Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Hit The Roach, Jack!

by rodobodolfo - Jam Entry

Hit The Roach, Jack! is an (somewhat) endless runner. Our Unconventional Weapon is baking soda bombs that cause the roaches to melt!

Well we (a team of 2) managed to submit just in time. A lot left behind, but overall a great experience. Due to lack of time we didn't manage to pull off everything we wanted, but we are pretty satisfied with the result.

What was left unfinished.
* Scrolling Background
* Final Cut-scene
* Final Boss
* In-game Music
* Difficulty: The Roach spawner algorithm needs fixing and sometimes its too easy and very few roaches appear. Same with shooting speed.

Tools Used:
* Unity 5
* Visual Studio Community
* Sprite Something
* Bfxr
* Windows Movie Maker

Everything done for the jam except the music which is part of our album "Vic Raider & The Vibrant Fire" which you can listen for free here at https://soundcloud.com/vic-raider

About us: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Point-Bleep-Studios/387548891432894

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#238Humor(Jam)3.42
#592Audio(Jam)2.41
#620Mood(Jam)2.92
#696Fun(Jam)2.78
#732Overall(Jam)2.96
#761Graphics(Jam)2.77
#925Theme(Jam)2.57
#971Innovation(Jam)2.14

Comments

terpin says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:34am

Hah this time of year I can totally relate to roach-hatred. Very neat platformer, but you may want to take a look over your code and optimize it a bit - took forever to load for me (and dropbox is pretty darn dependable!).

ianb96 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:43am

Very fun and entertaining! Could do with checkpoints or a health system though, the farthest I got was about 150.

Pixel Heart says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:55am

Hit the roach, Jack! Ahah! The title made me laugh! By the way, nice and simple runner, maybe it doesn't exactly fits the theme...but who cares! Hit the road, Jack!

Cryotube says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:15am

Could use a checkpoint system, it is pretty damn frustrating and feels like you are sometimes being screwed over by the map generation. That aside, the projectile feels great to use (melting roaches!)

Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:42am

Liked:
- The animations. Both the roach melting and the bag-of-rocks-when-jumping were appreciated
- Pretty bug free as far as I could tell. Controls were responsive; things didn't glitch

Disliked:
- (what was left unfinished)
- It would have been nice if the projectile arc was affected by the mouse position

Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:53am

Very nice intro cuts scene! The humor is really good, love the title, love the graphics. I hope you guys continue with this game cause this has SO much potential! Great work!

mentatzoe says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:38am

Aww, I haven't been able to get the game to load on web (Plugin failure) but I really wanted to play this. It definitely gave me an earworm though, hahaha!

adsilcott says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:32pm

Very fun! I love the concept :)

jplur says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:51am

fun little game, the dialogue intro is adorable

richiebranson says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:01am

nice effort! Good combination of runner and shoot 'em up mechanics. Love the title as well!

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:31am

Good infinite runner game. Missed having some checkpoints along the way, and some sort of more tutorial like approach design. Took me a while to accidentally find out we can double jump. A bit more polish and this could be even better.

devilright says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:13pm

That was hilarious! I would just watch the game intro on loop.

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:35pm

Really great visual style. I like how you made timing very much a part of the shooting mechanic. The death animations were great and I'm glad they still left their goo even after you died.

decodersmith says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 8:05pm

Loading time was pretty long, but the game was fun. Good title, and a good amount of work done for a team of two.

rodobodolfo says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 7:47am

Thanks for all the nice feedback everyone!

We would like to finish the game with more levels and polish and with more weapons and challenges. I think the load times are long because of the video file. We'll do in-engine cinematics next time.

Thank you for playing!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]