Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

KILLIPEDES

by calavera - Compo Entry

My second LD:

Fly with arrow buttons or "A"", "W", "D".

You move by ejecting space caterpillars (Killipedes) from your portal-engine. The Caterpillars explode just after hitting an enemy or being shot.

Use the Killipedes as both ammo and shields and see how many flying saucers you can destroy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness92%
#171Theme3.85
#217Graphics3.67
#376Innovation3.36
#481Humor2.81
#536Overall3.19
#542Fun3.06
#701Audio2.32
#793Mood2.63

Comments

calavera says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:30am

Pilot a futuristic spaceship powered by ejecting explosive inter-dimensional space worms out of portals. Battle cartoony 1950's UFO's with over sized rayguns.

joaovitorbf says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:17pm

Oh god, Im horrible at this game xD
Nice game with a cool artstyle, you should have added some music tho.
Good luck

chaosed0 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:18pm

Interesting take on the theme. Decently fun, but the biggest weakness is that there's little feedback on when you're damaging enemy ships.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:21pm

A fun little game. Seems like it's not framerate independent, which made playing with "fastest" graphics much more difficult than with "fantastic" graphics.

diiq says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:32pm

It is fun to fart centipedes!

Didn't entirely grok how to kill enemies, but I loved the way everything looked. Very stylish!

Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:32pm

Strange, but lots of fun. Definitely fits the theme. It was cool using the worms as both a weapon and a shield. Great job!

calavera says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:25am

Thanks rectangular tim! just rebuild with framerate locked to 60 or below.

calavera says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:25am

rebuilt*

calavera says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:26am

Anyone running Mac or Linux, please let me know how it runs.

sugarbyte says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:41am

./KILLIPEDES.x86: error while loading shared libraries: libGL.so.1: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

I don't know how to run this on Linux.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:16pm

I really like the bizarre tone of the game.

I ran it on a Late 2012 iMac, it seemed to run fine.

dyfer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:21pm

Good looking game, clear concept. Perfect for a jam. I'm on mac and it's working perfectly :)

Tselmek says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:50am

A bit confusing game yet it was fun playing it. We don't really know how and when we kill enemies. Nice!

Simon says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:56pm

Ahah this is so cool and a bit crazy too :) Well done.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:34am

Great visuals! I found it hard to hit enemies from behind the ship; maybe some way to shoot forward also? But great work.

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:34am

That was a very interesting mechanic. Took me a while to get the hang of but once I got into the flow it was a lot of fun.

biscuitdough says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:40am

the controls were a little jumpy, would've liked to see more feedback on when you take damage. Cool idea though.

GhostBomb says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:41am

YOU HAVE FAILURE

haha

Just the concept alone is brilliant but the actual game itself is incredibly satisfying to play.

gillyadrien says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:53am

Pretty fun game. Very challenging, too.

The only thing it's missing, in my opinion, is feedback. Flash red when taking or dealing damage, for example.

But awesome work nonetheless.

SledKnight says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:47am

Nice entry. Looks good. Sound and damage feedback were the weakest points. But who doesn't love space bugs? :D

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:58am

The concept of flying via interdimensional worm is awesome, though I wish it was clearer how much health you had, and how to damage the enemies

DeadFragment says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:49pm

Really nice smooth gameplay, and very unique concept that definitely fits the theme! the level could have been populated with things in the environment, but overall it's a great game!

-Neith

bobismijnnaam says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 6:09pm

Modulo the spelling/grammar mistakes, this game was pretty cool! After a while it got repetitive and it's a shame there's no enemies killed counter (except at the end), but the idea is really interesting and funny and the mechanic is really solid! The graphical style of the game is also very coherent and pretty, but it kind of makes the sound effects moot. The sound effects fitted the game but were maybe a bit more basic and maybe not what you would expect with a cool graphical style like that. All in all a fun and pretty game with an awesome backstory, keep it up!

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 6:30pm

Ha! It's like DUNE but not a strategy game.
Nice little game!

MegaPonies says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 6:42pm

Pretty neat and simple game! After getting used to it, ejecting blobs of centipedes was a cool way to fly xD
The grammar mistakes were a bit of a bother.
It has a nice environment, I really like that landscape style!

jprogman says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 6:57pm

Somehow I cannot tell if I'm close to the ground or not as the ground blends in with the background. Not that it matters since I'm mostly in the sky, so there isn't much reason to travel near the ground other than to destroy one enemy -- which happened to be a pain to destroy.
Very interesting concept. I like the humor.

RyanNielson says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 11:50pm

Decent little game, I really like the environmental graphics. I found it hard to tell how close I was to the ground though sometimes. It'd probably also help if the camera was zoomed out a bit a more and there were indicators for the UFO locations when off-screen.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]