Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Robo Mission

by pixzleone - Compo Entry

Small platform/puzzle game about a robot hacker. Takes about 10 minutes to finish.

Instructions can be found in-game. I strongly recommend reading them before playing.

Notice:
Hacking may be a bit hard to understand. Click h to start hacking. Then click the box in the bottom of the screen with the mouse. Write a command (help is a good command in all of the computers), then click outside of the box and press enter. If you have entered a valid comand, the comuter will return a message in the output field. Remember that there will be new commands aviable when you login to a user on the last computer. Write help when logged in to get the new commands.
Best played in 1024 x 768.

Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#523Audio2.75
#562Innovation3.09
#723Humor2.39
#763Theme3.09
#911Mood2.43
#914Fun2.57
#958Overall2.67
#1040Graphics2.05

Comments

Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:00pm

Cool game! I thought the hacking mechanic was super cool, would love to see that expanded upon. Awesome Job!

MacMC says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:01pm

hacking is a bit cumbersome, but I liked it besides that

PyroSneak says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:03pm

Interesting game, I liked the hacking mechanic, but found it kinda hard.

aroymart says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:08pm

This was pretty good. I didn't like the wonky camera movement or how i had to click back and forth between the little box and the game over and over, but it was still fun and it was satisfying blowing up the town

OneTrueAaron says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:14pm

Cool game! The controls were a little weird, using arrow keys instead of WASD to move, having to click in and out of the box to type. The music was really good, though.

Tijn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:29pm

Cool game! The controls are a bit rough and the hacking could have been a bit more streamlined, but I like the idea of hacking as a weapon :) Well done!

IDidGame says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:26pm

the hacking mechanic is neat and the music was nice and chill
might have been been nice to focus on either the hacking or platforming part

Linus123xbb says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:35pm

Very cool game! It was fun aswell, however it was a bit annoying that you had to click inside / outside the box to enter the command. :)

SonderWorks says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:34am

The hacking was a neat idea, but the need to click/tab back and forth was tedious. Also, the jumping felt too high, and not far enough. So there's a fun concept here- It just needs to be refined a bit more. :)

gillyadrien says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:40am

Good game. The platforming sections need a bit more work, but I really like the hacking. Nice work!

DaveCarlile says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:32pm

The hacking mechanic was a bit cumbersome (having to click outside the box instead of just hitting enter). Couldn't seem to get logged in to the first computer.

Interesting platformer/hacking mini game combo.

The4thCircle says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:33pm

I enjoyed this but you need to work on the controls

Having to use the mouse to click enter is a bad idea. If you could just press h to hack and then just type commands until you type an exit command it would play a lot smoother.

smbe19 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:46pm

A few things I noticed:
- it would be good if the player can see, what his hacking does (e.g. you couldn't always see the platforms you toggled)
- That you had to click outside the textbox to submit your command was a bit annoying.
- At the last Computer I had trouble to distinguish l from 1, so I misspelled the user name for a long time
Other than that, I think it's a nice game with a good idea.

Red_Fan games says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:15pm

Hacking feature is a novel idea.

Ryusui says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:18pm

Hacking interface is clunky and confusing. Definitely needs some work.

ajayajayaj says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:19pm

Awesome game. If you work on this more it would be great as a published game!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:54am

I like the minimalist aesthetic. Cool game! The controls are a bit rough. It can be improved. Thank you ++

Mixer says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:34am

This was a good game! The graphics wern't mind blowing, but good enough! I like the concept, and you managed to fit quite a lot in, checkpoints, console system, etc. The hacking system was nice, although a few bugs made the experience not as fun. For instance, I wasn't really sure why enter wasn't excepting my commands, or how to close it. Another thing that was small but notacable for me atleast was having to click inside that textbox to give it focus. These are all things you could fix with more time :D

Otherwise, I really liked this. It has a lot of gameplay elements that were fun to use.

PS: Really unimportant but remember your first screenshot, in any game, LD or not, is what people see first, and sadly often decides if they will download it. Show something nice, not an menu, because although you might have spent an hour coding that menu, sadly, the player doesn't care. They want to see what the game looks like. Just a quick tip, I'm sure no one on LD cares :P

rzfmzn says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:52am

Liked it :)
keep it up :)

plams says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:43pm

Neat little game! The hacking could use some streamlining as I found it tedious to click inside/outside the textbox, but otherwise good job. (Also, the admin password is perfect)

Andrea says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:41pm

Good job! The controls are a little stiff and the hacking system could be better but that could become something very great!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:54pm

It's a good concept, but the controls are stiff and the realization is overall not the best.

Pixel_Reaper says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:05pm

Nice Idea. Having to click between the text box and the screen was a bit frustrating but otherwise well done :)

EwChap says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:24am

Hacking was a bit tricky having to toggle back and forth. Cool hacking concept though.

JenniNexus says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:54am

Even though I'm a noob in ways I had a lot of fun trying & figuring it out and worth sticking with it until the end! :-)

stvr says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:00am

Very tough to understand, but hacking is always cool!

Dreyan says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:21am

This could make for a great launching platform for a great game. This is already technically impressive and with a nice concise story. Keep it up!

safran says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:53am

Nice idea. More action can make it more fun.

jhell says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 1:19pm

Just letting you know that the web link is broken for me.

lion123 says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 2:30pm

I think you already know that, but hacking is kinda hard, because
a) You need to click a lot, which is bad because I'm using a keyboard while hacking. So I have to move my hand from keyboard to mouse all the time.
And b) text is green and sometimes very hard to read.
Apart from that, if you add a little bit of challenge, that would be a neat game.

May 7, 2015 @ 3:42pm

I really like this idea, I think you could do a lot with it! I would like to see some system for teaching the player which commands to try without just going to each computer, typing help, and then typing what the computer says to type. The text was also a bit hard to read.

rjhelms says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 4:35am

Really good concept - I agree with a lot of the other feedback here.

One other suggestion would be to focus more on being either a platformer or a hacking sim - I like the combo, but it's tough to get both fully realized.

jk5000 says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 8:53am

The concept and the music is quite good. Hacking portion is not challenging enough, that is besides the slightly strange control, which is a little cumbersome.

ruerob says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 10:50am

Sorry but I didn't manage it to get past the first jumping part.

Maybe it was my system, but the robot didn't jump far enough to reach the platform with the second red flag. I tried it for 10 minutes! The fact that I can't jump when the middle of the robot is over the platform border makes it also harder! I wanted to play it to the end.

Played Web version with firefox on Win 7 64bit system. Windows download was supposed to take 1h.

Dejvo says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 7:10pm

kinda hard to control and not very much to do but yeah you've made a game. tell me what do you think of mine http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=49267

Xanjos says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 11:29pm

I liked the hacking mechanic but the way it's implemented is pretty clunky. For starters, it's very awkward having to click on the textbox to enter commands and then click outside in order to run them (ideally it would probably be better to let the textbox have focus whenever you open up the panel and let the player run commands by pressing enter inside the textbox rather than outside).

Menesetsu says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 1:42pm

Hacking mechanic is a great idea! Want more puzzles in it and please fix focus issues as well. :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]