Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Garden of Strife

by Nanolotl - Compo Entry

Plant seeds in the garden and rid it of pests.
Collect orbs and open a big ol'door.

Controls:
Arrow keys to move
X to cut
Z/C to select seeds
Space to plant

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#79Graphics4.10
#121Overall3.74
#162Fun3.63
#211Theme3.78
#405Innovation3.32
#431Humor2.94
#514Mood2.97
#575Audio2.65

Comments

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:12am

I love it! Cute graphics, simple yet fitting sound, and fun mechanic. Though I think the "cutting" distance could be further—it was difficult to damage enemies without getting wasted yourself.

PachowStudios says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:54am

Great graphics! The style meshes really well. One of the more polished games I've seen so far! :)

Ossi says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:55am

This is really well done! Great graphics and smooth controls. My only gripe is that it's a bit hard to hit the enemies without getting hit yourself. I love the use of the theme, well done!

minnouu says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:02am

Excellent graphics, and excellent game. Once you get used to using the plants it's really fun.

GTA LUDUM V says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:14am

this is very good!!, I like how the plants have different properties to kill enemies (man that duck shield is very frustrating at the beginning). The playthrough makes me curious and makes me want to finish the game!! that's a good thing! I wish there's a boss fight after collecting the orb though~! splendid job!

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:16pm

Nifty little Zelda-esque game. The slash distance is a bit short, tricky to hit things without getting hit yourself. Good variation of puzzles and enemies typical of the genre.

Catman says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:25pm

Awesome pixelart and really polished! Cool level design too. I finished it, and I too thought there would be some boss eheh! :D
Good job!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:35am

I enjoyed this a lot, I really liked the planting mechanic. Would be cool to expand it so it focuses even more on this, with loads of different plants that do different things!

sbot1101 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:23pm

Insane to think this was made in such a short time! well done. Love it

Yakka says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:38pm

Awesome!!! Nothing to say, this is just great. If you like the idea that plants and vegetables can be terrifying weapons, take a look at my game :)

eemmbbeerr says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:44pm

Solid as granite. If I wanted to pick out what I liked best, it would be the extremely well-done level design.

Cstudios says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:44pm

Excellent game :D

reiknight says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:50pm

"Zelda" meets "Plants Vs Zombies". Great game, congratulations!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:26pm

Nice graphics. I had hoped for some kind of boss behind the door.

DaveCarlile says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:32pm

Really like this one. Just the right amount of puzzle difficulty. Well polished. Great job!

Garris says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:22pm

Solid graphics and sound really make this. I see a pretty heavy zelda influence, and that blended will with the concept of weaponized plants. The attack distance was a little bit of an issue at first, but I fixed it by getting good. Well done!

thaaks says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:49pm

Great game! It's fun to play, the graphics are well done, the sound is simple but fits the theme. It's motivating to figure out how to kill the enemies using the different seeds.
My favorite enemy is the moving eye - it just looks great with it's seesaw movement! Wonderful entry!

GameQuester says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:49pm

I like the graphics and the gameplay. Good Job!

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:45pm

Lovely! I couldn't figure out how to get the last orb in the southeast, but I had a blast playing it.

jprogman says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 3:48am

I sort of wish the melee weapon range is a little longer. I had to get close to the enemies and got easily hurt.
Love the usage of vegetables as weapons. Very imaginative.

Modoc73 says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 10:25am

Nice game. Quite polished. Nice graphics and good variety in enemies. Was sort of looking for something more after collecting the orbs than just a congratulations screen but well done!

Demy says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 1:16pm

Very nice gameplay, it feels like real old school game and I want to hit all the walls to search for hidden treasures like in old games.

arhpositive says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 10:09am

Solid entry. I couldn't stop playing until the end. Core gameplay aspects are good and the progression feeling is very well implemented with more plant types appearing at the right moment. I expected a boss fight in the end, but I guess you did a great job given the time limit. Keep up the good work!

OadT says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 10:37am

Great graphics, great idea, great game!

plams says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 11:06am

Nice game! It was satisfying to figure out the various way to kill enemies

JonathanG says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 6:07pm

Great work, lovely game design and use of the theme. Clever little puzzles and a satisfying power/difficulty climb. Reminds me of Zelda and Adventure!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]