Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Spread The Village

by Luminar - Jam Entry

Spread the village, fight with golems and rule the land. Do whatever it takes to help your villagers build 1000 houses.

Be a God and use your Uncoventional Weapon - Lightning Bolt!

Graphics: Kraskia
Music: http://www.bensound.com
Code and Models: Luminar Studios

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#549Audio(Jam)2.64
#580Fun(Jam)2.96
#640Humor(Jam)2.60
#739Innovation(Jam)2.70
#766Overall(Jam)2.91
#773Mood(Jam)2.69
#840Graphics(Jam)2.53
#968Theme(Jam)2.40

Comments

SadSmile says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:09pm

Overall a good game, even tho i dont like the sounds

dlowe says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:52pm

we enjoyed blowing everything up with lightning strikes ;)

Ossi says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:04pm

A fairly relaxing game except for the whole striking things with lightning bolts! I enjoyed just watching the villagers build their houses and helping them out by making more resources for them. I found myself wanting a way to skip ahead in time cause there is a lot of waiting around. Well done!

efonsecab says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:10pm

Fun game. Love the lightning, who wouldn't. I wanted to destroy my own village lol

2Bit says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:58pm

Awesome! I may be a little bias, this reminds me of my ld submission last theme.

Bananaft says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:51pm

Web player, Wave 7, still didn't saw any enemies.

Luminar says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:08pm

Thanks for the report! Fixed :)

Jadernak says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:12pm

Glitchy style sounds were not that great and ill-fitting the overall mood. But otherwise wonderful relaxing game.

vortex says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:15pm

I really liked the game except for the brakes between the waves that felt slow. I would have liked a speed up time button

jk5000 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:15pm

A great gameplay. Whit a better graphics and sound I would love to spend some more time with this game.

Xanjos says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:47am

It was pretty fun zapping things with lightning bolts although I think the win condition (1000 houses) might be a bit too big.

goblin says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:52pm

Nice game loved the music, good job
Check ours too http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44367

eemmbbeerr says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:15pm

Damn it! I've been playing for more than one hour and 137 before 1000 they runned out of stone. Aand when I put one for them they didn't start working again. Seriously?? Well about the game... It should be harder and should has more action: every single enemy comes from the same direction and they numbers not increase fast enough. But seeing my villagers building their houses was satisfying. Ah an other option to develop: you should give builders as the time passes. Well, I tried to accomplish your game but I failed. It's a cool game except you haven't balanced it. Wish I didn't let them run out of stone...

goerp says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 6:29pm

Nice relaxed simple easy to understand gameplay.
I liked the music and the simple graphics, but 999 houses were to much for me. Especially when I forgot to pause the game went on a break and had a game over moment.

In the screenshots I saw blue houses, but never played long enough to see them I guess.

I think I will come back to this game to try again. It is a bit addictive.

CiderPunk says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 11:15pm

I gotta say charging for your LD entry or sticking it behind an advert is a bit audacious.

May 11, 2015 @ 4:36am

Seemed like part of the UI was cut off for me. I couldn't tell what was limiting my lightning strikes.

Nick Weihs says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 4:54am

Rather slow city building game where the main threat seemed to always come from the main direction. I didn't see the need to really build anything ever, just blow up the baddies before they got to anything. The music was relaxing, but the city expansion got to be glacial near the end. I think it needs a bit more gameplay to really hook me in. Overall pretty decent, good job!

Andrea says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 10:35am

Nothing much to do here, but it was very nice just to watch the city grow!
Great work!

sekaru says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 2:11pm

Seemed somewhat boring.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]