Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Return The shoe!

by ProteinPannkaka - Jam Entry

Fight your way to the owner and return the shoe!

WASD = Movement
Mouse = Camera

Left Click = Attack (if you ahve a weapon)
Middle Click = Lock On to an enemy
Right Click = Throw Weapon

E = Pick up Item
Space = Jump
A/D + Space = DodgeRoll

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness92%
#26Graphics(Jam)4.59
#122Audio(Jam)3.69
#168Mood(Jam)3.57
#398Overall(Jam)3.36
#435Theme(Jam)3.46
#607Innovation(Jam)2.96
#622Humor(Jam)2.63
#706Fun(Jam)2.77

Comments

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:33am

Pictures are pretty but can't play on Windows :\

Harley77 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:40am

Holy crap, that is some of the best visuals I've seen in a Jam. Awesome job!

mortus says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:44am

That's probably the cutest game I've ever seen in LD! Controls and fight mechanics could use some more love, but so far I'm absolutely fine with just jogging around that beautiful forest! Great work!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:56pm

Nice looking game. Seemed like a cute puppy version of Dark Souls. The animations were pretty rough though which affected the feel of the combat the most. More visual and audio feedback would make fighting feel a lot better. Also, the inverted mouse controls really threw me off. Would have liked an option to switch that.

hawksley says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:58pm

6th game I've reviewed today and definitely my favourite so far! The music is really pretty and the graphics are beautiful!! The killing of the rabbits felt brutal
and almost out of place with the soft music and graphics though, which is the only reason I didn't give graphics and music the maximum score. I've found it quite
difficult to complete it but I will keep persevering and hopefully I will be able to complete it soon. Overall a great game and fits the theme well!

UltraRat says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:10pm

The hero is adorable, especially the dodge roll anim.

Mouse vertical look feels inverted to me.

skylerWithAnE says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:58pm

These visuals are outstanding! The rabbits kicked my ass repeatedly. I eventually didn't try to fight them anymore, and just tried to run as far as I could. Doge dodge made me happy.

DNAteamld32 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:17am

I really liked the pictures, but playing it was a bit disappointing. The camera control is such a mess, makes the game totally unplayable. I encourage you to improve the camera movement post-compo, since as it is I doubt anyone could enjoy the game.
Anyway, I see a lot of work here, good work for the jam!

TeamCalcium says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:18am

Interesting concept with great visuals!

Squidtank says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:20am

Very cute and I love the atmosphere. It was more frustrating then fun because of the inverted controls. Most of the time was spent underneath it's belly and while it's pretty cute, I was a sitting duck for those damn rabbits.

sentendo says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:21am

fantastic! O_O

F. Wiktora says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:21am

Visually AWESOME. But the inverted camera movement is a bit annoying to me. Music is really good as well, also are the animations. You should continue this cute game.
Graphics 5/5

Keep it up!

lordxam says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:30am

nicely

2R says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:43pm

Oh, it's awesome!!

lizard455 says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 11:00pm

Amazing visuals, but the combat was literally impossible for me. The enemies could practically one hit me and the attack animation left me vulnerable.

Apr 27, 2015 @ 11:30pm

This game is tough.... I got killed by a rabbit over a shoe? On my next attempt I got bombarded by a gang of rabbits and was eventually cornered and executed, I lost my life and the shoe.

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 12:20am

Very pretty, the as others have noted, the camera is problematic. Couldn't really figure out the combat (or the locked door).

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 1:39pm

This game has some pretty great visuals, but it was quite hard to play. Also camera felt a bit wonky. Other than that, this was a great Jam entry. Good job! :D

MonoS says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 3:03pm

I'll not rate 5 for the graphics because you used the UE4.
The low poly style with the "soft rendering" is adorable, idem for the music that i really liked.

Sadly the gameplay ruin the experience, i'd have prefered to play an exploration game without fighting that seemed a lot out of place and i suggest you to remove it.

Also shadows, put some shadows into the game

dyfer says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 3:57pm

awesome gfx ! i loved the roll lol nice work

DarkwindMedia says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 5:03pm

The best visual I have encountered in LD! So sad I can't play :(

Jasonsumm says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 6:59pm

awesome style ^_^

bobismijnnaam says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 7:14pm

Okay I had a pretty lengthy response but the LD site at it, so here's a quick summary:
+ Extremely pretty graphics
+ Extremely nice soundtrack
- Items are hard to find
- Rabbits are OP

Call me a lazy scrub, but that was my experience. Don't forget to playtest the gameplay :)

Tselmek says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 8:43pm

Awesome graphics, so awesome that it cause the game to have a really low framerate. My pc being a not-so-powerful machine, it was impossible for me to properly enjoy the game, yet it was playable and you did a good job and the audio and the graphics!

Skiddings says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 9:04pm

Looks great! But the dog is so fragile T_T

peecestudios says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 11:29pm

Beautiful game, but I can't seem to get past the first rabbit. Unreal Engine is always an amazing choice though. I've never seen a bad looking game from Unreal Engine.

FrozenCow says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 8:54pm

Really nice looking game. The inverted mouse, camera and fighting felt a bit awkward, but it was still fun to avoid all enemies while still being able to progress.

hadesfury says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 10:56pm

Aaahh, inverted Y axis!
Apart from that it's all very pretty, but as the other said already, these rabbits kicked my ass waaaay too fast!

Biliogadafr says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 11:52pm

Wow... That was difficult puzzle game, I would say. Really difficult. Fighting was not an option in this game. Even if I'm able to kill several rabbits with the shoe it is allowed to do only several mistakes... and you are dead. So I just run away. Also there is no sense to grab key to open the door if I can just avoid this wall by climbing mountains. Also this allows me to eskape from an horde of rabbits. Going into the canyon with glitching collisions is also not an option. It's better to avoid this spiky things again in the mountains. Rabbits on top of the platform just kills me near the skeleton first time, so ending was twice as dramatic and ending animation was interrupted. To avoid this I just jumped to the beginning of the level from the top while leading an hord of rabbits after me, and then used roll to escape. (when you are rolling you are faster :). So I made a second ring and after this I was able to see ending.:)
Nice graphics. Nice music. Looks cute. But not beatable in normal way. Also awful camera with inverted y axis which become FPS camera when rabbit pursuing you and pushing camera into a puppy. Good job overall. Looks great.

May 1, 2015 @ 6:04am

It looks really good but it was a pain to control, starting with the inverted camera on the mouse.

May 1, 2015 @ 9:08pm

This game is literally horrifying! Excellent job!

squirrelbot says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 5:55pm

The low-poly art style looks amazing! Combat is kind of strange, and enemies attack to fast. I was horrified when I first saw the death animation. :(

chocobyte says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 10:12pm

The inverted camera was bad and the rabbits seemed to be too strong but other than that very cute graphics and neat game idea, good job!

chocobyte says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 10:12pm

The inverted camera was bad and the rabbits seemed to be too strong but other than that very cute graphics & music and neat game idea, good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]