Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

The Earl's Owl

by Yazara - Compo Entry

In my second Ludum Dare Game, you play as a mighty knight with his trusty companion.
Actually it has proven as so useful, that the knight decided to stop bearing arms and just let his Psy-Owl do all the dirty work.

Guide the knight through the tower and try to collect all seven blue lights!
(I didn't get to make a score counter, but will probably add it post-mortem)
Have fun!

Controls:
Left Joystick or A/D: move the knight
Owl Controls:
A-Button or right: attack enemy in range
B-Button or left: destroy psi-block in range
X-Button or down: return to the knight / collect blue bonus
Y-Button or up: lift the knight up

Programs: Unity 5, Photoshop, Spriter

The epic artwork on the 4th screenshot is made by my friend Fabi, check out his project here:
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=52774

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#67Graphics4.15
#72Innovation3.96
#193Theme3.81
#267Mood3.29
#368Overall3.37
#426Humor2.95
#621Fun2.96

Comments

Tijn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:25pm

Oooooo this is beautiful! 5/5 for graphics!

ianburnette says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:28pm

I love the way the owl looks! Those eyes! Very clever concept. Haven't really seen anything like this before.

alpha_rat says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:55pm

Very nice idea, the controls just don't feel dynamic/responsive enough, and moving the skeleton by repeatedly lifting/dropping it takes a bit too long

The gameplay is very original and the graphics are nice though

terpin says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:22pm

Your graphics are positively adorable! I am having a bit of an issue with the controls though. You should definitely keep working on this though, it has potential to be an awesome little game!

gillyadrien says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:37pm

Very nice entry, even though I got lost a few times. The graphics are really engaging.

Great work!

Shimmergloom says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:00am

Really nice artstyle. The flag command concept is cool, but it felt too clunky to be very useful though. :(

Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:27am

Controls are a bit too sluggish, but the concept is great! I could see this being a larger game with different unlockable abilities. Great stuff!

BIZM says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:43pm

Very cool concept and interesting art style! The bat is really cute :)

tughan says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:20pm

I agree with the comments on controls. Good concept, nice idea.

Yazara says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:18pm

Thank you for the feedback, I have some ideas on how to improve the controls, when I have time I will fix them :)

bossmojoman says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:23pm

Nice job, the controls are my only complaint, it was a little hard to figure out what to do at first

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 5:29am

Nice graphics and neat idea. I had a companion weapon idea too, but with an overhead view instead of a side view.

Having a control reference on the Ludum Dare entry page might be useful since I promptly forgot the controls once I started playing and had to figure them out by experimentation.

Unfortunately especially without checkpoints, the game was hard for me since the owl powers seem very slow to trigger, and movement is also slow.

If this is a compo entry, shouldn't there be a source link? (perhaps a dropbox zip)

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 5:30am

Also I agree with the other comment(s) that if you tighten up the controls and polish this, it could be a neat full game! Maybe start with only one or two powers, and get more as the game goes on.

Yazara says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 2:10pm

Thank you for the constructive feedback, I added the source and the controls in the description.

Apr 29, 2015 @ 1:00pm

Wow this definitely fits the theme perfectly. The controls take a bit of getting used to and seem quite slow and clunky but what a great idea.

peterfsat says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 1:15pm

I liked the concept for the mechanics... It was just a little difficult to play with the owl though :p

Xanjos says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 1:39pm

I like the idea a lot but the controls are far too sluggish to use.

Javabot says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 2:53pm

SO DIFFUCULT! Would love with different controls, as you have been told countless times.

alyphen says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 4:34pm

The controls seem a little counter intuitive, but it's very pretty to look at. The mechanics seems smart, but I couldn't really get my head around it.

Larzan says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 5:00pm

This is a great concept, i love the idea of the remote controled robot thingy that makes the player do things, very good job on the theme!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]