Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Robot Restores Nature

by shrapx - Compo Entry

In a Future where trashed robots roam the planet, and nothing grows, a robot discovers a lost secret. Nature is waiting below the surface. The robot uses his hose to spread water, which unlocks nature. The idea was to use nature as a weapon, and for all other robots to be broken and malfunctioning, or attempt to stop your progress. I did not fit any other bots into the 48 hours, So it becomes a more reflective game where the worlds reaction is the reward of playing.

Key Control: WASD to move, Space_Bar to shoot, Left_CTRL to recharge.

Mouse Control: Left_Click to shoot, Right_Click to recharge.

+ Windows 32bit build! (thanks eXpl0it3r!)[http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=19132]

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#74Mood3.75
#75Graphics4.11
#217Audio3.31
#386Innovation3.35
#676Overall3.05
#728Theme3.14
#748Humor2.35
#807Fun2.76

Comments

ianburnette says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:13pm

Wow, that was surprisingly beautiful. Love the way the plants grow and change. Sound fits really well, too.

10FingerArmy says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:14pm

Cool idea with the water. I could not figure out how to raise the water level again but what I saw was quite nice! It would have been great if there were more things to do in the world.

The tiles and protagonist are cute and the music rocks! I really like the background music. Good job!

shrapx says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:50pm

Thanks ianburnette and 10FingerArmy for your lovely comments!

I have added controls to the description :D (You can hack the controls from the config file)

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:23pm

Let's tally up the points!

- It's not a game, as there is no victory condition among other things. (-1 pet peeve nitpick point)

No mouse controller water hosing action (-1 interface issue point)

Character movement is based on cardinal directions while the world is isometric (-1 perspective distortion point)

The tile graphics remind me of the original X-Com (+1 nostalgia point) for whatever reason (+1 that definitely counts point)

The plant growing mechanic is novel (+1 neat mechanic point) and visually pleasing (+1 pretty pixels point)

The mood is tangible (+1 suitable audio point)

Final score: 2 / potential infinity

shrapx says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:42pm

Thanks HuvaaKoodia, for breaking it down. I was so close to implementing a victory condition. I intended to give a victory to the player that covers like 80% of any 64 x 64 area of the world. To give nature a good starting point :D

McFish says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:12pm

Controls are bit weird, but on the positive side you can refuse to play the game and escape the area by walking. Although this causes game to bug after a while ;-]

ViliX64 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:19pm

I absolutely love the art style :)

thaaks says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:21pm

Wonderful pixel graphics and in an isometri style. Just beautiful. Although I missed the "action" a bit it was pretty peaceful to just water the ground and see everthing grow. So full score regarding Mood ;-)
Background music fitted the game very well.
Thanks for this little recreation game!

stevenlr says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:32pm

Really beautiful game! However in its current state, the music doesn't quite reflect what is happening on the screen. I would love to see a finished version of the game, with the robots you were talking about, given how it already looks, I guess it would be a really fun game.

KaiseanGames says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:45pm

Very nice! Very nice, indeed. I just didn't know how to replenish the water. Is that even possible?

shrapx says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:54pm

Yes KaiseanGames, water can be collected from a tap at the start, and from a well that is not too far away, (holding the right mouse button or left control or E) I am afraid there are no other water sources (the time constraint):(

eXpl0it3r says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:18pm

Too bad you didn't fit in all the planned stuff, but even the remaining parts are rather beautiful and interesting.
There still seem to be some rendering issues where a tile renders over the player at certain times.
I really like the growing effect.

iapc says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:52am

It looks beautiful, but it's not really a game. It lacks both win and lose states..

Mantlair says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:09am

I have tried 32 bit version. It says failed to load walls.png. And game is white screen with glitches. Can you check it?

kivano says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:18am

The game is not working for us on Ubuntu14.04 64 bits: "error while loading shared libraries: libjsoncpp.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory" :(

shrapx says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:01am

oh wow, ill see what i can do kivano and mantlair!

kivano says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:16am

We managed to run it with wine :) Love concept of growing your defences with water a lot! It's a shame you did not make it in the time, it would be so cool! At the current state it's hard to name it a game really, it's some kind of calm art for us :) So basically the mood is the place where this entry shines.

Lo-X says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:29am

I played it on linux. The game itself is very nice, nature parts are beautiful. Controls are hard on my french keyboard, I feel like the robot is drunk. Too bad you hadn't time to implement the rest of the game, I think the idea is neat!

shrapx says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:32am

I added libjsoncpp.so to the linux build. If other .so files are not found, they can be retrieved from your distros package manager. kivano, tell me if any other libraries come up D:

kivano says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:56am

shrapx: it's strange, the libjsoncpp.so is there but he still is giving me an error about that lib. Also I have installed version for my package - no change. Anyway I would just suggest to try windows version with wine for everyone who has that kind of problems - it runs well.

mortus says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:12pm

Fun Zen game, I wish there were more interactions with the environment. It's quite fun to just run around and plant green stuff though!

kyyrma says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:21pm

It's like Harvest Moon for the Call of Duty generation. The isometric pixel art is really beautiful. Too bad you didn't have time to fit in the enemies, but it works as zen robot garden just as well.

spin-down says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:39pm

Wonderful idea, and loving the your pixel art too!

Bishkip says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:02am

The plant mechanic's quite cool, the tiles are pretty pleasant too.

x1212 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:24pm

Nice graphics, mixed with that interaction with the environment they create a great mood, I'd really like to see the game as it was planned.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:10pm

The graphical work is impressive for such a short amount of time. To bad you couldn't implement enemies in time :).

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:39pm

Really beautiful graphics! I hope you'll continue working on this so we can see where this might go!

Andy Gainey says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:07pm

Nice effects with the growth! Too bad you didn't have time to work in an objective. Perhaps things that soak up water and dry the plants up, and plants that help propagate water automatically, with the objective being to create a self-maintaining ecosystem.

Aiming was difficult, since it was strictly tied to movement direction, which was awkwardly modified by object collision. Since I was using the mouse button to spray water, I kept expecting I could use the mouse to aim. My brain refused to learn otherwise.

Tatsu Studio says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:13pm

A beautiful game, found a amazing idea.

Prowler says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:33pm

Peacefull and beautifull zen-like gameplay! I really like your sprites style and the theme is superb. Thanks for this submission!

ranmaru90 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:42pm

Wow. If you continue to work on this, it could be quite a thing!

Timm638 says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 4:23pm

Beautiful.

local minimum says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 6:27pm

The music and how well it and the concept/art played together was the thing I liked the most. But there was some sort of reaction to the mouse, though not really (or maybe just an illusion of it) so the controls need working with. Really feels like something that should either have mouse + keys or one set of keys for each hand. Then the world design... just having added some more in all directions of the content you created would have added a lot to the feeling. I started out heading down left through the whole and almost thought there were absolutely no more features than the ones I saw at the beginning. The water meter was rather sluggish too. So I think instant refill would probably have worked better (or very fast refill) given the few sprites used. I would also suggest having the meter empty to signify empty. But it was nice, and the growth animations were really nice. So if you added more assets, maybe switched to procedural world building. You could add a loose-condition for having gone without seeing green for too long (which would entail keep finding water and making plants grow).

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]