Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Rogue Paper Scissors

by bearcabin - Compo Entry

A roguelike where you fight with rocks, papers, and scissors.

Controls:
-Move with arrows or WASD
-Use friend coins with space (if you have one)

Tools:
-Unity
-Bfxr
-Pixen

Twitter: @bear_cabin

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#129Innovation3.80
#134Fun3.68
#197Overall3.60
#315Theme3.64
#506Audio2.78
#521Mood2.96
#538Humor2.73
#684Graphics2.84
#1436Coolness46%

Comments

drakekin says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:34pm

I really like it. The sound added a lot to the feel and the minimalist graphics helped a lot too. Very simple but a lot of fun. The AI seems a bit scatterbrained though.

YM says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:49pm

What a neat concept for a roguelike.

I got to floor 19 on my third run

local minimum says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:21pm

Played to quite a bit down before I died because I was guessing I wound move before the enemy and thus morph to rock before the scissors got a chance to cut my bad. I was wrong. In general a surprisingly captivating simple game. The AI worked, but was a bit predictable. Beside the hunt or feel modes I would have been nice if the different types had different behaviors. Good game!

Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:54pm

Very clever, absolutely brilliant. Loved it :D

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:55pm

Pretty clever concept, surprisingly fun. I got up to floor 30 on my best try.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:56pm

This is my favorite game I've seen so far in my rating travels. Nice, clean, clear mechanics. Sound effects worked well, as did the art style. I got a high score of 25 coins in 11 levels :) Well done!

n8 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:00am

I like the simple dungeon crawling concept. I did get killed by an invisible rock one time though! :)
(I think it was behind a paper guy)

joaovitorbf says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:58am

I love roguelikes, and this concept made me like your game even more. Good job!

srakowski says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:03am

This is a really awesome concept, the simplistic battle system of paper rock scissors mixed with the play style of a roguelike is genius. Well done.

Dustician says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:22pm

This is a very addicting game, even my girlfriend enjoyed it (she wants an android version though). Good work!

jordinuco says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:42am

A perfect game for the Compo. One of those game designs that I wish I could conceive.

Tselmek says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:44am

Very nice concept, simple yet addictive game. Congrats!

Junber says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:34pm

Very nice concept. Really fun. I dont know if the levels are random or based on what statate your hand is in but came to level 25 without any possible move to make (at my first try, 70 coins) which is a bad thing either way. But the minimalistic style from both graphics and audio really fit the game. Nicely done.

jacketsj says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:12pm

Very well done and polished. Very fun concept too!

Donpastor says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:38am

From a roguelike fan: I've seen lots of mechanics, some of them really twisted. But you kept it simple, and I must say it's really fun to play. Clever!

Tom Rijnbeek says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 9:08pm

Wow, impressing concept. Without explanation the dynamics of the games are already clear. Feels fun and smooth.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]