Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

DUK

by Domicuc - Jam Entry

There was once a small grove, and in this small grove lived a duck. That one winter, flew to a warmer climate, where she learned karate from parrot called Fernando. When she returned in the spring, she could not find her forest where it stood. Only saw endless expanses of fields, and so she went to find out what happened to her home.

The second game for Ludum Dare from Dombee Softworks studios! Play 30 levels, enjoy great music, browse the quaint 6 different biomes and help duck find out what happened to her home!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#136Humor(Jam)3.66
#212Audio(Jam)3.42
#226Graphics(Jam)3.87
#306Mood(Jam)3.36
#514Overall(Jam)3.22
#738Fun(Jam)2.73
#896Innovation(Jam)2.35
#960Theme(Jam)2.46
#1436Coolness46%

Comments

morgondag says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:18pm

Nice pixelart and music! A little floaty controls.

Suese says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:20pm

As a parody of overly deep LD games, awesome! That music was -deep-

Domicuc says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:21pm

Ooo you are that man whos make Cult simulator! Thanks so much guys! :)

bace1000 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:22pm

Nice game and story but what was the weapon?

Domicuc says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:22pm

bace1000 weapon was your karate!!=D

Sogomn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:23pm

Quack, quack. Thought it was a chicken the whole time. Then realized the game is called "DUK".
Really nice graphics. Not much gameplay but one of the very few games that has an actual story. Great job! Music could be a little more decent (loud 8-bit makes my ears bleed).

scriptorum says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:24pm

He would have gotten away with it too, if it wasn't for that meddling duck!

Truck says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:26pm

Duk can't swim?

Miltage says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:27pm

Duck must be filled with helium. Why he no flap wings?

It's possible to fall off the screen on the first level.

esayitch says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:28pm

I liked the tunes, and the sprites are pretty neat as well. The game can use more animations though, and the controls are floaty. Also, there doesn't seem to be a lot to do... the first few levels are all a bit filler-ish.

Good luck in the challenge!

kyyrma says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:29pm

This was was 2deep4me. Don't be ignorant and burn wood, otherwise the duck will kick you over. The pixel art was fantastic, especially the skeletons underground.

benmcnelly says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:31pm

Wow, I am seriously digging this art style and music!

Daporan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:33pm

The music for the game is quite loud. I had to turn my volume all the way down and it was still too much. The art for the biomes was pretty. The game itself was kind of linear, it could definitely be made more interesting if the player has more options/skills. I hope you don't take the critique too harsh, the game was alright for someone fairly new to making games.

DKoding says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:37pm

Like the graphics. Many levels is fine but not when half the level is just walking around doing nothing. Also why is the duck kicking those poor people? Evil duck... Also listening to talking takes too long. Great effort though and a great start for something more.

edve98 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:37pm

A very.. interesting game. Text could change faster though (or you should be able to click a button to go to the next speech-thingy)

Big Cow says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:40pm

Oh my god, that first kick to an old man really got me! Lovely mood, beautiful art and music. Not just a game, but an 'experience'. Very nice!

allanolivei says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:41pm

The graphics and music are fine, the game was a bit simple, but my daughter loved the game.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:46pm

Best Game of Ludum Dare 32

goerp says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:07pm

Great sounds on your music and very moody. Lovely sprites too.
Lovely mood, it wasn't what I expected.

For Ludum Dare it's good if the game is easy so, you can see all content (but it could have been a LITTLE harder, maybe?)

So it was a duck that can do karate? A little sound effect on the kick would have done wonders! There is still time for it, too!

I also found the bug where you can walk off screen on the first screen and then you can't return.

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:42pm

Wow this game was amazing. Great job.

Split82 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:18pm

Nice pixel art! Good job.

Azurency says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:49pm

Nice game, good graphics !

Awpteamoose says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:32pm

The graphics sure are nice, but I don't really see how it fits the theme.

Druid says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:10pm

Duck is very rare weapon :D I like the graphocs and atmosphere :) But controls were pretty floaty.

ranmaru90 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:44am

Great music. Great aesthetics.

ViliX64 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:49am

Arrow up could have been used instead of spacebar as it would allow the player to play the game with only ona hand. Except for that, I really liked this game :)

jk5000 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:58am

Great music and a fun story.

KeyboardCat says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:07pm

Great graphics and music even if the transition is a little too "brutal". Good job !

icedvariables says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:30pm

The art is great and kicking people into fire/mushrooms/stones is always entertaining ;). I did notice that there was a problem with textures not lining up correctly in parts of the cave area.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:33am

Here, grab my 5 stars!

ruerob says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:46am

Nice entry! I liked the graphics very much. The jump was a bit slow for me and a little less to do!

rnlf says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:00am

Extremely funny storyline. The karate kick animation is great :D

A bit floaty and easy, but nonetheless a cool game. The sprites look perfect.

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:50pm

That was cool !! The pixel art is really good but it's a shame the tile grid is so obvious :/ The music is nice as well, maybe a bit too loud, especially at the end... The story is cool :D

nonetheless says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:44pm

Nice idea, but slow jumping mechanics are kinda annoying for me ;)

SpeirCeol says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:09pm

interesting game, nice level design, altough it would be nice if you could do more stuff, nevertheless, good job!

Tommyno222 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:56pm

Really nice game with nice little story! Music is fantastic, it creates deep mood, and pixel art is wonderful. I see lot of effort put into it, I don't think it's a big problem they are not always connected. Also, the kung-fu duck is funny :)

phi6 says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:13pm

I was rooting for that duck. Good job.

Filip says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 7:49pm

It's a game about a duck taking revenge on humans for their evil deeds. I like the guerilla level design and art.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]