Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Mutated Software and Company

by mutatedsoftware - Jam Entry

*Warning: Game does involve drinking and urination (but nothing graphic)*

Hoser:
An Infinite Stumbler set in an alternative universe where Canadians play a hand in world affairs. It's silly. Use the mouse or your fancy touch screen to click around. Drink to avoid the shakes (UI wobble). 'Esc' gets you outta there.

Please do post your scores and strategies and let us know if a link (or the game) is broken :)

Anywho, we had a ton of fun participating in Ludum Dare with all of you! Learned a ton... and drank a ton. Could be why the game isn't more complex :)

If the like the game (or even if you hate it), you can do us a solid by voting for and following our main project on Steam Greenlight:

http://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=337130341

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#311Humor(Jam)3.28
#495Theme(Jam)3.38
#620Graphics(Jam)3.08
#687Innovation(Jam)2.80
#818Overall(Jam)2.85
#837Mood(Jam)2.57
#882Fun(Jam)2.50
#1383Coolness47%

Comments

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:28am

I like the art and the mood but the mechanic is horrible. Trying to click those buttons was just toooo annoying. +1 for calling your game Hoser though.

Pixel Heart says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:54am

Love the handdrawn animations!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:14am

The game doesn't do a great job of instructing you that hitting the beer button will stop the buttons from shaking. But, yeah. That's how you get those buttons to stop shaking :) Thanks for playing!

akios says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:41pm

very hard mechanics though

Luminar says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:45pm

Hehe. Idea is nice. I like the "gun"

LimeniusTeam says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:48pm

Love the graphics. Our first idea for an unconventional weapon was pee as well. xD We chose something else at the end. Very nice implementation.

muromets says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:14pm

Clicking the buttons was hard, but i suppose that was intended. Liked the "frost" effect on the screen! fun game

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:50pm

My only complaint would be that judging by this game, Canadians have no tolerance for alcohol. Nicely done though - I liked the effects as you got colder.

ZQMony says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 9:43pm

Very unique and cool idea, but the game can be hard to get a hang of.

Exeneva says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 7:18am

The art style is interesting, but the game mechanics and user experience need serious polish.

jk5000 says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 6:01pm

I think the control fits perfectly into the game idear. Well done-

May 10, 2015 @ 8:38pm

@jk5000 thanks! You get me :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]