Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Good Fred Bad Funk

by Matthew Rayfield - Jam Entry

Action!

Adventure!

An Evil Browser Toolbar!

And more awaits you in....

GOOD FRED BAD FUNK !

Controls: Arrow keys, enter, & mouse


Please let me know what you think!
If you liked it, and want more, follow me: @MatthewRayfield

Thanks for playing!


(I made this game in 48 hours, however, I borrowed some stuff from Windows XP and some cat GIFs... So I'm entering it into Jam.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#27Humor(Jam)4.10
#40Mood(Jam)4.05
#131Innovation(Jam)3.73
#215Overall(Jam)3.59
#229Fun(Jam)3.45
#439Audio(Jam)2.94
#482Graphics(Jam)3.36
#532Theme(Jam)3.33
#1634Coolness41%

Comments

doitle says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:48am

Very creative. I like the mixed media appearance of this. It's pretty simple but fun, if a bit slow moving.

Chadivision says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:30am

Very cool! It was a fun game with an interesting style. Never thought I would use XP again. :)

Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:59pm

Hey, I really enjoyed your game, especially the 'collage' art style! It felt a little repetitive though and it was a bit tricky to enter the houses. But it's a really great outcome for a 48h solo Project!

Demy says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:03pm

Ok, this game is on drugs. I like that collage style graphics. Sound is too noisy sometimes. Nice Windows UI usage.

Olias says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:10pm

That a 5/5 right there. Congrats :]]]

Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:51pm

Well... It was weird. In a good way. ;)

phi says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:35pm

Thumbs up for crappy design! The weirder it gets, the better it gets. Thanks for the amusement! :)

UannaFF says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:20am

a little mistake->"i need your help" I think it all fits together in this game, even though is short I liked it alot!

Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:31am

Bookmarking this game for when I have the bad funkkk. I'm more of a guinea pig type of person, but this one is a good one.

goerp says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:50pm

HAHAHA! You found my weak spot, cat videos! I've got to give this five stars now.
Man, I'm going to spread the word about this game. It's so weird, just my cup of tea!

I also like that you used comic sans. The sign of a true rebel thinker!

jk5000 says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 9:33pm

Fun++

ZQMony says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 9:34pm

Very creative and fun idea.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]