Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Crystalline

by TheMeorch - Jam Entry

Crystalline is a puzzle platformer about multidimensional space exploration.

Controls:
A/D: Run
Spacebar: Jump
Hold Q: Equip Weapon 1 (when available)
Hold E: Equip Weapon 2 (when available)
Move Mouse: Aim equipped weapon
Left Mouse Button: Shoot equipped weapon
R: Reset level
F: Toggle fullscreen (Windows version only)

Update: I've uploaded a fixed Web port that no longer has the issues where very few stars appear and tile textures aren't randomized. This brings it in line with the original Windows version and contains no other changes or fixes. For those interested, the problem arose from calling the randomize() function in GameMaker every time I needed a random integer, instead of just calling randomize() once at the start of the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#45Overall(Jam)3.99
#52Fun(Jam)3.89
#72Innovation(Jam)3.90
#90Mood(Jam)3.82
#163Audio(Jam)3.57
#318Theme(Jam)3.65
#500Graphics(Jam)3.33

Comments

yahooda says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:47am

This is definitely one of my favorite Ludum Dare games that I've played. I had a little bit of trouble understanding the concept at first, but after the first two levels when I finally understood what happened to the blocks when I clicked and how to change them effectively I mostly breezed through it, enjoying every bit. There is a great sense of difficulty scale as the game progresses, introducing each new concept slowly and intuitively, with only a couple levels feeling too simple or easy. The game overall invokes a very lonely, lost in space feeling, especially in the ending, which was very impressive for a game made in such a short amount of time.

KhaoTom says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:02am

Excellent game, well done good sir!

Perjoka says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:45pm

Great game, well done!

Smokeylope says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:02pm

Nice idea. The music and the atmosphere of the game are great.

Fabraz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:02pm

Excellent concept and mood. The weapon is unconventional but could have been taken further. Seeing ahead of time what you pull "from the rift" makes it predictable. Imagine any tile is something different and you can't predict what you will reveal. Hilarity and potential is endless there.

elpaulo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:08pm

Love the pixel art you made. Fun to play. Maybe need a little tutorial.

TailyILoveYou says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:13pm

Very nice little game, I love the mechanics. The story is really interesting as well, I love the self dialogue the character has. The ending even gave me a little hit of feels :P

Jungle says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:13pm

Good game!Graphs are ok. I do not like jump on left hand.

scorder says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:20pm

Excellent!
Audio and storyline work very well together. The learning curve is also great.
I think the controls could be more friendly; I found it hard to synchronize movement+jump with a single hand.

funisfun8 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:21pm

Wow, you have a really complex and interesting mechanic here, yet you present it in such a way that it is easily understandable. It reminds me of Portal. The graphics are GREAT, the mechanic is GENIUS, the level design is challenging and interesting, the mood is PERFECT and overall the game is just brilliant. Well done!

guoboism says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:29pm

I give you my 5 star overall! This is really well-crafted puzzle! The mechanism is profound like Braid! I love the end game moment!

MGhareeb32 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:40pm

Great game! I liked the presentation and how the concept was introduced bit by bit through the levels and the dialog. It also has some odd fell to it (in a good way :D).

Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:08pm

Nice mechanic! This is a very creative concept!

CJ K says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:36pm

Great puzzler, was fun to figure out. It appears that some of the items/warp gates are there to fool the player into trying to go for them? I didn't like that quite as much, made me feel dumb once I realized :)

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:41pm

Awesome concept, very original! Challenging but very fun!

plams says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:42pm

That was some excellent puzzles all the way through to the end! I really like the recursiveness of some of the levels. Great atmosphere also. Great work!

YarharALC says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:50pm

Reminded me of Snapshot. In no means is that a bad thing WHATSOEVER. Snapshot is my favorite game that should've been a flash game.

The puzzles didn't seem tricky enough for me, and that's my only real complaint. Bookmarking this game so I don't lose it. Can't wait to see where it places.

dos says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:47pm

Loved the game, feels really big, complete and well designed for a game jam entry. Great job!

