Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

PANIC★PARTY

by molecats - Jam Entry

THis is a cHunk of something we afraid to call a "game", with only one lonely stage of total disgrace and humiliation for game designers.

It is pretty at lest.

Instructions:

[↑][←][↓][→] - Walk

[Space] - Panic

[Z] - Scare

[X] - Lure the Priest :)

/*Spoiler Priest Love to watch new Star Wars Trailer*/



You are the Panic Man on the space vessel travelling through the hyperspace. You need to raise the panic level of the passengers to destabilize the vessel and lead it to destruction.

YOU CAN WALK WITH ARROW KEYS!

You can raise the panic level of individuals or the groups while holding [space] button, which consumes stamina. You also can scare the crowd with [Z] button (costs 10 stamina). And watch for the priest - he calms down the most panicking groups. To avoid this you can use [X] button to lure the priest near the TV.

The game ends when enough people are panicking.

Design&Art&Code by Molecats Team (@bogimp, @weilard, @orangemagik, @chervyaka)
Music by Mushroomer (www.mushroomer.net)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#74Theme(Jam)4.03
#95Graphics(Jam)4.24
#118Innovation(Jam)3.77
#133Audio(Jam)3.66
#196Humor(Jam)3.50
#274Mood(Jam)3.41
#447Overall(Jam)3.31
#706Fun(Jam)2.77

Comments

Aaranos says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:30am

Overall pretty good as a whole. Major complaint would be the excruciatingly slow stamina regeneration. If you fail it takes forever to try again. A reset button would greatly improve gameplay frustration.

molecats says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:33am

Aaranos, Thanks! Yes, that stamina thing was the "last minute" before submit (as usual:)). We well fix this in future postjam updates.

murilo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:14am

I can't do anything but hold space. Then the guy runs off screen/room crying. :( X and Z don't work. The graphics and animation are just fantastic!! Hope I can play it properly later! I'll try another browser or something.

molecats says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:29am

murilo, it seems you haven't figured out how X&Z functions work (you need to gather some stamina...). It's not your mistake, it's ours - it's badly designed. Just wait for updated postjam build, we will fix this.

ionbattle says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:41am

I pressed the space bar and immediately ran through the wall and into space... That said once I figured out you can use the arrow keys it was sort of fun.

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:24pm

interesting idea, and really nice audio. seems pretty easy to panic yourself right off the ship. :-p never did quite get the hang of it, but great submission.

TeamCalcium says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:27pm

Good Game! The background Audio is a little bit disorienting, and the Stamina regenerates way too slow. Still a fun experience playing this.

j_peeba says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:29pm

I can see this as being fun but, like you said, it's still seriously half-baked as a game. :)

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:32pm

Really well made game, art is great, sound is also great, nice job! I've enjoyed background Russian voice ;)

ss64games says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:33pm

I really enjoyed the presentation. Some of my favorite pixel art I've seen while rating games (love all the different characters and animations). I think the music fits very well also. Unfortunately the movement in the game seemed a bit broken. When I press space to make people panic I'm not sure why my character moves towards the bottom right of the screen. And there appears to be a bug in which if you go all the way to the bottom right you can no longer go back up the screen and are trapped.

OneTrueAaron says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:35pm

It's a really interesting concept, and it was overall well done. Good music, good graphics. The only real complaint i would have is how slow stamina regenerates compared to how quickly the priest calms everyone down. If you don't save the stamina to lure him, he's pretty much going to calm everyone down before you can.

Smiley says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:38pm

I love the graphic and that music :)

chipcaramel says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:39pm

Great game. A little tweaking will help. Looking forward to PostJam!

strong99 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:43pm

I like the idea of the game :) It's funny to scare all the people and let them panic.

Taldius says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:43pm

I liked the idea, the graphics was beautiful but I was able to scare the people. The face that the avatar slide a little on the ground when he moves make the game kinda hard to control.
Good job overall!

nuprahtor says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:33pm

Panic: 100%!
It was weird to listen to Russian voices in the music (too bad it isn't looping, it's pretty chill to listen to).
Some glitches with the physics, overall it's very fun.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:22pm

Great music and interesting take on the idea! =)

pistolshrimps says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:51pm

Congrats on the idea, the art and the music! If you only had more time for gameplay :) What would you add if you could?

MaesK says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:55pm

Nice graphics and interesing idea, but I lost the Z & X button functions too fast and never saw them again. Good work anyway, animations are great.

Cstudios says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:00pm

The game seems to be cool. I love the music, the aesthetics, but unfortunately i could not increase the scare level. I tried to scare the people, pressed Z but nothing happened, just the screaming was heard. Good idea, giving a good rating, however i could not play it properly.

Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:57am

Great concept! Love the Pixel Art! Strangely addicting.

TeamFlare says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:24pm

Awesome, especially the music :D

May 2, 2015 @ 4:11pm

This was a very odd but cool idea. I liked it. The graphics looked really nice too

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]