Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Time Orb

by Wayward - Jam Entry

Time orb is a puzzle plattformer, featuring the most unconvential weapon:
A time and music playback rewinding, time paradox causing orb.
When used, time get's rewinded a set amount of time, with one little detail,
Everything is effected, except for the orb, which stands in place and everything that crosses is position in this set amount of time get's deleted from the timeline(same as killed, but's far more paradox than that).

Controlls:
A,D,W: Move Player
Left,Right,Up: Move Orb
Hold e while near orb: Rewind time as long as button hold
R: Restart Level

F11: Toggle fullscreen( Fullscreen recommended )
Z: Switch between zoom levels ( Only Window mode, though Fullscreen still recommended as it autmatically uses maximum applicable zoom level)
Esc: Exit game

Notes/Hints:
It's possible to clear the first level without jumping over a single enemy.
Just rewind time while the orb stands in the path of an enemy and wait till enemy touches the orb and disappears.

The .love (Löve) file needs Löve 0.9.2 https://love2d.org/
All other versions should work as is.

Sometimes the player or the orb or both are not visible at the start of the level or when switching Window modes, if this happens just press r and continue playing.

Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#237Innovation(Jam)3.54
#248Overall(Jam)3.55
#350Fun(Jam)3.28
#358Mood(Jam)3.29
#373Audio(Jam)3.08
#385Graphics(Jam)3.56
#407Theme(Jam)3.51
#674Humor(Jam)2.53

Comments

McFish says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:57pm

You really should create executable file out of your game. Most (if not all) of us are too lazy to go through the trouble of installing different game engines, libraries etc :-/

Wayward says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:10pm

Thanks for the hint, i think the same, the windows executable is in progress.

leo_p_mahon says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:27pm

A well executed entry. I like your art style and a very cool idea! In terms of feedback I would say you could do with having less difficult platforming on the first level and make it more about the main mechanic. Or maybe you can solve it using that too? Anyway I can see this idea going far!

Wayward says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:36pm

Thanks! You have no real need to do much plattforming in the first level, as you can use the orb to easily kill the enemies( with rewinding while the orb stands in path of the enemy) maybe i should i make more clear.

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:35am

Cool idea! I like the graphics too, great game overall!

Aaranos says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:39am

This is the second entry to remind me of Braid. That aside it is well done. The challenges are difficult enough that you don't breeze through them but are just the right level of difficult. Audio good, graphics good.

Wayward says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:51am

@Aaranos I thought someone would mention Braid, haven't i played it though, this game actually is more inspired by the time rewinding feature of "The bridge" and added time rewinding to the puzzle solving problem.

2Bit says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:22am

Fun little game, some of puzzles were pretty hard :) Catchy music too. Art style fit well.

Tanser says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:32pm

Very fitting art, great job.

thecord says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:33pm

nice style and interesting gameplay, but a bit too hard

Matt Tuttle says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:35pm

Fun game but the first level was difficult because I didn't fully understand the mechanics at that point. A few levels where you get used to time traversal before dealing with enemies would be good. I enjoyed the gameboy style graphics.

j_peeba says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:36pm

The game put up a good challenge, backed with graphics and audio that suited the game very well. The platforming was kinda frustrating though since the controls seemed to lack this good balance between laser-sharp precision and relaxed, forgiving collisions that are essential for a good platformer.

cbear_wallis says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:37pm

Not bad! I like the general mechanics :) I think the player collision boxes were way too big so I kept dying to the enemies on the first level. I couldn't beat the 4th level lol >.< Not bad tho :)

Mouch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:43pm

Great art style and the game mechanic perfectly matches the theme. Only problem is the controls: don't put restart directly next to the key for rewind. I restarted accidentally so many times because of that.

andreimarks says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:39pm

Really cool! I'm only up to level 4 but I should probably stop playing while at work...The mechanic (especially the erase from timeline mechanic) is pretty neat. Sometimes I feel like it's pretty tough to do another time shifting platformer mechanic, but I thought yours was really unique, and I liked the partner dynamic. Just goes to show there's always more to explore! Nice job!

2R says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:07am

Nice work.

josefnpat says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:05am

Really neat idea! I like it and the art! Nice job!

SiENcE says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:14pm

Great Idea and nice too see another LÖVE puzzle game. It's hard, but this is good!

OadT says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 11:13am

Nice Idea and nice game, but a bit tough ;) Maybe add an ring showing the maximum range around the orb to see if you can use it (I know there is a text in the top left corner, but thats not enough :D

NoWandStudios says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 3:09pm

GB Graphics and sound so cool! By the way, nice gameplay, idea and level design.

eemmbbeerr says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 3:15pm

Great concept, but rewinded time should be faster. It got boring when I had to wait for the characters to start moving when I rewind time. Too bad! It would be a great game.
In-game instructions are unreadable.
I also liked the way the music turned backward when time was rewinded.

camlang says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 7:39am

Nice style!

gv1351 says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 9:34am

For some reason the game can't download it gives an error token expired

Wayward says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 4:18pm

@gv1351 check your internet connection, works fine for me, or maybe itch.io got a problem

May 7, 2015 @ 5:24am

Very cool puzzle game. I found the difficulty level really hit the sweet spot (for me, at least)... enough to get you to really stop and think, but not so much that you're staring for hours. I'd keep an eye out for this if it was expanded post-compo. Nice job.

dos says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 12:17am

Great concept, love it! Challenging puzzles. Didn't managed to finish it yet, but will definitely return to it later :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]