Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Oh Sheeeep!

by marinalucio - Jam Entry

Oh Sheep! tells the tale of Beatrice, the sheep. Beatrice likes to walk (roll) around the forest searching for her favourite mushrooms. The albino hedgehogs from the forest, dislike that Beatrice is roaming around eating their precious mushrooms.

Roll around, collect mushrooms and make Beatrice grow in size so she can defeat the hedgehogs with an unconventional weapon: HER BODY!


Disclaimer: This is my first game EVER! I did all the art and programming (Marina Lúcio), while David Gutierrez did the awesome soundtrack. Still learning, but i'm happy with the result of my first game.

Thanks to Daniel Nascimento for all the consulting.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#96Graphics(Jam)4.23
#147Audio(Jam)3.62
#161Humor(Jam)3.57
#191Mood(Jam)3.53
#267Overall(Jam)3.52
#285Fun(Jam)3.36
#301Theme(Jam)3.67
#305Innovation(Jam)3.40

Comments

nevet says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:20am

GO BEATRICE!! baaaaaah

luizgama says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:01am

Great job! I really like the graphics and the theme. Control responsiveness is good too. Can't help but think about Katamari. You have come a long way since I first met you, do you remember? Keep up the good work ;)

manekineko says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:14am

baa baaa baaaa baaaa. Nice charming game. Like the crazyness. I'm Beatrice fan now!

Bsevers18 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:43am

Real goofy fun game. Straight-forward easy to use controls and an adorable visual style. would be silly to try with an accelerometer on a phone >.<

SledKnight says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:45am

I wish the sheep was a bit more responsive, but overall it looks good. Good entry!

2Bit says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:50am

I'm a fan of this art style, music is good too. Level reuse is a good time saver too :) Game from start to finish is a bit quick.

Aevek says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:56am

Really love the art style. The fat rolling sheep was hilarious, and the music was really cool too. Baa.

Ossi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:35am

The movement of Beatrice was a bit slow but this is a pretty great game! Love the art style and the music, really charming and relaxing. Great work!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:39am

Cool! Its like katamari but more dangerous. i like the art style

biscuitdough says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:39am

Gets very difficult very fast, but still fun.

benjamck says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:41am

Fun little game. Lazy lamb rolls in for the kill, lol. I wish the camera would move around or go in closer so I could see where the sheep is getting stuck behind trees, but it is a great effort; visuals, gameplay, sounds and music. Well done.

AdamW says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:01am

Great game! First one where I've got no complaints!

PIXEL^3 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:20am

A nice charming game, not much to it right now though.
Such a happy ending for a happy sheep.

VictorL says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:40am

Beautiful aaaaart! Very digital style!

dyfer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:03am

I really like your low poly style, cute game, nice realization.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:09am

It's an awesome game for a first try! :D Really Proud <3

eastes says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:24pm

I went for this art style in the Compo. Love it! I like that your game progresses nicely and easy to control. Perfect for LD game testing :-)

rzfmzn says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:38pm

Liked it a lot :D
Tnx fof the feedback you left :)
and sorry to hear about your loss :(

Jimjam says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:46am

What a charming game! The audio is hilarious too. I did find the character movement to be a little slow, though I liked having to find the right parts of the level to move through.
Great stuff :)

Dreauw says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:35pm

Ahah, funny game :)
That's really an unconventional weapon :D

Maybe I'm just bad but it took me a lot's of retry to pass the last level with the UFOs :)

Great job on the music too !

Detocroix says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:30pm

Very nice visual style. Loved the little wiggly / ragged dolly legs on the sheep :) I'm surprised how many "one screen" sheep games there are in the jam, yours and ours aren't the only ones :D

LinusPrime says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:23am

Absolutely love the art, wish I could make worlds in this style.

jackyjjc says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:06am

The graphics is great, I love the art style and the bright colors. The music fits the mood quite well. Well done! The only thing lacking is the AI I think.

Apr 27, 2015 @ 1:49pm

Totally impressed it's your first game ! Fun charming entry with good graphics, congrats !

irazhangs says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 12:33am

Sooooo proud of you!! to mechanic and level design. I HAD FUN!!! >3<

BIZM says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 9:36pm

This is so impressive for your first game! Congrats! We had a lot of fun playing this, and the low poly art is really charming. Nice mechanic and easy controls. Good job :)

Urbanbg says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 5:23am

I felt like the character moved a bit slow but overall it was a great game! Fantastic graphics.

Apr 29, 2015 @ 11:35am

Brilliant. This is what I come to LD to see! Just wished there were more levels.

Apr 29, 2015 @ 8:32pm

Was a fun and funny game! Controls were a little wonky at some parts but definitely a nice entry.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 5:29am

at first i was like - what the heck - but once i figured ot the controls it was great - nice job

GAFBlizzard says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 2:30am

Cute graphics, music, and idea! Congrats on your first game ever. :D

If you keep working on this game to make it bigger, I think you might try making the rolling speed faster. It was pretty frustrating. You could also try gamepad / mouse support so the camera can be adjusted. It was tricky to see what paths I could roll through, and what paths had trees.

Also, picking up bushes and trees katamari-style would be fun, but you might consider that too similar to the katamari games.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]