Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Get Them Fed! - by Effinjay Studios

by Kassimkot - Jam Entry

Destroy evil monsters by stuffing them chock-full of deadly salvoes of sunny-side-up!

Attack the monsters by throwing them sunny-side-up eggs backwards towards them.

Try not to get cornered

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#179Theme(Jam)3.82
#275Humor(Jam)3.35
#339Innovation(Jam)3.35
#543Fun(Jam)3.00
#697Overall(Jam)3.00
#827Mood(Jam)2.60
#2054Coolness28%

Comments

Anas Azmi says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:09pm

That's certainly an unconventional weapon! The shading also works with the absurd setting. Though I feel that the music kinda ruins the mood. I feel somber while playing it. Also, maybe have a sound effect when the ball-monster-thingy eats the egg? It would give the thingies a sense of depth, because right now all I see are red circles.

Ilseroth says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:57pm

Fun game, though I feel the controls would be better suited with WASD for movement and then the moust is free to move the camera at will. as it is you have to stop moving to move the camera which feels awkward.

Other then that a lot of fun. I absolutely adore the animations, not sure if you made those during the Jam time, but they are beautiful.

Matsuki says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:01pm

Got an 'Uncaught Abort()' Error in Chrome and it didnt run in IE either.

Jagang says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:01pm

The HTML version didn't load for me, the unity one worked fine but had some Nullpointer at the starting screen. I had a similar error. This could happen by refering some Objects not yet present in the menu screen.

Now for the game: I really liked the idea, but missed a bit of variation. Some could have been Power-Ups to spice things up. The visuals had a lot of charm, only the red balls sticking out oddly.

All in all: good job and keep up the good work :)

talecrafter says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:05pm

Lol, I'm so bad ad throwing eggs.
Good game. Controls felt strange.

texdata says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:35pm

well this looks great! why no rating for graphics i liked it!

repstyle says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:17pm

Haha, an egg are a true weapon to claim your rage !

I think the camera is a bit tricky to use. It got me stuck in a corner because i couldn't understand how to change the view.
The problem is that camera is fixed and not oriented according to player's rotation so it happen frequently that you can't see your enemies and die because of that.

I would recommend that you make the camera view following the player's orientation.

Kassimkot says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:08pm

Thank you all for playing. ill try to address some of the issues here.
- if it doesnt work on Chrome, i would suggest try it out on Firefox, as chrome apparently has some problems for unity plugins. or you could try downloading the executable file.
- i have a lot of feedbacks regarding the controls. i'll try to fix it as soon as possible.
- i felt the graphics were to simple, plus the enemy is a giant red circle. so, yeah, sorry for no ratings on graphics
- yes, i did the animations during the jam time.
- the game felt like it was unfinished because i spent the fist half of the jam developing a whole different idea. though it did involve the frying pan, the stove and the eggs, it was actually a lot complex the first time i made it, and i thought it was too complex and made it simpler by just giving the guy the frying pan at the begining.

thanks again for playing. will try to fix stuff

TeamCalcium says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:32am

Nice game. Funny idea.

Hunter X says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:38am

Quite an entertaining game (I liked the game over animation), though I do feel the movement control was a bit inefficient - in order to attack the enemies I have to be looking behind me, which means I can only click a short distance ahead of me rather than off in the distance as the control system implies.

2R says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:11am

You did nice work!

Deity says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:16am

I like the simple, toon-shaded graphics style and the concept is nice. Camera was a bit strange but otherwise a cool game.

Tanser says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:03pm

Nice idea. The texture didn't load for me though. The controls are a bit odd, seems bad that you don't see where you are heading to.
The idea as I said is very nice and fits the theme just perfectly.

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:20pm

This was really funny. It's pretty interesting that the main mechanic encourages you to almost always move toward the camera -- that said, it's a bit hard to wrangle the camera, so perhaps it should just be zoomed out more or top-down? Anyway, nice work, very unique!

TeamQuadratic says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:24pm

Cool concept and fun game! I liked the style, although the controls were a bit tricky.

kunzbe says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:28pm

good choice of an unconventional weapon and nice how it influenced the controls of the game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]