Tortoise says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:15am

First off Id like to say this is, if not my favorite LudemDare game, it takes my top 5 easily. I loved the gameplay, puzzle design, and how the story fit into it and the audio set the mood so well. definitely would love to see this developed further. A few things though, I didn't see the connection with the theme (I might have missed something though) and textures could have varied slightly between the purple and oranage blocks. Overall awesome game.

roving-stone says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:16am

Really like the music. I love the teleportation effect. Nice work!

seankimdesign says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:23am

Whoa. That was really amazing. What an unexpected treat. I thought your puzzles were simply brilliant. Fantastic way to tie in the theme as well. Brilliant!

Bitterdeath says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:30am

After 100+ games, this is my first 5 stars across the board rating. It's excellent. The mechanic is introduced at a good pace, allowing the player to understand how each feature works. Sound, music, graphics; all enjoyable. Very very nice.

lucidsheep says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:10am

Wow, excellent game! Clever and original mechanic, interesting and mysterious story, and thoughtful / well scaffolded puzzles. You should expand on this idea - I'd buy a full version of this game!

EdwardGreysky says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:54am

Good concept but the controls might be improved

Will Edwards says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:13pm

Absolutely loved it. (Would have liked to have used arrow keys instead of forcing to use AD)

Dreyan says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:35pm

Outstanding entry. Puzzle design excelled considering the time frame, and a polished aesthetic. This one really had me thinking and I enjoyed seeing it through to the end. Now I want more :)

BoyWithStick says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:36am

Great puzzle game. I like the concept and the narrative throughout the game. It kept me entertained and wanted me to play further. One of my favorites so far. Excellent job!

Tatsu Studio says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:29am

Good game.very entertaining.

Enneract says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:23pm

Awesome game! I really enjoyed the atmosphere of the game. The gun mechanic was really cool, but I felt like it could have been taken even further. Great work :)

dydx says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:25pm

Great story, atmosphere, and puzzles. The ending was really cool. Nice job.

Zeriver says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:09pm

Whoa nice mechanic and decent execution. Smart level design.
I really like the mood, i don't know if it's because of music, graphics or story, maybe both. And that ending... pretty much the ideal way to end this game.

andrewkennedy says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:05am

Overall it was a really fun game! I got stuck eventually (I'm not great at puzzle games).

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:53am

Love this puzzle game. Well done! Tough puzzles, indeed. Took at least two minds to get through.

The story was a bit mysterious, which fits well the entire research theme.

Mouch says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:58pm

Awesome Story! Awesome Music! Awesome Graphics! Awesome Puzzles! AWESOME GAME! .... but a bit too easy :D

Well done mate!

shadow64 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:05pm

Great work here, man. Really enjoyed this one and the puzzles were really well done. I wasn't able to finish yet, but I'll definitely be coming back for more. Congrats on finishing and dooooo more. The music creates an awesome mood, too. Very nicely done. Loops incredibly well.

nutcrack says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:56pm

nice puzzle-like game...love the art

steboots says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:37pm

Very nice game. I enjoy puzzle games like this, very rewarding and gentle at first, to a slow progression of mega frustration and determination. The difficulty scaled very nicely, my regards to the level designer.

phi6 says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 10:35am

This is amazing, didn't expect much but was totally hooked in! The puzzle mechanics, mood, ambient sounds all added to the atmosphere. And I loved the ending, even if it is somewhat disturbing! I also created a platformer/Metroidvania type thing, and was really glad I stumbled onto your entry as it provided me with a lot of inspiration for study. Good job, top marks!

Warpgames says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 11:27am

Nice game, graphics can be better though.

phi6 says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 4:18pm

Thanks for your comment on Nuclear Autumn! I agree with all your points. In addition to all your suggestions, I think a way to let the player manually add markers/annotations to their map might be an interesting way to record progress as well! What do you think?

phi6 says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 5:55pm

Thanks again for the reply! Well, yes I've been playing a lot of old school Metroids and Castlevanias, and while a map is handy I think there is a lot of UI work that can be done to make them even more accessible. Nuclear Autumn doesn't have a map, I was going to create one but ran out of time.

Metroidvanias essentially boil down to finding abilties to let you access certain areas, and backtracking is essential to that. So areas that you need to backtrack to, needs to be marked. Of course some secret areas should probably not be too obvious, but that's where the letting the player annotate/place markers comes in!

