Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

SoulWeapon

by dieblume86 - Jam Entry

Here is my LD32 game.

You're a spirit using your Soul to shoot enemies. So you can be safe and wait the soul raise or can go faster but you will have less soul.

There is juste 1 level and 1 boss.

WASD : move
Spacebar : jump
Left clic: shoot

There is problem with Firefox, use Chrome to have all working well.


Enjoy


Some little changes :
-bullets are bigger
-enemies respawn are a little slower

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#183Fun(Jam)3.56
#191Mood(Jam)3.53
#239Overall(Jam)3.56
#301Theme(Jam)3.67
#324Graphics(Jam)3.68
#518Innovation(Jam)3.09
#560Humor(Jam)2.76
#1713Coolness39%

Comments

mentatzoe says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:56am

Loved the overall concept and the enemy animations!

jglrxavpok says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:25pm

The enemies respawn a bit too quickly I think.
Anyway, the concept and the graphics are good as well as the audio :)

guigrillo13 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:01pm

LOVE THE GAME!!!
Congratulations man!

Alexbrainbox says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:11pm

The concept was really nice.
Art-wise, the levels could have been developed a little more. I really liked the character art though, especially the climbing animation :)

The jumping physics might be something to work on for the next game - using variable speed for jumping is a small change that makes a big difference to game play.

Tres bien!

Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:14pm

Feels like a proper game and the controls feels just right. The only problem I have is that soul regains way too slow. Instead you should earn more soul from enemies than having to wait for more.

Sublustris says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:15pm

I'd like to set 5 for SFX :)

lucentbeam says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:16pm

Hey, very nice work! I like the shared life/attack pool, and I really enjoyed the character animations and parallax fg/bg. I encountered a few bugs -- if my mouse left the active area my keyboard controls stopped working. Also, if you walk left of the start area it seems you'll fall into a void?

Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:34pm

Cool game. Nice character/enemy design, particularly the animations. Pretty neat take on the theme too.

Goutye says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:38pm

Nice game! A really like the unconventional weapon (soul)! But the enemies respawn too quickly x) But I had fun!

Dudeguy says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:53pm

I love this game! the projectiles are a little hard to see, though.

dyfer says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:44pm

cool game and a good concept, i had a good fun on it , good work

Robinerd says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:02pm

First, the "soul" mechanic worked really well. Great choice to not let the player die when running out but rather disabling shooting and making you one-shottable. Some slight issues with the flying enemies flickering when on your position, but that's ok. Most of all: this was incredibly fun; motivated some strategies except for just rushing, had a great learning curve, well balanced overall and a really great boss fight! My heart is still pumping fast after killing that boss, and you should count on many 5* coming your direction!

NoxNode says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:05pm

Great game, like the difficult boss, only complain is that the red balls the boss shot out were so hard to see on the background. Was pretty frutrating when I kept getting hit by things I couldn't see, but wasn't frustrating enough for me to not try enough times to beat the boss. The key is to spam all your attacks when he's coming straight at you and heal up all the damage from the semi-invisible attacks he'll throw at you lol. Everything else was great tho, I like the using your health as a weapon mechanic.

nov1kk says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:20pm

Awesome game. Love it: the original idea, the fact of attacking with your own life, the design of the levels and the main character, and the music (the track that sounds while killing the boss is awesome). It's also very hard, which is good. Great job!

KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:42pm

Really enjoyed playing this game! Loved the music :)

Enneract says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:23pm

Awesome job. The control of the character feels great, and I loved the animations. Only things was it was a bit frustrating how fast the enemies re-spawned

Anshul Goyal says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:09pm

ledge grab is awesome. liked the idea. great work!

Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:00pm

This is a fun platformer concept. The multi-scrolling foreground/background and animations are all pretty great. The main character is very charming - reminds me of orco from he-man. I like the very subtle use of the full-screen noise here. Good show!

AdricZero says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:23pm

really nice looking and unique with the noise effect and glitches. really refreshing and polished entry

Tselmek says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:21pm

Nice gameplay. I think there should be a bit more levels for the player to get more familiarised with the controls and mechanics before heading to the boss fight, which by the way pretty intense. Nice art and kickass music.

TheCams says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 12:31pm

Nice animations, cool concept, nice job :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]