fun3.54
#537Theme3.36
#641Mood2.83
#744Humor2.36

Comments

frondeus says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:24pm

Whoah! Simple, but really nice game! I spent more time on that than on every previous entry

flummox3d says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:47pm

Thank you frondeus :)

EwChap says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:28pm

Fun puzzle game. very clean, should be easy to expand if desired.

eXpl0it3r says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:37pm

I love puzzle games and this one has been very well done. Lots of different variations and some thinking involved.

flummox3d says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:06pm

Thank you guys :)

Fanttum says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:26am

Not my cup of tea, but maybe its cool ya know. Nice job.

Squeka says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:13am

I like the simple graphic and the game mechanism especially on manipulating the level's target to progress :).
(Sorry if you have read the same comment in NG, but I couldn't commment that time because I haven't submitted my game that time xD)

flummox3d says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:55am

Thanks Fanttum :)

flummox3d says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:56am

Thank you Squeka and no problem, at the very least you enforced the idea in me that you like it :D

Lyxilion says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:58am

Nice game.

flummox3d says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:03pm

Thank you :)

PinkIndian says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:49pm

Nice little puzzle game. Simplistic but still a lot of variability.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:06am

Ah, I thought it was a puzzlescript game when I first started playing :) very, very nice.

The visuals and sound are very basic of course, but you worked on the game where it counts... the interaction. Some very clever puzzles here and I can tell the sacrifice to the visuals and whatnot really allowed you to experiment a lot with the gameplay. You kept surprising me introducing new mechanics! And polished smart ones at that. One of the main ones that tripped me up at first was the blue horizontal line blocks semi-early on. Took me a while to get it and I didn't even understand what I did that worked until I thought about it for a second haha. Weirdly I don't remember that mechanic reappearing after that level now that I think about it...

I didn't beat the game, because honestly I'm exhausted and just keep promising myself I'll just rate/review one more game... but Ludum Dare continues to keep my sleep schedule screwed up haha.

Here's a screenshot of the level I made it to, I'm not sure how far in it is: http://imgur.com/zmRNLVp

Very nice entry, puzzles take time and a lot of thought to craft. You didn't have much time but you sure had your thought process down haha.

Oh, and I liked the text and instructions that pop up. Sometimes they can catch you off guard while mid-game, but they're smartly written, short and sweet, and were generally refreshing to see when they appeared.

The ONLY real negative thing I have to say about this game regarding the competition is that the tie-in to the theme was pretty weak. It's basically a justification for creating a clever re-imagining of Sokoban, but it is a bit of a stretch to be honest. A stretch I'm okay with though because the gameplay works so well haha.

flummox3d says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:48am

The blue horizontal line blocks puzzle were there for the "Don't let it fool you" text thing - it's exact purpose was to trip you up a bit :D And that's why I didn't use it again: it's just a one-off to throw you off :)

Only 3 levels remain after that one (or 2, because... well, I don't wanna spoil it :D).

And yeah, looking around at other entries, I realized I could have done a better job theme-wise. But this is my first Ludum Dare, if that counts as a valid excuse :D

Thank you for your feedback :)

Chris M says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:49pm

Good ending! Kinda wished you used a new colour palette to make it more of a surprise :)

I enjoyed a lot of this, although found it a little hodge-podgy; rather than develop one mechanic the gameplay continually shifts between mechanics. Nearer the end it builds up a rhythm, but I think we've made the same mistake in that our last levels are a lot of walking around without much real puzzling.

Still, there's a lot of fun ideas here, and a lot of fun I had :)

flummox3d says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:12pm

Thanks :) Glad you liked the ending :D

Junber says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:54pm

Very nice twist on sokoban. Good level design. The big levels may have been better with smaller tilesize rather than scrolling (puzzlescript normally uses the first method right?) but this wasnt too much of a problem either.

flummox3d says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:16pm

Thank you :) And yeah, maybe that would have been better, but I had to use the scrolling because of the nature of the last level and I don't think there's a method to change the zoom between levels - but I could be wrong.

Kevlanche says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:35pm

Liked it a lot! Excellent idea!

sprawl says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:38pm

Solid Puzzle Game. Really good job.
Lots of level and interesting gameplay with a lot of different elements.

flummox3d says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:45pm

Thank you guys :)

recursor says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 9:01pm

Very simple yet quite enjoyable to play. A nice take on the sokoban style.

flummox3d says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 9:24pm

Thank you recursor :)

Os_Reboot says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 1:39pm

Awesome game! Nice job on level design.

ProgramGamer says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 1:56pm

One of the best entries I've played so far! Solid mechanics, controls and levels, and the dialog between levels gives it a pretty neat humorist atmosphere! The only thing I can really complain about is the lack of music, but you didn't want to be rated on that front, so it's fine.

Yazara says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 2:00pm

really innovative and fun! well done :)

flummox3d says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 2:39pm

Thank you all for your kind words! :)

Kasmilus says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 10:15am

Amazing ideas, great game!

flummox3d says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 10:53am

Thank you Kasmilus :)

jmborden says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 7:25pm

What an interesting take on Sokoban. Normally a game which lets you shoot would be not be considered to be using an unconventional weapon... however in sokoban it is! Especially the way you pulled it off.

SamH says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 10:01am

I finished the game. Excellent level design. Congrats on the way you introduce the new mechanics progressively.

flummox3d says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 8:33pm

Thank you guys! :)

ChronoDK says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 6:37am

Very clever mechanics. I like it.

flummox3d says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 8:11am

Thank you :)

May 4, 2015 @ 11:44am

Simple but very well-thought-out. I enjoyed playing through the levels. Very good job! Especially for a first entry!

flummox3d says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 12:19pm

Thank you very much! :)

spin-down says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 12:41pm

Enjoyable puzzler. I liked the way most levels introduced some new twist. The level designs were also very well done.

Demy says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 5:33pm

Awesome puzzle!

flummox3d says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 5:35pm

Thank you spin-down and Demy! :)

KaiseanGames says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 5:57pm

Nice sokoban tweaking... :) It was mind-boggling.

flummox3d says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 6:13pm

Thank you :)

OadT says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 10:45am

Great first entry! The mechanics makes a lot of fun, also the end was funny

flummox3d says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 11:23am

Glad you liked it :) Thanks :)

DesignerNap says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 11:04am

Excellent Design - V Impressed. Great work

flummox3d says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 5:50pm

Thank you! :)

Pixel Heart says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 11:31pm

A very good job! :)

nihilaleph says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 11:55pm

That was awesome! Great game! Very interesting concept, some more work on level design (due the limited time it was great, but with more time there could be more elaborated levels), graphic and sound and it would be perfect~

RyanNielson says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 12:02am

Seemed like an interesting concept, and I really like the simple graphical style an tile based movement of everything. I didn't really know what I was doing half the time though.

yuigoto says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 12:44am

Nice! It's simple, but nice and well thought! :)

Just by playing the first levels I thought of lots of things for this game! :P

Be proud of it, really! It was also my first jam and I'm very proud! :3

flummox3d says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 12:58am

Thanks for the feedback, guys! :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: using cached page]