Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

THUMP

by Steffan 'Ruirize' James - Compo Entry

THUMP your way to VICTORY by EUTHANIZING pathetic, stupid DRONES.

Bump and thump the drones into the killzones to stop them from escaping your maze. Do not rest until you achieve a great proportion of murder to freedom.

Controls: WASD or ARROWS.
Minimum Resolution: 1280x720.

This game requires (on OS/X and Linux) that you have Love2D installed - download it here: love2d.org

Known Bugs:
* The rams sometimes jam. Not sure what's going on with that!
Not-bugs:
* Drones will fly into the killzones without dying - they can only die after being thumped

Planned improvements:
* Make the killzones less visible when they are "inactive"
* AI Difficulty slider for motion planning
* Separate charge meters for each ram

Problems in development:
* I spent way too long making the rams "meaty".
* Love2D's implementation of Box2D is haaaard.
* Also spent way too long playing Mario Kart 8 with my fellow Darers.
* Probably spent a little too much time selecting fonts.

Interesting stuff about development:
* The rams were the first thing I made.
* The actual game was the last.
* It was my first time playing with vector graphics for visuals; I think it went well!

I'd love to hear what you think about my game and where I can take it further!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#165Innovation3.72
#357Overall3.38
#377Graphics3.35
#433Theme3.48
#439Audio2.90
#608Fun2.98
#678Mood2.77
#826Humor2.17

Comments

roving-stone says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:37am

The graphics are really nice and clean. It's tough to play, every drone I euthanized seemed like it was by accident. The thumps do feel meaty though :)

Benjamin says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:43am

The game is innoventive and the weapon IS unconventional. Some of the killzones are really too small to be effectives. I think that spikes or lazers wall with instant death on touch would have feel more rewarding for this game. Sometime drones enter and leave killzone without apparent damage.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:48am

63-46 was my best. Neat idea! (And yes, the extra time spent on the ram sound and screenshake was apparent!)

biscuitdough says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:07am

difficult to play with skill, managed to get a few out, but felt it was more due to chance.

ElectroYak says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:28am

Very unconventional weapon, really good. Its a difficult though, I feel I was just getting the drones in the killzone by chance

eddynardo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:39am

Well done.I really liked the concept,its really innovative but it was hard for me to understand the physics.Keep it up,you can make a brilliant puzzle game out of this!

joe40001 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:58am

Innovative game. There was a bit much going on so it was hard to feel fully in control, but I applaud how meaty those rams are. You definitely feel the impact. It's a fun game to play around with.

Small bug(?): When I finished the game an audio clip seemed to be constantly restarting. No big deal though.

phi says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:10am

The sounds are a little bit confusing at the beginning and start to be annoying when playing longer, but in some weird way I think they are very fitting. :D
Anyway, good gameplay with interesting mechanics, even though it feels a little bit out of control at times. Great job on visuals!

Kardamom says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:24am

I think the mechanics are good. I especially appreciate the idea of using (deliberately suboptimal) drone AI as a mechanic. When the game ended I was surprised, I didn't know what was the victory/loose condition and suspected there just isn't any. Maybe some stronger feedback when the drones reach the humans will help. The sound effects worked, but same music would further help to keep pacing.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:41am

I have fixed the game-breaking bug that prevented you from killing drones in some situations.

CiderPunk says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:57pm

59-25 I am death incarnate! nice game!

slowfrog says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:04pm

Wow, fun and unexpected! The oblique killzone are especially frustrating, because there's no oblique thumping.

Bashabookoos says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:06pm

Great visuals and physics. I like the idea behind the game play too, but I think it could have been developed more. The loud, high pitch charging noise was too grating on my ears. Also I don't think I was able to euthanize those little drones on purpose, every time I tried to knock one in it would just bounce out. I would say the theme was confusing and the goal unclear in the beginning.

Cosine says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:14pm

I loved it! I really liked the difficulty level: hard to catch on but really satisfying once I could do it reliably. I noticed you said you used vector graphics: does that mean you couldn't have thrown in a maximize button? The graphics were quite nice. Really satisfying game. 90-30 :)

Solifuge says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:34pm

Solid arcade style game, and for the compo no less! Does your engine natively use Vector Graphics, because that's pretty swanky. The core mechanic and graphical effects felt good to use, though the recharge time made it pretty tough to really defend yourself, or kill drones, or whatever heinous thing I was doing. Maybe longer but individual recharges for each direction's bumper would be nice, so you could strategize and make more meaningful choices? Speaking of whatever heinous thing I was doing, I liked how In Media Res the game's framing/narrative was too; I had no idea if I was a good guy or a bad guy, and as a player felt like a robot mindlessly euthenizing other robots. Good stuff!

mildmojo says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:22am

This is nifty. It sort of like extracting table nudges from pinball and making it into its own game. The thumping felt great (though it took me a bit to realize I wanted to shove fro the opposite side from my target) and your font selection was time well-spent. =)

I think I let everyone escape from that bottom left corner. Never figured out how to angle them into those tiny diagonal death boxes.

Clean design, good feel. Nice work.

Sublustris says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:39pm

Nice idea )))

Wevel says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:56pm

It seems a bit confusing how you euthanize a drone but other wise a nice game

Junber says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:05pm

Cool game. Good concept and nice visuals. I would be a bit easier to understand the to understand the controls (and mor logical?) if they were reversed but you get used to it very quickly.

Butkeim says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:16pm

Nice graphics, innovative gameplay, good job ;)

StrayByte says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:23pm

I like the idea but it seems that it's quite random to get the guys in the killzones. probably would have been better to have more control over it. Good job anyway!

LD_LAN_Party says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:31pm

Quite interesting mechanic.

josefnpat says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:47am

I love the polish and juice for this game, but I did feel left a rather bit helpless as to how I really could prevent my self from losing or help myself to win.

Clean up the gameplay so your actions have more of an effect on the game!

Really nice job!

taviandir says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:31pm

Once I understood it, it was very interesting! Great entry!

Shivur says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:50pm

Interesting

GlowingSnail says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:24pm

Larger killzones, slower drones, or faster thumper reload would make it less random.

reheated says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 9:23am

Pretty fun! The rams do feel thouroughly meaty. Is there any way to... not.. survive the onslaught?

jprogman says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:11pm

Definitely a unique game. Glad I wasn't too obligated to destroy every drone. That would be agonizing.

Pretty cool game, but I do wish for an ability to change to a smaller non-widescreen resolution though.

KaiseanGames says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 8:47pm

Like others said, seems too accidental or drones enter the kill field and do not die. Otherwise, it's a nice concept. Just needs a bit more refining.

Well done.

Rialgar says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 10:38pm

See me playing your game here: http://youtu.be/ilOi8hU84ZE

very unusual game mechanic. It works perfectly. The execution is flawless. The playing field looks like a screen, so I feel like I am playing a game inside the game. The upper rams jammed once, maybe it was part of the game, made it much harder in any case.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]