Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Corrugated Fidelity

by Os_Reboot - Compo Entry

Corrugated Fidelity is a real-time simulation based on the buying and selling of stock in an unregulated market. The ultimate goal is to bankrupt all other companies in the market. The player can manipulate the prices of individual companies through mass transactions.

---===WHAT IS GOING ON? I DON'T UNDERSTAND...===---
WALKTHROUGH VIDEO HERE!
http://bit.ly/1OfuFoG
Seriously, go watch the walkthrough.

Stocks are like owning a tiny sliver of the company. You pay a price up front to acquire them. After that, it is up to the company. If the company does well, the price of the stock will go up, which means that when you sell the stock you will make a profit. If the company does badly then the price of the stock will drop and you will lose money. Even further, if the company fails or goes bankrupt your stock becomes worthless.

In the case of this game, once you own enough stock you begin to make a difference in the market for that company. If you buy mass amounts of stock the price will go up, allowing you to make a profit. If you sell that stock all at once the price will drop, and the company may even go into bankruptcy. You finish the game by bankrupting all companies on the board.
---===|||===---

All controls are explained in-game, however they are also here for anyone who needs them:
[Esc]/[P] = Pause/Unpause
[H] = View control hints in-game
[Space] = Toggle open the stock menu
Sounds can be muted through the pause menu.

Stuck? Below are some hints on sabotaging companies.
Grow your balance in relation to the company.
- Make sure you can afford 10+ stock before attempting bankruptcy.
Buy stock gradually across all cards.
- Try not to drive the price up too much.
Sell all at once.
- Put all stock cards in the sell area simultaneously to maximize price drop.

Corrugated Fidelity was made with my custom library, Ridhvl (https://github.com/osreboot/Ridhvl).
Other tools for this game included: Lwjgl 2, Slick-Util, Bfxr, Gimp and Eclipse.

This jam was awesome, things worked out alright in the end. Much better than my last Ludum Dare. Here's to LD33!

P.S. I do not have a machine running Linux, therefore I cannot test the link. If someone in the comments would be so kind as to verify that it functions. xD
Edit: **Working on fixing that Linux download! D:

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#289Innovation3.49
#339Fun3.32
#346Overall3.39
#464Theme3.45
#521Mood2.96
#523Graphics3.10
#653Audio2.44
#756Humor2.33

Comments

remiv says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:31am

The .sh fail in the linux Download. Probably because of windows CR. Something like https://blog.lot-of-stuff.info/Divers/ludumdare/32/Run-45083.sh will be better.

awestsecurity says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:48pm

I really like the screen graphics, but I don't think the background graphics helped. Overall it's a fun game and an interesting take on the theme.

Mimus says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:36pm

I do not understand how to play and the goal of the game.

JohnGalt says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:09pm

Really engaging and fun. I enjoy it a lot. It could be even better if there is more clear feedback of how the price changing

matthewd673 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:08pm

I didn't understand what to do. Looked cool though!

Huo-cuo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:30am

I love these kind f games. But I do not think it meets the theme, does it?

ZQMony says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:37am

Very fun and addicting game. I found myself unable to stop playing!

qapn says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:40am

FYI Chrome had a mini-temper tantrum about your Windows zip, might be because of your file host.

It was confusing at first how to play, but once I got it, I can only say it's an awesome concept. I love the idea of the unregulated capitalist market as a weapon, this is something truly unique - I love seeing hot takes like this in LD entries, a really creative interpretation of the theme.

Sound effects were minimalist and appropriate. Graphics were great, but hit and miss - the stock cards and the fonts were very appropriate, as is the "stock board" sort of thing. But I didn't like the background spriting.

I kept getting slaughtered in the game which tells me I should stay out of stock trading.

Anyway this is probably the most I've written on a review so far but I just think this is a remarkable concept. You should seriously continue developing this and extrapolate the mechanics. I could see it as a full indie game in the vein of Uplink or something (a lot like Introversion's earlier work really).

Os_Reboot says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:42am

@Huo-cuo
You use large amounts of stock as a weapon to take down corporations? That was my idea anyways. It's up to you guys to rate it.

Also to people having trouble understanding the game, this might be of some use:
http://www.investopedia.com/university/stocks/stocks1.asp

Thanks for the feedback!

KaiseanGames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:43am

Yup! Gonna play this one for a while.

biscuitdough says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:00am

cool idea, at first the interface felt a little cumbersome, but had a good flow to it as I played more. Like the others have said, had a bit of trouble trying to figure out how to bankrupt other companies, they seemed to be bankrupting themselves while I just waited.

celisoft says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:09pm

This game is very original and I like it. A more explicit tutorial phase would have been better. The .sh file is corrupted with CRLF windows endings and some strange code.

