Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

I Will Be Happy

by danielilett - Compo Entry

The city is full of grouchy people, always moaning and complaining. Just for once, you wish they'd just have a smile on their face instead of a self-loathing frown, but alas, today is like all the others. But now it's time to take action; to preserve your own sanity and to prevent yourself falling into the evil clutches of city life, you head into the city centre, armed to the teeth with guns that fire nothing but affection, loving care and sweet, sweet hugs. Some may resist your empathy with force, but the only way to purge the city of hate, of course, is to make everyone love you.

It's WASD or arrow keys to move, left mouse button to unleash happiness on people, and (annoyingly) 1-5 to change weapons.

It's also worth noting - there IS an ammo crate located past the broken fence which respawns every so often!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#16Fun4.16
#60Humor3.89
#121Graphics3.95
#121Overall3.74
#147Theme3.89
#203Mood3.41
#366Innovation3.37
#448Audio2.89
#1901Coolness33%

Comments

Sytech says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:06pm

Fun and addictive game. Good increase in difficulty and nice graphics.

KaiseanGames says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:40pm

My wife says it was really funny. Other than that, I have nothing to add :)

Crumpet says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:02pm

Font was a bit out of place.
Enemies kept glitching and staying at spawn on top of each other.
Difficult to understand how many enemies there are in a place because of the way they stack. Having them not be allowed to occupy the same space could not only be a bugfix, but could make it more fun, as it feels like you're facing down a massive hoard.

Art was nice, especially the background. I feel the characters could have benefited from the shading treatment you gave buildings and windows and stuff.

Shame that it has no music, that could really have kicked it up to the next level.

Fix the enemy spawn AIs and you'll have yourself a very string shooter (dunno if the enemy spawn is intentional, doubt it is, but if it is a glitch you're allowed to fix it in your entry version I believe)

Alexbrainbox says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:15pm

Really fun game! A very enjoyable arena shooter.

I liked the thematic aspects of using love as the weapon of choice. The introductory text was well written enough that I read and enjoyed all of it - unusual enough for a LD game!

Really nice pixel art work - it would have been nice if the font was at the same pixel size but that might have made it a bit hard to read.

Overall a really strong submission.

Squidtank says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:43pm

Love the unconventional weapon and great submission.

randoman says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:51pm

Graphics are real nice and it was fun to play :)
Is there any way to regain friendship power?

IDidGame says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:52pm

the weapons feel really good, it looks great and the enemies little grouchy voices are adorable
would have been cool to see some other way to ramp up the difficulty (super frowny people? ^^)

iceburg7 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:04pm

This is a beautiful game. The way that the sound and visuals come together with the shooting make it so much fun to play.

danielilett says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:17pm

Thanks for all the feedback so far everyone, I'm thinking of doing a post-compo version, so I need all the feedback I can get! @randoman yep, you can regain friendship power - just past the broken fence (in the main screenshot on this page), there's an 'ammo' crate :) I'll make it clearer in my post-compo version :D

sekaru says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:56pm

The spawning was pretty off and once you got to a specific position it was pretty much impossible to lose. Otherwise, fighting hordes was pretty fun and the abilities felt great.

Kalkatos says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 12:48am

Great little game! I think it is a bit limited though... You should consider using cooldowns or other mechanic instead of limited ammo because the highest score will always be the same, technically.

Apr 30, 2015 @ 1:46am

Yeah, 1873! Nice work on this!

hexdie says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 3:42am

Pretty nice work! I got a score of about 1200. It proved to be challenging and there was some good combat. My main complaint was it was a bit lacking in variety. It'd be cool if you got power ups of some sort occasionally. Also, the sounds could have been better. Overall though, nice work!

Tom Rijnbeek says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 9:03pm

Fun little game. The switching between weapons doesn't feel very smooth and it took me a bit of time to get used to the moving camera, but the concept is cool. The weapon crate didn't really stand out, so I would recommend making it more obvious that it is there.

The audio is funny, but gets annoying after a while, and I couldn't find a mute button.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]