There are a few mods in Skyrim and other similar open world games that allow you to annotate maps, so why not in Metroidvanias?

I realise I'm preaching to the choir here, since it was your feedback that initially started this but if I were to take Nuclear Autumn further I would definitely have multiple large areas (each one similar to the level I have already created) - and a map system like what we've discussed I would definitely consider implementing.

Exciting times!

Btw. I need to think up of more interesting game mechanics/abilities rather than just jetpack/walljump/double jump etc... Something like your rift gun and transformation thing is really cool, need to start thinking outside the box! :)

nassi says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 8:46pm

That was epic.

As already mentioned the puzzles were well constructed and the mood spot on. Especially loved the ending. Took a while to realize what was going on, but it only added to the mood so not really an issue. It was fun figuring it out on my own instead of being told what to do.

Apr 27, 2015 @ 10:19pm

Nice idea. I like that all level's I've seen have 2 exit doors, either way It would be quite easy to solve the puzzle, and this way, you have to decide which is the viable one.
The first time I played I didn't notice I spent all amno, so some feedback would be nice.
Also It would be nice to have a workaround so you don't need to reset the room yourself when stuck.

Urbanbg says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 10:30pm

Nice game. Felt very smooth and well thought out. Well done!

phi6 says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 11:40pm

Hey, I liked this entry so much I included the game as part of my Top 10 Platformers of Ludum Dare 32:
http://ludumdare.com/compo/2015/04/27/my-top-10-platformer-games-of-ludum-dare-32/

Apr 28, 2015 @ 3:37am

Whoah. super cool. the ending left me thinking. the puzzles were pretty easy, but overall its great.

6DownStudios says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 4:16am

Great mechanic, really dig this interpretation. The level design is excellent too, script bits like "must not allow these shadows to lead me astray" especially. Tying gameplay and story together with a neat little puzzle, this is how tutorials should be done.
I also love the art; low-rez is hard, it's not just less is more. Tidbits like the star twinkling, the teleport animation and the character's head turning make a big difference when it all adds up visually.

Snicklodocus says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 3:02am

I have to say, excellent level design. I also really liked the music, and the little effects such as stars moving backwards in rifts. Great job!

Bendev says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 11:31pm

I just love what you made here, man. You carefully introduced each concept and the difficulty curve was spot-on. I enjoyed every level of it.

I think I love you.

pi_pi3 says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 10:17am

Damn. That was awesome. LD should have a rating category "Story". Because I'd rate this 8/5.

Robber says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 2:13pm

very nice game! personally not a fan of the controls, but the graphics, leveldesign, puzzles and concept are implemented most excellent

RyanNielson says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 4:54pm

Great presentation and mood, I especially loved the music.

mystakin says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 7:06pm

This game is hella rad. I'll admit, I have a soft spot for puzzle platformers, but this feels like a really good one. Incredible atmosphere, great pacing, and fun. Great work. :)

Crowbeak says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 4:21am

That's a really neat pair of mechanics, the rift and transmutation. Very solid. Bonus points on the graphics for being colorblind friendly.

May 4, 2015 @ 4:21am

got a good amount of level design. loved the stars. Would like to see a game with 30-50 levels.

ohsqueezy says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 11:52pm

This is a great concept on its own, and the levels burning through makes it even more interesting. This would be such a fun game to design levels for.

NAL says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 11:17am

Not bad at all. Good level design, great game idea, plays solidly and on the whole a lot of fun! I thought a couple areas could do with building on though. The controls weren't my thing (left-handed movement in a platformer - I would have preferred W to be jump to Space), and some of the menu graphics didn't fit the in-game graphics. And just related to the jam, I don't know if it's that I didn't get far enough, but I never got to use the "weapon" as an actual weapon.

LukeZaz says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 6:49pm

Very nice game. The introduction of the mechanics was effective and interesting and I enjoyed each level.

pstudio says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 4:22pm

Superb. Interesting mechanic accompanied with interesting levels.

Forlorn79 says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 1:01am

Straight up awesome, but could be even greater with more polish!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]