The right code would have been something like this :

#!/usr/bin/env bash
java - jar CorrugatedFidelity.jar

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:06pm

I will tweet you with a gameplay and review video soon.

RyanNielson says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:55am

Interesting mechanic, much different from anything else I've seen during this jam. I like the graphics, and it's a pretty cohesive package. I think it did's a tutorial though. It's a bit hard to wrap your head around at first. Well done though.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:35pm

For whatever reason I could not see the cards, so I was quite confused. I included it in part 3 of my Ludum Dare 32 compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/Q8RvVjW24Io

6x13 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:32am

This actually made my display to reset and change H and V positions. It was a weird experience! :) Nice graphics though. BTW I got this error (Arch Linux x64):

org.lwjgl.LWJGLException: X Error - disp: 0x7f2818286690 serial: 82 error: BadValue (integer parameter out of range for operation) request_code: 154 minor_code: 24
at org.lwjgl.opengl.LinuxDisplay.globalErrorHandler(LinuxDisplay.java:320)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.LinuxContextImplementation.nCreate(Native Method)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.LinuxContextImplementation.create(LinuxContextImplementation.java:51)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.ContextGL.<init>(ContextGL.java:132)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.Display.create(Display.java:850)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.Display.create(Display.java:757)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.Display.create(Display.java:739)
at com.osreboot.ridhvl.template.HvlTemplateInteg2DBasic.<init>(HvlTemplateInteg2DBasic.java:60)
at com.osreboot.corrugatedfidelity.Main.<init>(Main.java:28)
at com.osreboot.corrugatedfidelity.Main.main(Main.java:16)
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.RuntimeException: No OpenGL context found in the current thread.
at org.lwjgl.opengl.GLContext.getCapabilities(GLContext.java:124)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.GL11.glEnable(GL11.java:1012)
at com.osreboot.ridhvl.painter.painter2d.HvlPainter2D.hvlGL11Init(HvlPainter2D.java:16)
at com.osreboot.ridhvl.template.HvlTemplateInteg2DBasic.<init>(HvlTemplateInteg2DBasic.java:65)
at com.osreboot.corrugatedfidelity.Main.<init>(Main.java:28)
at com.osreboot.corrugatedfidelity.Main.main(Main.java:16)

6x13 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:48am

Oh, nevermind, that error was probably due to not restarting computer after graphics driver update.

Os_Reboot says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:58am

@6x13 lol scared me xD

dreamlogician says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:27am

Super fun! Really nice job with the interface - you managed to convey the concepts in a really intuitive way.

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:39pm

Very interesting concept

CiderPunk says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:13pm

weirdly engaging I have no interest in the subject yet I continue to play and I don't know why!

shrapx says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:11pm

I played this game longer than any other LD game so far, it took a while to get to grips with the gameplay. I won in my first attempt though! I like the trading mechanics. I think it would help to have a graph, or some log of the buy price.

rudra says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:52pm

Though it was a bit confusing on how to play, but the concept seemed awesome once I got it. Pretty well done ! And nice graphics !

Tanser says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:47pm

Very interesting idea.

Tselmek says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:50pm

Great gameplay but it took me a lot of times to figure out how it all worked. Good job!

sekaru says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:50pm

Pretty confusing at first but it gets better once you get into the swing of it.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:13pm

very nice, difficult to undestand at first, but after I enjoyed, very innovative visuals too.

Zinhet says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:35pm

Cool game! I think that having and easy mode where there are indicators on if the stock is about to rise or fall might help with learning to play.

Langouste says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 3:46pm

Super game!

Ithildin says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 10:48pm

A bit hard to get at first, but it can get addictive pretty soon once you've figured out how the UI works. Nice!

bentglasstube says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 2:37am

Interesting concept but very confusing interface. I understood once I watched the video in the description. Kind of nerve-wracking to watch your money burn up on a bad investment.

TheColorMan says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 2:50am

A surprisingly fun stock market game. Good job!

peecestudios says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 10:41am

didn't expect to play this as long as i did. I really liked turning 10c into over 600,000c!

May 5, 2015 @ 4:31am

Wish there was more to the mechanics besides buy and selling. gets a little repetitive after a while.

wademcgillis says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 6:36pm

doesn't run

Os_Reboot says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 7:38pm

@wademcgillis Could you be more specific please? E.g. what operating system are you running, errors when run from command prompt, etc. Thanks!

smokecastles says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 10:35pm

Very original concept, unconventional weapon indeed, but one used IRL! Nice work!

Zeriver says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 3:00pm

Surprisingly engaging gameplay! I was observing stock prices in tension and waiting for right moment to sell. Really nice idea and execution. Somehow minimalistic graphics and audio work for this game, set right tone.
BTW: yeah eclipse/java combo rules! ;D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]