Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

> punch -s

by Demy - Jam Entry

This is the story about one unfortunate (or may be not) human and one brave cleaning robot. They're connected together by the console input string and will fight to protect our world from a D0CT0R R0B0T, an ultimate janitor villain.

Commands:
- PUNCH [-S] [-F] [-H]
- BLOCK
- DODGE
- W (without Enter) - active pause

Some extra hints: if you'll type first character(s) from the command and then press [Tab] the command will be autocompleted.
You can use arrows [up] and [down] to navigate between previous commands.

(If something in game doesn't fit the screen please try to resize your page back to 100% and refresh it. Sorry for some resize bugs)

Code: Demy (Elena Gavrilova)
Graphics: Doragon (Natalia Logunova)
Game design: Dmitry Shytov
Special thanks to:
Felipe Wang for editing of English texts and
Thatiany Miranda for awesome space image
wolf4life.bandcamp.com for cool background music.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness93%
#64Graphics(Jam)4.38
#72Innovation(Jam)3.90
#243Humor(Jam)3.41
#308Overall(Jam)3.46
#382Mood(Jam)3.25
#421Theme(Jam)3.48
#718Fun(Jam)2.76

Comments

Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:57am

Nice concept with the console. But typos lead to death maybe some sort of autocorrect could make it more accesable.

Demy says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:12am

theStartlestare, you can press Tab to autocorrect command, like in a real console

Druid says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:48am

Cool idea, but not for slow typers like me :D

Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:53am

Loved the story and the graphics, looks really crisp. -Weloxux

TeamCalcium says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:54am

Nice Game! For me it feels a little to fast-paced regarding the controls by typing, and then again a little too easy if figured out that you can copy and paste the commands. (I was mashing ctrl+v and enter constantly) Still very appealing Graphics and nice Humor.

Mouch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:01am

I love the graphics, especially the intro. I like the console idea too, but i think gameplay can be improved, but absolutely acceptable for LD.

SPAMMING "punch -s" ftw !!!

jk5000 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:42am

Too difficult for me. But it looks amazing.

samwest says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:37pm

Cool Idea! Too bad I'm to slow to type in English

Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:21pm

Like other said, nice concept. However, the whole console input is a bit harsh. You should introduce pauses after the robot finish it's move, so it's a bit more tactical.

I could defeat almost all robots by simply inputting a command, then arrow up and spamming the command.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:14pm

cool fighter game! the graphics are amazing and the gameplay is solid too. i like the fact that you can stop time, theres a lot of strategy

SpringCabal says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:50pm

Great ideas here, and this game is certainly innovative, but it's also not fun; Copy+enter on "PUNCH -S" is enough to defeat the first three robots, which is when I stopped as it got boring. The story's great, and art's not bad, but I wish it had music as well.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:53pm

Well this was frustrating. I liked the story and the graphics though.

Ludonaut says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:45pm

Cool concept. I love the comics, well done.

mike1101 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:51am

Great story. Very cool comic book. Wished I could have kept reading. But when I got to the console ... Nothing worked. I see instructions and a text box but nothing I do when I type in ... does anything ?

ermrk says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:55am

Great comics! Game was too fast without pause and too slow with it. I would appreciate some queue for commands. However I like programming feature, it is good.

Demy says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:00am

mike1101, the last instruction in first help was to type "start" into console input below to start the game.

Horsed says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:05am

I liked the comics. The console mechanic didn't grab me. With just repeating "punch -s" I managed to kill all robots, which made the game too easy.

frnknstn says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:48am

Great idea, great presentation

Apr 26, 2015 @ 6:05am

Fun to play, but it was very difficult at first.

Boberro says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:16am

And to think you still had time to make an intro comic...

SimianLogic says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 8:39pm

All the art is super cute. I'm a pretty fast typer, but I wasn't able to keep up with even the first robot (even with pausing). Maybe I just suck at fighting games? Maybe if you had command history so you could press up and repeat jabs?

Stechas says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 2:43pm

I was only punching hard, works for every opponent. It could be more difficult... but regarding story and beautiful graphics it's really hard to say something else than good job guys!

Zener says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 6:06pm

Great idea, makes me remember MUD games. Graphics and intro are awesome!

TeamFlare says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 12:21pm

I love the controlls - seriously! this has great potential.
I'm not familliar which how to use a console , but the typing in itself is challenging and fun.It's just a little tough though.. I'd have loved to type stuff like kick, punch, jump.. short stuff..
Great gfx as well :)

Saker Games says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 1:21pm

Cool concept with the console :D
Very interesting game and good looking graphics. Well done!

freaknarf says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 9:27am

Great work on comics and visuals ! That was a weird gameplay, like if a mad coder wanted to share his pain :]

Maybe i found a bug : I felt like i was in control of the garbage collector with the console once, while Janitor just took the hits...
Shit i want to beat him :)
Nice !

KaiseanGames says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 6:22am

Well done! Very nice execution.

Smirnov48 says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 7:59am

Interesting concept. Good realisation. Good job!

Photon says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 1:12am

Really interesting idea, but I couldn't even get past the first robot. I feel like the programming aspect doesn't work very well in real time (Pause feels kind of like a band-aid fix.) Tis' a shame since the graphics and narrative are rather interesting.

Yoon says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 10:57am

The graphics are a blast. Loved the idea, the robots' design and the little comic to introduce the story.

The gameplay is unexpectedly hard to handle, even with autocompletion by pressing TAB.
Also I noticed that once a "punch -H" connects, you can just keep spamming it because the opponent hasn't the time to recover. TBH I won all the fights this way.

One suggestion : You should allow a "punch" command without arguments, because reaching the '-' and one of the letters on the keyboard is very time-consuming, combat-wise.

I played the post-jam one, and I can't get over the robot's cuteness.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]