Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Kitty Wings - html5 web-

by Buko-Studios - Compo Entry

Kitty Wings, killing with cuteness!

I intended to do a combo Ludum Dare + Shmup Jam, but I haven't got round to the shmup bit yet. :D

It's Construct 2 (Created from scratch in the 48 hrs), a fair bit of photoshop time, some quick Sfxr, and a free pixel art font base "04b30".
*Play in web browser (html5)*

I started out going for Sonic(visually) meets Parodius.
Things didn't quite work out the way I imagined. :D
Chuck milk bottles at the enemies to pacify them. Unconventional?
Race through the course collecting stars,
If you have enough speed your magic wings appear(usually) and you can launch into the sky for some 'would be' shmup action - maybe in the future. :)

Hope you enjoy!
-kb

P.S We'll be continuing to update this over the next few weeks. If you are interested, follow us on twitter @Buko_Studios

P.P.S If anyone happens to have worked on something with shmup mechanics. Feel free to submit it to our shmupjam later this month.
http://jams.gamejolt.io/shmupjam04

******
If anyone is interested, we have progressed the game a little further on Gamejolt.

http://gamejolt.com/games/arcade/kitty-wings/63709/

*Tightened the controls a little
*Improved the Flying portion with some enemies and collectables.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#52Graphics4.20
#214Fun3.52
#267Mood3.29
#346Overall3.39
#450Humor2.88
#601Audio2.57
#836Theme2.96
#914Innovation2.55

Comments

Yamzho says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 5:45pm

That is a very cool game ! Nice arts !

nicotuason says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:38am

Charming work Kevin! Beautifully smooth animations and a colorful world that gives me Sonic nostalgia. It gets pretty fun when you pick up speed! Great character design, and I love the milk bottle physics :)

ker0chan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:51am

Very pretty ! I like the idea of a runner turning into a shmup. Great job :)

jackyjjc says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:40am

Great work Kevin! I absolutely love the graphics and the sound. The cat is so cute, I would be killed by its cuteness as well :3 I love the pacing of the game and it is actually quite challenging because the landing zones are always closed to the crocodiles. However, I don't really get the flying mechanics because it seems quite useless, most of the time I only want to jump and I need to press the button twice to change from flying mode to landing.

Lyxilion says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:18pm

So cute !

ito123456789 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:18pm

Good graphics. Average gameplay.

GlowingSnail says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:19pm

It is cute. I can see indeed the Sonic influence.

There is blackness above the sky. I was afraid it had glitched, though thankfully I eventually glided down to the light blue.

PixlWalkr says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:29pm

Cute game and nice art :)

strong99 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:04pm

It does remind me of those old console games! Neat. Lovely. Controls work very easily.

Lancelot Gao says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:46pm

love it!

TD5 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:35pm

Looks really good and was pretty fun, but I didn't really understand how the flying fit in with everything else and what it was for. The arcade style P1 was a nice touch though. Good job :)

sanojian says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:54pm

Very fun and beautiful graphics. It is too much fun to go super fast. Had me laughing.

zatyka says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:18pm

I think you had some interesting ideas that don't quite fit well together, at least not in their current state. The difference in pace between running an flying feels a bit unusual. Lovely graphics and animation. Looking forward to seeing updates.

colludium says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:48pm

Great work, lovely graphics!

Jared Sartin says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:56pm

Pretty Game. Great animation!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:22am

So fast! Amazing smooth scrollies! Graphic prowess! wow.

Frenchie says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:23am

Very nice graphics :) Although I feel like I should have had nine lives instead of three :P

broknecho says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:34am

Nice entry. I liked the mix between an endless runner and attacking. Good job.

Manou says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:08pm

Awesome, definitely needs crazy music!

REIN1 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:41am

Cute!

paulfysh says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:15am

Takes me back to many many years playing sonic, right down to the colour of the land under your feet :)

Pixel Heart says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:39am

Waa! I like the art! I like how the ground looks all boxed and stuff! How did you do it? Oh, sure, game is pretty fun too!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:33pm

It's a fun game, there is a bit of a delay on when you press "D" and the cat starts going faster tho. And I would recommend it that the cat sould die a bit before reching the place where there is nmo background.

gruhn says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 2:52pm

A good game. With good controls and gameplay. Congratulations for the work.

psychonull says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 6:26pm

Nice graphics and fx sounds. There was no music :(. Really good game overall. Good job.

agirreb says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 3:37pm

Really cool. What's the little square under the kitten?

gillenew says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 5:00pm

The art was very beautiful, but I felt the gameplay a bit heavy. I believe that if you set a little smooth acceleration of the character and also fix the collision with other objects, this will greatly improve the gameplay.

DKoding says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 7:18pm

On my mac the kitty was just some black boxes... But good game, smooth gameplay and good controls.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 9:43pm

A funny little game. The graphic work is great also the sounds (I like when an alligator eats the poor cat). A good entry for this LD. Neat ++

goblin says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 8:17pm

Good Job guys, the game is very cool. I like it :)

gnx says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 12:24am

Nice looking game that has a couple of execution issues with the mechanic :) 1) most of the time when you're in the air you can't see the ground which leads to a lot of unlucky death with enemies/pits. 2) the indicator for when an enemy has been neutralized is not quite strong enough, so sometimes you run into enemies thinking that you have killed them, but have not.

Graphically it is really nice and the meter tells you very clearly what is going on, so that's very good :)

Buko-Studios says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 6:15am

Thanks everyone for trying it out and commenting! Lots of great stuff here!

It is true, we never got the shmup mechanic anywhere near where we wanted it. But we are still happy with the overall essence of the project.

We are a bit on the fence as to whether this is something to revisit. We are interested to see the results of LD32 next week. :3

May 9, 2015 @ 4:10pm

I liked this a lot, the graphics and sound especially.

I have featured you on #madeinconstruct ! https://twitter.com/SrslyCrunchy/status/597070650872823808

May 9, 2015 @ 5:41pm

Nice mechanics

May 20, 2015 @ 4:01pm

So cute! love the concept. I included it in part 12 of my Ludum Dare 32 compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/m_vzNeNUn1c

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]