Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Bears in the Dark

by volkoivan - Jam Entry

You are a forester, who lost alone in the dark wood. Suddenly you heard strange sounds. BEARS! But you have nothing except cones around you. Use them to hit bears and don't forget that the charge of your flashlight isn't eternal!
Survive as long as you can! Good Luck!

Control:
Left Click - Throw a pine cone
Right Click - Turn On/Off the flashlight

The game was made by two 2nd grade students:
Artyom Mihaylov (vk.com/just_okey) and Ivan Volkov (vk.com/volkoivan)
You can contact with us via twitter (@VolkoIvan), we are open for a discussion and want to know your opinion, especially contact us if you have some ideas or find some bugs in our game!

The sprites and music wasn't made by us, we took it from the internet.
So special thanks to guys that made these cool assets!
And of course thank you for playing it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#56Mood(Jam)3.98
#132Fun(Jam)3.66
#170Overall(Jam)3.65
#219Innovation(Jam)3.57
#243Humor(Jam)3.41
#287Theme(Jam)3.69

Comments

Insality says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:14pm

Awesome graphics and effects!
So sweety to play on this :D
i have got around 80 seconds, its pretty hard ;)

Nikteddy92 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:33pm

Woaaah! Nice art!
Your interpretation of the theme is really nice and the gameplay is funny! Not so easy game!
Great Job guys, well done!

jhell says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:34pm

Made it to 1:06, pretty cool, it feels well polished, so it's nice to play. Good job!

volkoivan says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:09pm

@Nikteddy92 sadly, art wasn't made by us, we even discard that category from voting in our game. These are free assets we found on the internet, so thanks to that cool guys!
Thank you

dyfer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:20pm

lol its a funny one ,prety good idea ^^ nice work

ninjascript says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:20pm

Wow, really impressive! My only feedback is that I can't play very effectively with a track pad, maybe adding keyboard controls would be helpful. Other than that, this is a great entry!

mantis says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:21pm

Amazingly cool for such a simple game, the tension when you need to decide if you turn off the lantern is real :D

dwemthy says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:21pm

Great concept and pretty tough. Good feeling of suspense sitting with the light off waiting to hear a roar.

Kostyan1996 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:30pm

0:47, pretty challenging, I like it!

mcburrobit says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:32pm

Interesting idea, the fear effect could have an impact on the aim of the pinecones, as if you're not particularily jumpy, you can just leave the light off until you hear a bear, turn it on to aim and turn it off again without the screen shaking and static affecting the gameplay much.

pavel_insight says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:37pm

Good idea. )

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:44pm

Nice entry! The flashlight mechanic reminds me of Amnesia, and is just as intense!

Great effort :)

gulyash says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:34pm

I survived 78 seconds and now this is definitely my favorite game, particularly because of the pine cones as a weapon. Also, the plot is so close to real life :)

iSamurai says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:29am

The idea is cool. I like the flashing light mechanics, it's just like the shorter version of Five Nights at Freddy's. Great job!

esayitch says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:31am

Pretty cool concept and the darkness mechanic is really well-made. Game is a good challenge! Graphics were all right, that bear sprite when he kills you is really nice xD Sound was on key too, spooky without being corny.

Good job!

Bergara says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:34am

Very fun and addictive, this game is quite challenging!

goblin says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:38am

Simple but really cool
check ours if you want http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44367

reiknight says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:56pm

0:58 in the first try!! Nice effects, nice execution, keep working, you are going places!

Mykaelos says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:14am

It's a really fun game, and the mechanics build tension really well! It's a simple, but very complete game. Well done!

Yword says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 2:13pm

Great idea, and the game is really fun and quite challenging! Maybe you can add some survival games' mechanics like finding foods or setting barriers. Well done!

norwalnate13 says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:57pm

I absolutely loooooove the fear effect! I get so tense.

shadow64 says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 8:08am

Yeah! This was fun. It simultaneously had me nervous but also laughing which is not an easy combination to get from people.

I don't know what else to say, I just really enjoyed this. Maybe the reload on the pinecones could be better? Or there could be a better indicator of when the bears are close with your flashlight turned off?

But for a jam game? Awesome! Thanks for playing and reviewing my game as well. And congrats!

Exeneva says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 7:15am

This is an interesting survival entry. Quite humorous too!

killako says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 6:13pm

Very innovative game! I like the use of resource management i.e. the resource of visibility. Good work!

yuigoto says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 3:01pm

Nice entry and nice take on the theme! :)

This whole thing about managing lights and shooting is also a good thing! It's simple, but not easy, and the "fear" effect is also nice! :3

Embalaje says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 3:47pm

WOW! Intense! It acelerates my heart trobs. Easy gameplay to understand and very effective.
Good job!

WeaselZone says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 3:54pm

One of my favorites so far! Super simple to grasp, but quite challenging, just how games need to be. I love the animation of the bear running.

May 10, 2015 @ 3:54pm

Looks and sounds great! An original idea too, good work. Final thought: Bears are scary

chromebookbob says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 4:03pm

This is one of the truly FUN games I've played from LD32

SledKnight says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 4:15pm

Hahaha, I played this one because of the running bear in your postmortem. Glad I did. Very fun. Hard to right-click on my trackpad, but that's my own problem. I liked balancing fear with visibility. Fun!

nameoftheuser says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 4:43pm

Pretty nice!

Dejvo says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 6:37pm

nice graphics! shame that it wasn't made by you. the game itself is not that original but it's an original take on theese types of games. it was pretty neat ;)

puppetmaster says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 6:55pm

Good combination of music, sound fx and gameplay.
Well done!

sorlok says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 1:35am

Great mood; exciting and good mechanics!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]