Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

The Legend of the Fisherman

by UrbanHelsing - Jam Entry

This game is about a fisherman, and his friends, who need to survive against an onslaught of slime creatures. To do this, he must equip himself with a fish and slap those slimey bastards back from whence they came.

Sadly, fish don't hang around on the ground. You yourself must reel them in from the lake using your trusted fishing rod. You do this by getting up by the water and pushing the interact button when the water starts rippling. When the bar at the top shows up you must spam the interact button to reel the fish in.

Fish can be used in more ways than just a weapon. You could eat the fish and regain some lost health, or you could sell the fish at the computer (don't ask why). When you sell the fish you gain gold, and that gold can be used for upgrades, such as a better fishing rod or a boat.

HELP
1. Get a weapon (fish). Press the interaction key (J) near rippling water to start fishing. Wait until you got something on the hook, then start mashing the interation key to catch the fish. Bigger fishes will require more "willpower". Your collected fishes will be shown at the bottom of the screen.

2. Defend yourself. Select your favourite fish with N/M from your inventory. Attack with H. Different fishes will have different attack properties. Lost health could be recovered buy eating your fish (K).

3. Plan your future. Surplus fish could be sold online by pressing the interaction key (J) on the computer for selling. The money you receive could be used t upgrade your fishing rod or even buying a boat. Buying upgrades is done by presing the interaction key (J) on the computer for buying.

4. Get social. Need help? Let up to 3 of your friends join in the multiplayer COOP fishing adventure.

CREDITS:
Programmer: Erik Hallin
Graphics & Idea: Emil Hallin
Sound & Graphics: Fredrik Hallin

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness95%
#484Humor(Jam)2.93
#549Mood(Jam)3.00
#554Innovation(Jam)3.04
#557Audio(Jam)2.61
#586Theme(Jam)3.26
#650Graphics(Jam)3.02
#651Overall(Jam)3.06
#768Fun(Jam)2.68

Comments

terryg says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:53am

I uncompressed it and ran it but i got this error: "The program can't start because OpenAL32.dll is missing from your computer. Try reinstall...". This is a fresh copy of windows 7 professional 64bit in case you want to know. The game concept looks interesting. I hope to be able to play it.

erikkire says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:08am

If you can not start due to missing OpenAL32.dll, you need to install OpenAL. Or wait, we will put the required files inside the download folder soon...

bradur says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:09am

Interesting idea that you have to first fish, then use the fish as weapons / currency / food. The combat was a little hard, since it was hard to stay out of range. Button mashing to get the fish was fun too, although I can see it getting old :D. Nice atmosphere, the sound design was great!

Zeriver says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:53am

I like how game forces you to manage your resources.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:00pm

Nice concept, fishing is always nice, good job.

randoman says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:17pm

Got lost the first time I played, so much buttons to remember D:
Once I got used to it I could finally enjoy the game. Good job

Alice says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:25pm

Cool idea! I struggled a bit used to all the buttons, but it was worth the struggle.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:29pm

Nice job getting the complete package: resource gathering, marketplace, combat, multiplayer. Looks like a lot of work went into this. I had some issues with the combat, I felt like the hit-box for my weapon wasn't always matching.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:45pm

The controls aren't very good. The mashing is annoying. It's possible to move super fast by using the left stick and the d-pad at the same time.

Mak says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:46pm

Cool mechanic, I really liked that when you get hit you have to eat your own weapon to continue fighting haha, it is also cool the feeling that you companions are in danger while you fish. Combat was hard, but I think is for the best, as getting in danger is a thrilling experience. But the camera sure needs some work, it is frustrating to run into some enemies I couldn't see. Maybe you could just center it in the character.

parity_b1t says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:30pm

cool concept of using fish for everything.

Tatsu Studio says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:04am

I liked the idea, was creative! ^^

eddynardo says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:54pm

I liked the idea.I had trouble playing like most people complain about the controls but i found the graphics/sfx really good!

peterfsat says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:55pm

For some reason I had to press really fast to catch the first fish! Other than that I liked that you programmed this in raw C++/OpenGL! Some basic sound would be awesome.

erikkire says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:24pm

Just to clarify:
The different fishes you can catch have different properties, both damage, attack area, sell price, heal value, and how hard they are to catch. Thats why they vary.
And there is alot of sound.

MonoS says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:02pm

I'm somewhat sorry to give to your game so low score cause you programmed it in pure c++ [and i know the hassle of doing so].

The game need some better mechanics and ui, i had to replay the game a lot of time before understanding at least how to wield a fish.

A little tutorial, also with images would also help.

syncxzoz says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:27am

overall...the idea is good... but so hard to control because too many button to remember and got no hint at the game... i think you must provide some shortcut / hint to show information what player must to do...

scorched says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:13am

Sadly didn't manage to get any of the buttons except left stick doing anything:-(

siryakko says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:26am

Nice entry, nice work on the concept and the gameplay

ermrk says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:56am

Nice game, after I figured out how to play it.

bace1000 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:23pm

I kept forgetting the controls :( A nice little game though!

elpaulo says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:28pm

Nice entry. Would be cool if the enemies jump back when you hit them.

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:18pm

Really cute style. I like how you drew the fisherman. ANd I liked the setting :)

sekaru says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:32pm

The idea was pretty cool but the gameplay was a bit lacking (specifically in the controls department).

Kate Kligman says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:34pm

I liked the camera movement and how the screen eventually centered on the player as they moved around.

I used an xbox controller and wore out my hand trying to pull my first fish out of the water.

Good job and good use of the theme!

KhaoTom says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:41pm

The title screen is so soothing.

KirbiKaka says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 6:52pm

Cool game! I really like the concept of the game, and it's awesome that you got co-op to work! I like the way you use a single resource to power the whole game: fish are the weapons, the healing, and the money generation mechanic. I kind of got the same feeling I get with Animal Crossing and a lot of other games of wanting to optimize my path. I wanted to catch as many fish as I could, but not too many (so I could go get upgrades and hopefully catch them even faster). I wanted to sell all the fish I could to get more money, but not all of them, since I needed to fight slimes. I think it was a cool way to punish being greedy with your fish :b

I think one thing that could be improved about the game is some of the controlling. The camera, for one, has a nice sliding effect, but allows you to move too far off center. I appreciated that you guys took the time to get a smooth camera follow, but the player should still be relatively centered, otherwise it's hard to see where you're going! Also, I thought the controls were a little unintuitive. I'm used to touch typing, so I have my index finger on J usually. It didn't make too much sense to me to have to hit H to attack. I think I would have preferred the buttons JKL; instead of HJKL. It also makes it easier for me because I can switch fish with N and M with my index finger while attacking with K, rather than trying to control H, N, and M all with my index finger.

Overall, great concept; I think y'all could go pretty far with this if you wanted to continue with it post-jam :]!

KaiseanGames says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 2:58am

Nice one!

Luminar says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 6:26pm

Nice one! Loved the fact that I can use a controller :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]